We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If its good enough for Butch & Sundance......”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Honduras
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If its good enough for Butch & Sundance......”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had a wonderful stay in the Clear Creek suite!
Cannot say enough about the tastefully restored and authentically furnished rooms and public areas.
Angela, Dawn and all the staff were just fabulous and we left feeling that we really had made friends - nothing was too much to ask and any requests were met with a genuine smile. They were very informative about the hotel and surrounding areas so when we could not visit the Little Bighorn (Government shutdown!!!) we were given many great suggestions of what to see and do.
Ate one night in the Virginian and had more good service and great food - first taste of Bison!
Thanks to all for a memorable visit - we'll be back x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireyb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    108
    18
    14
    6
See reviews for
83
241
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a great place to stay. The hotel is so historic and it is lovely to check out the old photographs and all the antiques. The staff are so friendly and we would have loved to have stayed longer - who could resist a room where President Roosevelt had slept in and a hotel which has had so many famous people visit it? The room was fantastic and it was like stepping back in time but obviously with mod cons. We ate at the Virginian Restaurant and it was terrific and really good service. The bar has not changed for years and it is a great place for a drink and to imagine Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid drinking there all those years ago.

Room Tip: We telephoned the hotel to book direct and they talked us through which of the rooms might suit us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarjoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Climping, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights at The Occidental and really enjoyed the experience. The place oozes history, it is so interesting, like staying in a museum. The rooms are all different, the bed was comfortable and it was clean. The staff were lovely, especially Joanne and colleague on Reception and Miss Vicky in the saloon bar. Thursday evening is bluegrass in the bar and all the locals turn, it was friendly and fun. We felt quite at home, don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were booked into the General Sheridan room. Yes, we enjoyed the history of the place but....the mattress in this room was terrible! We both keep trying to climb back to the sides of the bed after falling in the valley of the mattress! This mattress needs to be replaced. The music from the Virginian Saloon continued into the late night and we could hear every bit of it. So needless to say, we did not get any sleep. Was glad to check o u tof this place. Service....the front desk clerk also worked the restarant next door so there was no use trying to contact anyone. No phones in rooms either.

Room Tip: When you arrive, check out the beds before the front desk clerk leaves for the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Words cannot describe this hotel and the fabulous experience, hospitality and lingering memories. The whole place is a living museum, with loads of photos, books, Old West clothing, furniture, pot belly stoves, wireless radios and more. Each room is unique and was designed and constructed with much TLC. Many consist of 2-3 rooms and enough beds for several guests. We had a tour of about 8 of the rooms, loved them all and hope to return every now and then to try the different rooms and suites.

We were pleasantly surprised at the gourmet menu in the Virginian Restaurant.

The live music is very entertaining and enjoyable -- performed on Thursdays (a jam with 8-15 talented musicians), Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.

A bonus is that the hotel is pet friendly so we were able to bring our elderly dog with us.

If you have any interest in the Old West, you'll enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website and read about the various rooms; each is unique, some for just 1-2 guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishtail, Montana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The reality of most "Historic Hotels and Saloons" is often mediocre smaltz but here with obvious great effort and care a truly comfortable, intriguing and well run small hotel is a destination in and of itself. Take a drink at the bar and you will know that Calamity Jane is to one side of you and Bill Cody to the other. The hotel is also a museum and the extensive library will make you want to stay over. Don't miss this gem if you are near or passing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a great experience to stay in such an historic place. The rooms were quite small but filled with antique furniture including the 1937 Philco radio that worked a treat. Our room, unfortunately I cannot remember the name of it, comprised of 3 original rooms. The hotel had lots of fabulous photos downstairs that adorned the walls of all the western characters that we all know, like the Virginian.It was like stepping back in time and the oversized bed was totally relaxing after a busy day sight seeing. We had dinner in the restaurant and the service was first class as were the meals. This part of the restaurant may have been a bank as they had set up a private function inside the vault for up to 5-6 dinner guests. Busy Bee was our choice to have breakfast, which was basically next door, but unfortunately on that day they were understaffed and it was chaotic.
Would love to stay at The Occidental again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdlbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.3 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#12 of 17 in Buffalo
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
0.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Property: The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant Buffalo, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing