We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, Character and Convenience!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The Occidental is a fabulous old hotel, fully restored, and as charming a place as you could ever hope to find. It's chock full of character, beautiful antiques and its downtown location allows you to walk most anywhere you want. The bed is comfortable, the room was spacious and the public areas of the hotel are really unique and interesting. My main suggestion is that you walk next door to The Virginian Restaurant and eat one of the most delicious upscale dinners you'll ever have. It's absolutely wonderful: the grilled Caesar salad is great and the baby back ribs fall off the bone. This place is a real treat and not to be missed! One note: every time a new guest walked through the front door, a big smile lit up their face. You'll understand when you open the door too!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiles4miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2010

My wife and I spent our 27th anniversery at the Occidental. We stayed in the clear creek room. It was very nice and cozy. We took a bath in the old claw footed bath tube and slept on the bed (new mattress) that the orginal owner of 100+ years had used. We had a king cut prime rib dinner at Occidental. My wife and I shared the meal and still need a to go box. Donna the owner took real good care of us and we had one of the most romantic times of our 27 years. If your going through wyoming it is a great place to stay before you head up into the beautiful Big Horn mountains.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love1Gillettewyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Wow wow wow....we walked through the front door and were amazed from the moment we stepped in. This hotel is amazing. The rooms, the decor, the photos, the memorabilia....We had the Clear Creek and General Sheridan Rooms and both were large and comfortable. We loved the old style radios in the room...originals and they still work. The owner was so friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was great and in the morning we were recommended to go to the diner across the road which was also great. We stayed here for 1 night on our 2 week road trip. I'd definitely stay here again if i was passing.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nattie224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2009

A stay at this hotel was one of the highlights of our 2 month tour of the northwest. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The hotel lobby was absolutly gorgeous and our room (the Rose Suite) was charming. We enjoyed exporing the hotel, as well as downtown Buffalo. This hotel is a rare gem, that has been lovingly restored to it's original grandeur.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed here for our anniversary, looking for a nice, quiet, quirky spot from which we could jump off into the Bighorns for hiking. We booked 2 nights for the Cottonwood Suite well in advance, and the weekend found us driving to Buffalo in a snowstorm. We checked into a wonderful hotel. I really liked it a lot. The furniture and décor was from a wide range of eras, from 1850 to 1950, but the feeling I mostly caught was that it was from 1940. Big Band music played on the antique radio; a fire blazed in the hearth; old sitting-room furniture sat around the fireplace; it was all very quaint.

The Cottonwood Suite was very nice, with a comfy King bed and a large bathroom, all nicely decorated and very clean. Five large windows looked out over Clear Creek and the giant poplar (not cottonwood) tree outside the window. We were the only ones checked in at 4:00, so we were able to peek into every other room in the hotel, and all are wonderful and unique. There is also a nice library with thousands of natural science books that looked like a great place to spend some time.

We went next door to the outstanding Mexican restaurant for dinner (food is great, margaritas are weak), then back to the room where we watched a streaming movie on our laptop and then read by the soft glow of lamplight and big band music quietly playing on the 1946 radio on the entry table. All very nice. Up to that point, I kept thinking how we would probably come back again.

Then….we turned out the lights and went to bed. We became aware how thin the walls were: every footstep in the hallway caused boards to creak loudly, and every word spoken could be easily heard; coughs and conversation from the room next door were clearly audible and (how can I put this lightly?) all bathroom noises from the room next door were clearly heard from our bed. Not romantic, man. Also, two guests down the hall had little barking dogs that barked and barked and barked. In turn, we were conscious of any noise or conversation we made, knowing it could be easily overheard by our neighbors or anyone in the hall. All very communal. Still, all that I can overlook as just the quirks of a very old hotel, perhaps even part of its antique charm.

The snowstorm knocked out power for the hotel during the night, and the fire alarm went into failsafe mode and wailed loudly at intervals all night long. Very annoying, but purely the result of the power failure. Nevertheless, it was one of the worst night’s sleep I’ve ever had, and that was not in the anniversary-getaway game-plan. Because power was not restored, we checked out the next morning because of the fire alarm noise, and because there was no place to eat and nothing to do in town since every business closed. I credit the friendly manager for not charging us for the second night, but I was a little disappointed at the laissez-faire attitude about the fire alarm going off all night, as if it was a trifling thing.

This is a really cool hotel. It feels like you’re staying in a museum. It’s just noisy, so be prepared, either with earplugs, or a few drinks before bed. I recommend it only with those caveats.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Achin4Bacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

What a great place, we loved it. Would happily recommend this place to anyone. Helpful kind staff, with a a magic retaurant attached. Don't hesitate - do go.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Upon arrival we walked into a dimly candlelit lobby and noted several people in Western attire, a few with holstered sidearms. For a moment I wasn't sure what year it was or what we had stumbled into. The desk clerk waved us over and asked if we wouldn't mind stepping into the bar until the wedding was finished.
Power was out all over town, so the bartender kept our tab until the lights came back on.
This entertaining afternoon, combined with the super-friendly staff and wedding reception, made our stay in the Owen Wister room a special treat and has provided us with a good story.
A fine dinner of well-prepared buffalo at the adjoining Virginian restaurant topped off the day. We would not have noticed if the resident ghost wanted to bother us, as we slept so soundly.
I'd like to return to the Occidental Hotel, but I think it would be very difficult to duplicate our first visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoanokeCorvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#3 of 16 in Buffalo
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 16 in Buffalo
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 16 in Buffalo
297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
0.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range: £54 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant Buffalo, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing