We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite what we thought it would be” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Fork Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Fork Mountain Lodge
Raymore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not quite what we thought it would be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The view was not what we expected, very close to the highway. The food was good but expensive, and its quite a drive to the closest restaurants. They do have a neat trail you can walk on by the stream. We stayed in the elk cabin. I'm sure we could have gotten fresh towls and washcloths but they were not offered. We brought our own. A lot of people come into the "lodge" to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner, makes it a busy place during those times. Not a horrible place by any means, but next trip will probably stay in buffalo. Still close enough to go hiking every day and have a fresh room at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    4
    2
    8
    6
See reviews for
20
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadephia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Accomadations were superb. The cabins clean and roomy.The authentic log cabins only added to the excitement. Everyone was great & helpful. The lodge where we had all our meals was a hunters dream. The food was delicious. The staff was the best, some of the nicest people I ever met. Now for the hunting, my expectations, were exceeded, our guide "Schoony" was extremely knowledgeable, of both the Antelope & Mule Deer we hunted. He easily showed us over 150 Mule Deer & twice that in Antelope. By the 3rd day both my buddy & I had tagged out. We each harvested nice Mule deer, & big Antelope. Since we were finished hunting half way through our trip. Holli & Wayne the owners, had a staff member take us on a sight seeing tour. Wow that drive was amazing, that part of Wy. is gorgeous. The scenery up Clear Creek Canyon was just beautiful, as an outdoorsman this was right up my alley. On our last day at southfork, we had a big family style meal, for all the hunters, staff & other guests at southfork, what a great ending to a great trip. To some it up the people at Southfork treated us like family.

Room Tip: Hunters, If planning a Mule Deer, and/or Antelopehunt check out Southfork.I highly reccomend it. To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemPhiladephia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I planned a week long mountain getaway from Seattle into the Big Horn Mountains this summer and decided to stay at the South Fork Lodge. We kind of went out on a limb picking it, mostly based on yelp and Trip Advisor reviews, and we're definitely glad we stayed there! Our trip by far exceeded all of our expectations. The lodge was nestled beautifully into the trees right next to a creek. We stayed in the Cowboy cabin and absolutely loved it. It was quiet and peaceful, and very much updated! The cabin was apparently built in the 1920's however it has been newly renovated and is gorgeous. The porch overlooking the creek of the back of the cabin is amazing, and leaving the windows open at night was like one of those sound machines that put you to sleep. We went on several horseback rides, which were amazing!! The scenery was breathtaking, we saw several moose and several deer on the ride -- definitely unexpected. The horses were so well trained and didn't spook at all. I mustn't forget about the delicious meals in the lodge too! Holli (the owner) and her staff prepare amazing home-cooked comfort food that you can't pass up. We went into Buffalo a couple nights of the week to try other local restaurants, but none even compared to South Fork. Steaks were amazing! Even some fish on the menu. Can't wait to be back, and would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to eat, horseback ride, or spend a weekend... or all of the above! Thanks to Holli & Wayne for a great stay.

Room Tip: Cowboy cabin right on the creek. A little pricey but worth it!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This weekend was the first time we stayed at South Fork and we will definitely be going back again. We came up to go 4-wheeling with the ATVs and just had the best time. Our cabin was clean, rustic, and had everything we needed and wanted. The beds and pillows were so comfortable, and with the cool mountain air, it made for really good sleeping at night. The owner and staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the food at the lodge was top notch. Very good! We could see why people from all around the area go there to eat. The scenery is beautiful with trails to go riding 4-wheelers and horses everywhere. I am very grateful we did not choose to go somewhere else after reading a few of the less than flattering reviews that were left for this great place. We would have lost out if we had! Our experience was purely all positive!

Room Tip: The Antelope cabin we stayed in appeared to be the best cabin available if you are pulling a large t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktpersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

After talking about taking a trip west for many years, my family of 5 decided it was time. The trip could not have been better! Our cabin was perfect for our family. We enjoyed incredible scenic drives and awesome horseback riding. Campfires at night and fishing during the day. My boys even did some prarie dog hunting! It was the perfect family vacation! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cooperandbaileysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

been going to south fork for over 5 years and am always amazed at the peacefulness and views right out our cabin's door. we have a great time horseback riding and hiking on all the trails surrounding the area. It's great not having to travel for meals or activities. have recommended south fork to many friends back in the midwest and those that have come have had a great experience. thanks holli for making it a comfortable place to come back to year after year.

Room Tip: cabins along the stream are my fave
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitzie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

What a great place to bring the family. The horseback riding is the best and the guides make even the first time riders feel right at home.

Room Tip: By the stream
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 17 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
8.9 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
10.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 17 in Buffalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
9.7 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#10 of 17 in Buffalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Fork Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Fork Mountain Lodge

Property: South Fork Mountain Lodge
Address: U.S. Highway 16 West, P.O. Box 389, Buffalo, WY 82834
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Fork Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain recreation in the beautiful Bighorn National Forest and Bighorn Mountains in northern Wyoming. Cabins, guide and outfitter Services, hunting, guided fishing trips, horseback riding, pack trips and drop camps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your South Fork Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Fork Mountain Lodge Buffalo, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing