We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Johnson County history here”

Jim Gatchell Memorial Museum
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Johnson County history here”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

On our way to Yellowstone, we stayed overnight in Buffalo, WY. In the morning we made a point to stop at this museum. Tickets were $5.00 each. Free parking is across the street.

Jim Gatchell opened a drugstore in 1900. He was part of this community for many years. The museum has exhibits that include Native American gifts that were given to him through the years. He was trusted & a friend by many. You will learn much about Johnson county history including the Johnson county cattle war of 1892. You are not allowed to take pictures inside.

Out front there is The Nate Champion Statue.

If you are on your way to Yellowstone or back this is a great place to stop. Everyone we met in Buffalo was so friendly & went out of their way to be helpful.

After we left, we took Hwy 16. This is a beautiful drive.

Just a block or two away is the Occidental Hotel. Make time to walk there. You won't have to move your car. It was fun to have a look around.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank limey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    30
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Buffalo Wy”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

If you want to experience the Old West, do not miss this Museum in Buffalo Wy. It was closed the weekend we where there & the director opened it for a group of people.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jadRetied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haleyville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Get Your John Wayne On!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Range wars. Tom Horn. Rustlers. Cowboys. It's got it all. When you start to read about what you are about to see you say "Oh, this is the place. This is where that range war was fought. How did I not know that?" And then enjoy. It's a small museum but it is very well done. It will give you an insight into something you might have only heard about in a movie or tv miniseries. But this is the real McCoy...how the West was won. If you are coming to or just passing through Buffalo, Wyoming you should stop and visit the Him Gatchell Memorial Museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

One the most professional small museums in Wyoming. The director and registrar have, in everyway, met the AMA standard and exceded it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stopped by the museum because a local recommended it. We were really glad we did -- perusing the extensive and well documented exhibits helped us understand the facts behind some of the embellished stories we have seen in the movies over the years (Range Wars and Tom Horn). The propaganda used to demonize small ranchers and homesteaders ("Rustlers") by large ranching interests is a crisp lesson in what happens when the reins of power and news are controlled by a self-interested parties. Definitely worth the stop and $5.00 entrance fee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JFB1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jim Gatchell Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jim Gatchell Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing