We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looked for the Ghost but didn't see it !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Looked for the Ghost but didn't see it !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We could just duplicate the review of KrmiNetherlands. We stayed in the Owen Wister also - yes, the floors are uneven and creaky, but great (you can hear the ghost coming !) Met some really nice locals in the pub. All in all a fun evening.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ja45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    100
    17
    13
    6
See reviews for
76
232
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel on our tour trough SD an WY. Don't miss this opportunity to step back in time if you're ever within 50 miles of Buffalo! The welcome from the staff is genuine, warm and helpful. The building itself is a wonderful old building and all the rooms are furnished with period pieces. Our suite (Owen Wister) was large, comfortable and clean but do remember that this is an old building and the stairs do creak and sounds do carry. We had a lot of fun with looking at all the old photos and exhibits around the hotel. We had a great evening In the saloon with live music and good food. Don't forget your camera!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KrmiNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

If you love antiques....this is your place to stay. My husband & I arrived late and the staff(owner) was so very gracious. Our room was clean, comfortable and so welcoming. We had a small porch beside the creek where we had coffee the next morning. The entire staff was nothing but gracious, answering every question, delightfully showing us around the hotel and restaurant . Antique pictures, clothing, furniture,quilts everywhere you looked. I would definitely recommend it to any of my friends coming through Buffalo Wy.
I only wish we had arrived in time to eat at the restaurant. It was lovely

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Occidental coming and going from the Grand Tetons, once in the "Cottonwood" suite and once in the "Creekside" suite. Rather than being real suites, they were generously sized rooms overlooking the river which flows by the building. The beds were great and the old-fashioned bathtub in the Cotttonwood was a treat. Both rooms were very quiet and we saw no tourists wandering the halls. The on-site owner/operators were terrific. Breakfast at the Busy Bee was excellent as was informal dining in the saloon and more formal dinner in a private, curtained window table in the Virginian. (Try the pulled pork sandwich in the Saloon and the Chicken Dijon at the Virginian.). Service was prompt and personable. Very highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UCLA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A remarkable place to live history. So much to excite your senses here, and let your imagination run wild. The rooms are period decorated with real antiques, and all necessary and fine working modern conveniences. I would have like to have been able to spend days exploring the hotel, saloon, and restaurant. The Chef and Wait staff at The Virginian Restaurant served up a perfectly requested dinner. From our first arrival to our leaving everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. We like that it is a pet friendly hotel even though we were not traveling with pets. If you plan a visit keep in mind its an old lovely gal of a hotel, the floorboards creak, so don't be nitpicky!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a clawfoot tub, great for relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenntr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I spent Friday night, Memorial weekend. Everyone we encountered from the time I called and booked the reservation, until we checked out, treated us like a friend. They were helpful and offered up their opinions and advice, and it was always good. My husband loved the creaky old floors. If you're looking for 5 star contemporary this isn't the place for you. But, if you're looking for a clean, friendly place with character, this could be the place for you. We're talking about a trip to Yellowstone in September, and will make this another overnight stop in our journey. We didn't have our dog with us on this past trip but they have a sign in the window saying there're dog friendly.
If you like old west history museums, be sure to visit the Jim Gatchell Memorial Museum, just a couple of blocks away from the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cloud Peak. It was quiet and had a balcony on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Staying at this hotel is like taking a step back in time - it has all the trappings of the past yet all the mod cons you need for a comfortable stay. The welcome from the staff is genuine, warm and helpful. The building itself is a wonderful old building and all the rooms are furnished with period pieces. The rooms are large and comfortable and clean but do remember that this is an old building and the stairs do creak and sounds do carry. None the less, if you are near Buffalo and are a fan of old westerns, you simply must not miss this chance to live the dream. Wake up where Butch Cassidy, Teddy Roosevelt and Bill Cody once walked the corridors. Yes the stay may be a little on the pricey side, but where else will you get this sort of experience ? Enjoy yourself looking at all the old photos and exhibits around the hotel. Enjoy a drink and a bite to eat in magnificent saloon and make sure you have your camera when you visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#10 of 17 in Buffalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 17 in Buffalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 17 in Buffalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Property: The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant Buffalo, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing