We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now, I want to move to Buffalo”
Review of Mansion House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansion House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2010

If you stay here and don't mingle with the locals, Shame on You.
When we checked in, we had an opportunity to chat a while with John, the co-owner.
We never feel the need to posture and condescend as many B&B'ers do. (We were slumming it in the motel anyhow).
You can learn so much if you "just use your listening muscles".
As a result, our stay in Buffalo was way too short. John made a call and got us a sweet table at the Virginian. It was inside the old vault! Beforehand, we enjoyed drinks at the historic bar, and when we told the bartenders where we were staying, they treated us like long lost friends returning home.
We hated to go "back East" and leave all the great people we met.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelsmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Mansion House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

The average traveller these days, used to modern properties with every amenity known to man would probably recoil in horror at this type of place, but we found it charming and considerably more than "acceptable". Main house was built in early 1900s and has been beautifully refitted and restored. We stayed on the motel side, with a bathroom straight out of the '50s, but spotlessly clean, and very comfortable beds. Prices were very reasonable, and included a nice continental breakfast with homemade pastries and such. The owner and his family have obviously put a lot of effort and love into this property, and it shows.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tumbleweedColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I thought this was a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced place with friendly owners.

I stayed in the motel type unit beside the main mansion.
Comfortable beds, new carpet, nice washroom even though the tiles date from the 60's. It was quiet and I slept well.

The big bonus was that it was a short walking distance from the Historic Occidental Hotel which has jam nights on Thursdays. I was able to eat and stay for a few drinks at the Hotel and then walk back to my room.

If anything could improve it would be their wireless internet. It was slow and weak but this may be a product of their internet provider and not the Mansion.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

This spectacular Inn is a beautifully decorated historic mansion. When we arrived my husband and I were given a tour of each of the rooms. The room we slected was lovely, roomy and very clean. Our evening was quiet and restful without the noises associated with bigger hotels. We received first-class, VIP treatment from the time of our check-in through the time we left. The cozy feel and warm hospitality was worth twice as much as we paid! When in Buffalo again, we will definately go back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9-ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

I'm not sure what defined our stay here best

Maybe it was the 9 box elder bugs I killed in the room. Or the entry door below our room that slammed so hard the artwork on the wall rattled. Or the worn carpet and torn furniture. Or the owner's screaming baby downstairs. Or the ringing phone & door pounding in the hallway in the middle of the night.

This is a property with potential. But needs to be owned/operated by someone who cares for it. Until changes are made, it is to be avoided.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravelerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansionhouse, manager at Mansion House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2009

All complaints in this review have been corrected.The property is now owner managed and there is no longer a screaming baby. We have put in a lot of time and resources to improve the property. We have exposed most of the original hardwood floors which are 106 years old and are beautiful. We have all new carpet in both the main house and the motel. we have a beautiful new roof, new window treatments, added a sun room to the upstairs, and all new bedding. We no longer have an issue with the box elder bugs. We have also expanded our continental breakfast to include hard boiled eggs, scones, croissants, breakfast breads, muffins, fresh fruit, homemade preserves, coffee, juice and tea. We continually strive to improve the property and make this a warm and welcoming place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2005

We thoroughly enjoyed our three-night stay at the Mansion House. The main building is a 1905 Edwardian built by a local physician with one huge round corner turret. (There's also a newer annex; we never actually saw the rooms there.) The main house is full of wood paneling on the main floor, including the dining room. The rooms upstairs in the main house were quite spacious and the two Queen beds in our room, at least, were comfortably firm! The continental breakfast is adequate if you like a light start to the day; otherwise, head a block-and-a-half down Main Street to the Main Street Cafe. Most places you'd want to go to in this small town were an easy 2 or 3 block walk -- a coin laundromat is directly across the street, if you've been traveling a while. Finally, there's no pool, but about 4 or 5 blocks away is a million-gallon outdoor pool in a public park that's open during the summer months.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jefferson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2005

The rooms were pleasant and the place was clean. Access to Buffalo was easy. The breakfast was described as delicious homemade and consisted of a few small scones and coffee. Although o.k. I was looking forward to this stay and was disappointed.

1  Thank Adders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
278.8 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 17 in Buffalo
294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Inn

Address: 313 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1730
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range: £85 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mansion House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mansion House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Inn Buffalo, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing