We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent exhibitions”

Fort Caspar Museum and Historic Site
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Casper
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibitions”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It was a quiet day when we visited so was surprised when the attendant could hardly tear herself away from her book to answer my question, I didn't bother her again. The displays are nicely restored and descriptions are informative.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Slimjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    59
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC Metro
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Worth checking out”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The museum was very neat and I learned a lot. The historic site was smaller than I thought it would be, but still interesting. The gift shop had a lot of really neat books.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank soonerj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't pass this by”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Very interesting place to visit with lots of information on the history of Casper. We ended our day with a BBQ in the park just outside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TyDe_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Back in the old west.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Ft. Caspar is a good place to see firsthand how the Ft. helped travelers in the mid-1800's. This isn't the original fort but it was rebuilt in the 1930's. Great stop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyokid0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Fort Casper is an actuall U.S. Calvary fort and trading post. The exhibits a very well done and the forts buildings are the original log buildings with some upgrades and preservation. It is situated at the trails river crossing. The original bridge has also been preserved.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelandfoodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Caspar Museum and Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Fort Caspar Museum and Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing