We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Uley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Other reviews were a bit mixed so we decided only to stay one night instead of the two originally planned. We should have stayed the two nights. This hotel is absolutely fantastic. We stayed in the clear creek suite at the back, which was a lovely big room full of antique furniture and full of character. The saloon is world class - we have been in bars, pubs and saloons around the world and this one is in the top ten. The bartender was friendly, the locals were great and the atmosphere was great. The room itself is just amazing. The restaurant was equally fabulous, but as it was a Sunday night, it was closed and we had to eat in the cafe. We would have loved to have tried the restaurant, for the atmosphere and decor alone... One point of advice, if you are staying on a night when the restaurant is closed, do eat in the saloon. It is much nicer and has more atmosphere than the cafe. (The only downside we found is that the cafe service is poor and the food not so good - which applied to both dinner and breakfast. The cafe isn't to the standard of the rest of the hotel.)
For anyone from Europe, who likes something historic with class, this place is an absolute must.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    109
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
85
245
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Occidental is one of the more historic hotels in the West. It's right on the main street of Buffalo, next to a pretty creek. During the day the hotel also serves as a museum, as there are several historic displays. We had one issue---front desk staff were not particularly friendly. When we checked in, they were not that welcoming, and twisted my arm to pay with VISA instead of Amex. When I checked out, the tall gentleman (perhaps the owner, never introduced himself) was brusque and had no thank you or anything, just gave me the receipt without a comment. Because of this issue, I would have given them a 3 rating, but the restaurant and bar staff were fine, and it's worth a few hassles to be part of the history here.

Our Cottonwood Suite was large and generally well furnished, with two separate sinks and antique furniture. The bathroom had a neat cedar bathtub. When you stay in a historic spot like this one, you're not going to have all the luxuries of a new, contemporary hotel, but the room was comfortable. One plus was that the room had good lighting, often not the case in historic properties. The rooms are on the second floor, and be advised that there is a long climb up from the first floor. The room rate is about what you expect given the historical setting. We found the service and food in their restaurant, The Virginian, to be very good. There is also a very large bar next to the lobby which has comfort food, good drinks, and a band on the night we were there. Although we would have liked to see friendlier staff at the hotel, it's well worth staying here to be a part of history (and you might see a ghost!).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We could just duplicate the review of KrmiNetherlands. We stayed in the Owen Wister also - yes, the floors are uneven and creaky, but great (you can hear the ghost coming !) Met some really nice locals in the pub. All in all a fun evening.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ja45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel on our tour trough SD an WY. Don't miss this opportunity to step back in time if you're ever within 50 miles of Buffalo! The welcome from the staff is genuine, warm and helpful. The building itself is a wonderful old building and all the rooms are furnished with period pieces. Our suite (Owen Wister) was large, comfortable and clean but do remember that this is an old building and the stairs do creak and sounds do carry. We had a lot of fun with looking at all the old photos and exhibits around the hotel. We had a great evening In the saloon with live music and good food. Don't forget your camera!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KrmiNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

If you love antiques....this is your place to stay. My husband & I arrived late and the staff(owner) was so very gracious. Our room was clean, comfortable and so welcoming. We had a small porch beside the creek where we had coffee the next morning. The entire staff was nothing but gracious, answering every question, delightfully showing us around the hotel and restaurant . Antique pictures, clothing, furniture,quilts everywhere you looked. I would definitely recommend it to any of my friends coming through Buffalo Wy.
I only wish we had arrived in time to eat at the restaurant. It was lovely

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarieS244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Occidental coming and going from the Grand Tetons, once in the "Cottonwood" suite and once in the "Creekside" suite. Rather than being real suites, they were generously sized rooms overlooking the river which flows by the building. The beds were great and the old-fashioned bathtub in the Cotttonwood was a treat. Both rooms were very quiet and we saw no tourists wandering the halls. The on-site owner/operators were terrific. Breakfast at the Busy Bee was excellent as was informal dining in the saloon and more formal dinner in a private, curtained window table in the Virginian. (Try the pulled pork sandwich in the Saloon and the Chicken Dijon at the Virginian.). Service was prompt and personable. Very highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UCLA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A remarkable place to live history. So much to excite your senses here, and let your imagination run wild. The rooms are period decorated with real antiques, and all necessary and fine working modern conveniences. I would have like to have been able to spend days exploring the hotel, saloon, and restaurant. The Chef and Wait staff at The Virginian Restaurant served up a perfectly requested dinner. From our first arrival to our leaving everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. We like that it is a pet friendly hotel even though we were not traveling with pets. If you plan a visit keep in mind its an old lovely gal of a hotel, the floorboards creak, so don't be nitpicky!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a clawfoot tub, great for relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenntr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#5 of 17 in Buffalo
168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#10 of 17 in Buffalo
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Buffalo
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 17 in Buffalo
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Property: The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant Buffalo, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing