We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best and most interesting historic hotel ever; a "must visit"!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best and most interesting historic hotel ever; a "must visit"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Words cannot describe this hotel and the fabulous experience, hospitality and lingering memories. The whole place is a living museum, with loads of photos, books, Old West clothing, furniture, pot belly stoves, wireless radios and more. Each room is unique and was designed and constructed with much TLC. Many consist of 2-3 rooms and enough beds for several guests. We had a tour of about 8 of the rooms, loved them all and hope to return every now and then to try the different rooms and suites.

We were pleasantly surprised at the gourmet menu in the Virginian Restaurant.

The live music is very entertaining and enjoyable -- performed on Thursdays (a jam with 8-15 talented musicians), Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.

A bonus is that the hotel is pet friendly so we were able to bring our elderly dog with us.

If you have any interest in the Old West, you'll enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website and read about the various rooms; each is unique, some for just 1-2 guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    102
    17
    13
    6
See reviews for
77
232
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fishtail, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The reality of most "Historic Hotels and Saloons" is often mediocre smaltz but here with obvious great effort and care a truly comfortable, intriguing and well run small hotel is a destination in and of itself. Take a drink at the bar and you will know that Calamity Jane is to one side of you and Bill Cody to the other. The hotel is also a museum and the extensive library will make you want to stay over. Don't miss this gem if you are near or passing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a great experience to stay in such an historic place. The rooms were quite small but filled with antique furniture including the 1937 Philco radio that worked a treat. Our room, unfortunately I cannot remember the name of it, comprised of 3 original rooms. The hotel had lots of fabulous photos downstairs that adorned the walls of all the western characters that we all know, like the Virginian.It was like stepping back in time and the oversized bed was totally relaxing after a busy day sight seeing. We had dinner in the restaurant and the service was first class as were the meals. This part of the restaurant may have been a bank as they had set up a private function inside the vault for up to 5-6 dinner guests. Busy Bee was our choice to have breakfast, which was basically next door, but unfortunately on that day they were understaffed and it was chaotic.
Would love to stay at The Occidental again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdlbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing! There is so much character to the hotel, which is also a small museum, and to the rooms themselves which are all completely individual. We stayed in the 'Hole in the Wall' room earlier this month which is absolutely beautiful and so unusual with the exposed brickwork walls and the antique furniture. The ensuite facilities are behind a door which looks like a cupboard but when opened reveals a beautifully appointed little room with a claw foot tub and hand held shower. The towels are huge and fluffy and the toiletries smell gorgeous. The bed is large and very comfortable too.

We spent some time in the saloon bar downstairs where the staff were so friendly and the food was very good too. It was also fun to spot all the bullet holes around the saloon and to hear about all the infamous names who have stayed there. We spoke to some great people who were also passing through on various stages of their road trips, and it was great to compare notes with them. Sadly we were only here for one night as we were on our way to Yellowstone but I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenville, PA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Occidental Hotel is another renovated, old-west building in Downtown Buffalo, WY. It consists of suites with various themes. Rooms average between $165.00 and 250.00 each night and are comfortable and tastefully adorned with period antiques and artifacts. We stayed two nights, the first in the Bordello, a suite of 3 bedrooms, each with a queen-sized bed, all charmingly decorated with what one would have expected to find in a Bordello of the old west. We were with another couple so we shared the $250.00 rate. A single bathroom served all 3 rooms. Our second night was spent in the Clear Creek Suite a smaller unit at $185.00 but also tastefully decorated and comfortable. The lobby was spacious and also decorated with period antiques.
If one is looking for period accents and a bit of an eccentric taste of the old west, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: No elevator was available so one must be able to climb a significant flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAAbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Typical historic hotel. Lots of charm and personality. The hotel is full of antiques and pictures from back in the day. It's fun just to walk in and look around. Our room was small but clean and comfy. We went to the saloon for the Thursday night jam. Some of the entertainers traveled far and wide to come play at the Occidental. Went next door to the Busy Bee (where Longmire eats) for breakfast. The Occidental is a refreshing place to stay when you're tired of the boring chain hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We sat at the bar and had one drink and left. The service was lousy. The bartender seemed overwhelmed by being a bartender. The bar, hotel lobby, and restaurant were filthy. The place has what looks like original furnishes with the original dirt and grime. This historic property is in need of cleaning and updating. Furniture and floors can be refinished/refurbished. The couple that managed the place seemed nice, but had no idea about their reviews on Trip Advisor or Yelp.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriendshipII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 17 in Buffalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Property: The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant Buffalo, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing