We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this one.”
Review of Big Horn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Horn Motel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Lusk, WY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Very clean, very nice motel. Skip the name brands and come downtown. Walking distance to a gorgeous downtown district filled with shops and cafés. Don't miss this place. Great hospitality and great location. The owner of the establishment was kind enough to ask if I was a veteran. For this I received a discount.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JEMELLOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    48
    12
    0
    5
See reviews for
35
57
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Room was clean and comfortable. I was surprised how well I slept being away from home. Great location, you are just a short distance from the old downtown district and the Clear Creek Trail is just a block behind the motel. Trudy is great, loaned me an iron and ironing board and didn't even give me any grief when I locked myself out of the room. I would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRM1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

After reading the other reviews I was shocked to arrive at the Big Horn to find the carpet stained and someone else's hair on my pillow. It was late by the time I noticed the soiled pillow case, so I just didn't use that pillow. Trudy friendly and kind, and I loved her pottery. Aside from the minor issue of the pillow it is a nice little motel for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy S, Owner at Big Horn Motel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
This review makes me sad. I only wish the guest would have contacted me immediately so I could have made this right for her. We really do care to do our ultimate best in cleaning and customer service. Obviously we missed this when we changed out the bedding. The only consolation I can give now are my word that every bed has clean linens every time and my sincerest apologies.
T. M.Schoonover
Owner/manager
Big Horn Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

And expect to get what you pay for your expectations will be exceeded. What a lovely warm welcome we received. The room was clean and bed comfy. We had the best nights sleep of our holiday so far. Bathroom small but serviceable. Wi fi worked brilliantly which is important for us.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Slimjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewistown, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

And this is certainly true in how Trudy and the Big Horn Motel leaves weary travelers. Stayed here the weekend of July 20th. Drove down after work and Trudy was nice enough to not only hold the room late but also warned me to watch out for deer in the dark! When I arrived she honored my request for a place that was a little out of the way and quiet. In the morning sat outside with Trudy and a neighbor enjoyed while enjoying a cup of coffee and sharing car buying experiences.

I think the thing I liked the most is that you immediately feel at home with Trudy. The place is nicely decorated, clean, and you are treated like a family member. Will stay here on all my journeys that take me through Eastern Wyoming!

Room Tip: Rooms 119 or 120 are separate from the rest of the facility and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetroliaLarueda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I just stayed at this hotel and it was such a great experience that I thought I should thank them by posting a nice comment here for them. Wow! I guess that everyone else thought they were very good too because look at all these comments. Awesome.

Honestly, I was going to drive on to Sheriden where I was facing an expensive room at a motel 6, yes! even the motel 6 in Sheriden is expensive. Everything is there. But sweet little Buffalo was very affordable and I liked the owner alot.

Trudy is a nice lady and her warm personality makes all the difference. And she's an artist - so, what can you expect? Artists are the best. Clean room, friendly service and a great location. Thank you for the human connection and warmth on a long trip, it made my day much sunnier and my heart lighter on the rest of the drive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed two nights. The beds were extremely comfortable. Even the pillows were comfortable. Normally hotel pillows are flat and you need two or three to be comfortable. One pillow was enough. The room was clean and the staff was awesome. It was also reasonably priced. The location was central to the area as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 17 in Buffalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#10 of 17 in Buffalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Motel

Property: Big Horn Motel
Address: 209 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#5 Business Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bighorn Motel. We offer 20 updated clean, quiet and safe units for reasonable rates. Our lobby coffee is hand ground, and we offer a homemade baked good to our guests. Our water pressure will blow your socks off and our clientele returns. Microwaves and refrigerators, expanded cable TV, featuring HBO, Direct-dial telephones, Wireless High Speed Internet, Ground level room access, Hair Dryers. In-room coffee and BBQ grills. Also dog rooms with a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Horn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Motel Buffalo, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing