We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only "Super" here is stale smoke!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Casper West
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Casper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The staff here are wonderful, however, it does not make up for the fact that this property REEKS of super stale cigarette smoke! One cannot enter the building without taking the smell of smoke with you when you leave! There are 3 floors and the smoking floor is the top (3rd) floor. There are doors at each end of each hallway, but the smell permeates everything! I stayed here on several occasions while on business in the area, because this was the accommodations my company provided. The last stay, was unplanned and the only room available was a smoking room, which smelled it had not been cleaned since the last person smoked in it. I don't think the A/C filters had been changed in years, because the air from it also reeked of smoke. I had to place a wet towel along the bottom of the door inside just to keep the smell from coming under it. I also had a room deodorizer stuck to the from of the A/C unit on full blast in order to tolerate the smell enough to sleep. Luckily, it was enough to avoid triggering an asthma attack! I have since asked my company for different accommodations.
The staff here do their best to make this place livable and keep it clean, but the place is OLD and the owners do not put much back into it in the way of upgrading and replacing old carpeting and mattresses. All floors are accessed by stairs, because even the 1st floor is below ground level, more like a basement. There is a ramp down to that one, but no elevator.
There is one washer and one dryer, if you have only one load of laundry. Sometimes it is already in use. The breakfast is good, a little more than continental and there are snacks provided in the evening, but do you really want to eat with that smell? If the owners insist on allowing smoking in the rooms, perhaps they should consider adding another wing for their non-smoking guests. The property site is large enough for expansion and with the occupancy rate of this property, it could prove beneficial.
This is the only Wyndham property I have stayed at in Casper, but upon reading the reviews of the others, it seems the others are all as bad or worse that this one. With the exception of the Ramada. I prefer Best Western or Choice Hotels, if choosing my own accommodations. They are a much better hotel for a slightly higher price. It is well worth it. Most have either a separate wing for smokers or have a "smoke-free premises".

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms at the west end of the building area little less smelly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VC21114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie3240, General Manager at Super 8 Casper West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Vc21114

I am truly sorry that all your stays here have never been good.

Sincerely,
Debbie Fox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

For a super 8 this motel was very clean and the recption was welcoming and helpful. they had some little evening snacks of cheese, crackers and veggies. Nice area to eat and chill out in the lobby. Was happy they had a washer and dryer, although very slow it beat going to laundry mat as I saw others did. Our room had a decent view but a really nice sunset. Large parking area and motorcycle friendly/safe.

Room Tip: Ask for north west facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoyMarieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie3240, General Manager at Super 8 Casper West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Joy MarieJ

Thank you so much for all you had to say about your stay at our motel. Our lobby is a really big area for guest to visit. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Debbie Fox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debbie3240, General Manager at Super 8 Casper West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debbie3240, General Manager at Super 8 Casper West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 August 2014

great hotel-clean rooms-great breakfast-the other super 8 motels offer a bland breakfast-casper offered hot biscut-gravy hard boiled eggs waffels-toast ill be going back

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Theodore M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie3240, General Manager at Super 8 Casper West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Theodore M H

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our motel. The breakfast is really good. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Debbie Fox.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Debbie3240, General Manager at Super 8 Casper West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had reservations at this Super 8 for a recent return trip from Bear Tooth Pass in Montana. There were 4 in our party and we ride Gold Wing motorcycles. After a long day's ride that started in Powell, Wyoming up through Red Lodge, Montana, we came back to Casper for the night to start our return trip back to Texas.
We arrived in the evening and got checked in shortly before sundown. There were some nice snacks offered in the lobby and this hotel was very customer friendly. From the moment we stepped through the door, service was the order of the day. The staff was welcoming and friendly and very helpful.
The rooms were very nicely furnished and the amenities of a microwave and refrigerator were in both of our rooms. The facility is very accommodating to handicapped people with a staff that is willing to assist in anyway to make the stay both pleasant and comfortable.
The morning breakfast is not your usual sweet bun, doughnuts, waffle and cereal fare. There were hot biscuits and delicious sausage gravy and fresh fruit. The staff are always paying particular attention to assure that there is a plentiful supply for the guests. Cleanliness is also a top priority as I watched the staff cleaning up after spills and dropped food so that there was never a mess.
The manager, Debbie Fox, can be proud of her staff and this facility. She and her staff do an excellent job of hosting the traveling public who wisely choose this Super 8 as their place of lodging while in Casper. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for all of the reasons mentioned in this review and more that I cannot elaborate on due to time constraints. A+ rating for me and the thoughts I have expressed were echoed by the other members of my party while we discussed this trip afterwards.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie3240, General Manager at Super 8 Casper West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Steve F

I truly thank you for all you had to say about your stay at our motel. It is so fun to interact with all our guest they come from all over the world. We look forward to your next visit to Casper.

Sincerely
Debbie Fox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Casper hotels
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Casper
La Quinta Inn Casper
#13 of 21 in Casper
449 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Casper Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 21 in Casper
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Casper
3.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Casper Hotel and Conference Center
7.6 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#9 of 21 in Casper
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Casper West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Casper West

Address: 3838 Cy Ave, I-25 Exit 188B South on Poplar, Casper, WY 82604-4322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Casper
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Casper
#6 Business Hotel in Casper
Price Range: £54 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Casper West 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refuel for your adventures in the Cowboy State at our Super 8 Casper / West hotel. Located at the intersection of Wyoming Highway 258 and Highway 220, near Interstate 25, our pet-friendly Casper hotel is minutes from several exciting area attractions and within a short driving distance of Casper / Natrona County International Airport.Our Casper, WY, hotel will leave you well-rested and ready for the road ahead. We offer convenient amenities like free Wi-Fi, 24-hour coffee and tea in the lobby, guest laundry facilities, expanded cable TV with HBO, free local telephone calls, hair dryer and free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza. Select rooms have a refrigerator. We also provide handicapped-accessible rooms and truck, bus or RV parking with outlets. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our Casper, WY, hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Casper West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Casper West Hotel Casper
Super 8 Casper
Super Eight Casper
Casper Super Eight
Casper Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing