We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome historic hotel”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Absolutely loved our stay at the Occidental. The welcome was warm and helpful although a spot to park wasn't immediately obvious the desk clerk pointed us in the right direction. We stayed in the Hole in the Wall room which was perfect from the comfy bed down to all the little touches that made it feel like we were staying in a wild west hotel. There is a display for guests on the second floor of the original owners clothing and some history of the building. The lobby area is amazing. The saloon bar was fun with a live band and good service from the hard working waitress. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PipPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    108
    18
    14
    6
See reviews for
83
241
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

What a wonderful hotel. We felt as if we stepped back in time and any minute Teddy Roosevelt would join us for breakfast or the Sundance Kid would come racing in through the lobby. The room was clean, truly depicted the time period, had very comfortable beds, and the staff was friendly and kind. We would stay there again and again. It was truly what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Remember you really step back in time so no phone and no air conditioning but there was a great fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Touring Wyoming and the Western USA we read about the historic Occidental Hotel and booked for a Sunday evening. Walking into the foyer was like stepping on to a movie set for a western. The ground floor is part hotel and part museum, with stuffed animal heads, antique furniture and photographs and newspaper reports of the Occidental's past. Upstairs is reserved for hotel guests only. Our room combined the facilities of a modern hotel and the ambiance of a less hectic time. The bathroom was particularly well appointed. Adjoining the hotel is the saloon, where the decor evokes the 19th century and I was shown the bullet holes in the walls and ceiling. The Virginian restaurant was closed that evening. However, the small town of Buffalo is quite well served for places to eat and drink, including the Busy Bee diner next to the hotel. Like many other places in Buffalo this is one of the places described in the 'Longmire' novels, which are set around Buffalo. The Busy Bee lived upto its name at breakfast the next day, serving tasty and filling breakfasts at very reasonable prices. The Occidental is a true gem from a different age, and whilst not cheap affords a taste of the Old West where guests can walk and sleep in the shadows of Presidents (Teddy Roosevelt stayed here), cow men and outlaws (including Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickWare_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had been camping in Nevada, and on the way home we had decided to stay in Buffalo - we're fans of Craig Johnson's Longmire books. Staying in a museum - really, that's what it is - was too good to pass up. The prices may be more than the Best Western, but the charm and history of the hotel makes up for it. The Busy Bee has good food - they also cook for the Saloon. The Saloon has some good beers on tap as well. The hotel has a reputation for being haunted - ghost chasers anyone?The owner and staff were very friendly. We listened to the owner play a lovely impromptu concert on the grand piano on our last night. It was like time travelling. The rooms are very tidy, the bed was good, and the window in our room overlooked a trees and a creek. Parking was a pass to stay on the street out front.

Room Tip: Buffalo is pretty quiet but the hotel is on the main street. If noise is an issue, get a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anikita32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izegem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I spent two nights in the Occidental Hotel in Buffalo, in the room called The Outlaw. The reception is very friendly and helpful. Parts of the hotel are free to the public and worth a visit. Upstairs is only accesible for registered guests and my room was on the first floor. No airconditioning in my room as in the old days but ceiling fans in both bedrooms. Some other rooms have airco. The Outlaw has three seperate spaces: a master bedroom, a second bedroom with two single beds and a large bathroom. All parts of the room are beautifully decorated and spacious. Throughout the hotel you experience as it was 100 years back. Adjoining to the hotel you find the Busy Bee (for breakfast), the Saloon for a light lunch and the Virginian Restaurant for a fine dinner. I spent a nice and enjoyable stay in the Occidental Hotel (with wifi).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisDessein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

If you stay here, you need to accept the hotel for what it is and has been. It has history, creaking floorboards, basic decor and a homely Wild West attitude. It is not five star luxury, more "accept me for what I am, 'cos I ain't gonna change for no one".
We made two mistakes. We chose a room more suited to one person than two. The bed was too small and the bathroom was actually an area of the bedroom separated by a curtain. Not ideal! I regret we didn't ask to see other rooms. Maybe ours was the exception. It looked fine on the website but wasn't quite the same in reality.
The second was to eat in the cafe next door rather than try the Virginian restaurant, which we would normally have done but we just wanted something light. I had to return my burger, which was not cooked through. Unfortunately it didn't taste any better second time round.
On the plus side, the bar lady in the saloon was great fun - a real character - and we were unexpectedly entertained towards the end of the night by the owner who gave us a few songs in the Saloon despite the fact that it was not one of the usual nights for entertainment. We bought his CD next morning.
It's a place you'll remember.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Occidental. The room was charming and the staff very pleasant and helpful.
Dinner in the adjoining Virginian restaurant was the nicest meal of our two week motorcycle trip.
We would plan to stay at the Occidental when we return to Buffalo next.

Room Tip: The Hole in the wall room had a claw footed bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chevyimpala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.3 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#12 of 17 in Buffalo
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
0.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Property: The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant Buffalo, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing