We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great history, fun hotel.”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

This is a fine hotel, with two great restaurants attached to it. Friendly service, comfortable rooms, and memorabilia which could keep you occupied for weeks. Wonderful place for a visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    107
    17
    13
    6
See reviews for
81
238
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2010

This place was awesome and we can't wait to go back again. The people were so nice and friendly. We had a blast!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boogaboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We are two ladies in our late sixties on a 6000 mile road trip just for the fun of it. We found the Occidental on line and decided to stay there. We got there on Thursday night and went to the Blue Grass Jam fest in the historic bar. Local talent perform and it was wonderful. They were better than many well known performers who earn millions. Everyone was so friendly. Both young and old people came and spoke with us at the jam fest.

The hotel was right out of the old west. It is something to climb the same stairs to your room that were climbed by Teddy Roosevelt, Butch Cassidy and others. The authentic Victorian furnishings in the rooms added just the right touch.

What we liked the least, We could not get a room with two beds. We have not had to sleep together since we were little girls, at least it was a king size bed.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rambler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed several nights while on a western vacation. This place is like staying in a museum. We found everything to be wonderful. Each room is equipped with a working tube radio and the hotel broadcasts it's own period music 24 hours. Yes the floors squeak, yes there's working transoms over the doors, if you want a cookie cutter hotel just keep moving. To us this place was priceless.

If you're lucky enough to be there on Thursday night, go to the saloon that night for a blue grass jam. Make sure you're early as the place fills up quick. A real highlight of our stay. We had a ball and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snugdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
269 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Remember, this hotel is over 100 years old. We had a great stay. We dropped off our bags at the front door and were instructed to park across the street. The restaurant was closed for the season (staff had gone back to college) so we ate in the bar and had a wonderful meal (try the B-B-Q ribs). Rooms are large and old, but clean and comfortable. Remember you are in Buffalo, Wyoming a great part of the old West. The staff was friendly and helpful. Enjoy a pice of history. There is no nightlife except the hotels bar.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The hotel has a real romantic feel from the street and the lobby is fasinating. However, I'd like to warn you that it is noisey. The floors in the rooms are so creaky that one step on the floor will wake up your partner. Even worse, you can hear every word that other guests are saying as they walk down the hallway. The walls and doors are so paper thin (think 1900s) that, if you are at all a light sleeper, you won't be able to get a good nights rest. Even my husband, who is very easy going, was ready to leave first thing in the morning....we couldn't get out of there fast enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We booked for two nights at the Occidental and it was a very strange experience. The room was cluttered, one of the lamps was too dangerous to switch on and the basin was cracked. The whole place creaks, the floorboards, the bed. There were non guests wandering about all the time, rooms not let are left open for them to view! The restaurant was disappointing, we booked for 8pm but where told to come back in 20mins as they where running behind. The service was slow and chaotic, a lot a running about but nothing happening! They even started to vacuum before we finished our meal. When we discovered that the restaurant is closed on Sunday nights (Not that this is covered in their advertising) and after a very un-comfortable night we decided to cut our loses and move on rather than stay a further night. When we left the charming receptionist did have the good grace not to charge us for the second night, although come the think of it she was surprised we had booked for 2 nights! Finally when we asked about breakfast we were told that they were not serving that day due to a private party. Glad to get out!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldWomanBitGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.2 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
0.5 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#6 of 17 in Buffalo
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Buffalo WY
Days Inn Buffalo WY
#10 of 17 in Buffalo
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant

Property: The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon and The Virginian Restaurant
Address: 10 N Main St, Buffalo, WY 82834-1815
Region: United States > Wyoming > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Historical Hotel, Saloon, Cafe and Western Dining Restaurant Living museum, outdoor green area along Clear Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Occidental Hotel And Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant
The Historic Occidental Hotel & Saloon And The Virginian Restaurant Buffalo, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing