We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Retreat”
Review of Ranch at Ucross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ranch at Ucross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I just spent two days at the Ranch at Ucross with members of a state advisory board retreat. The accommodations were outstanding. The staff paid attention to every detail to make our stay comfortable and extremely enjoyable during our down time -- right down to setting a bonfire for our after-dinner enjoyment. ,Food was great! The rooms were cozy and relaxing, and had one of the best nights' sleep I've had in ages. I did not want to go home. Fishing was great, horses beautiful. The geese may wake you up in the morning! Did not even see if there was a fitness center -- you can get plenty of exercise in the great outdoors.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

I didn't know what to expect when we were scheduled to visit a ranch on our tour. It could not have been more fun. There was a stocked lake for the fishermen, and those that wanted to ride on a horse could. The rooms were so spacious and luxurious and what can I say about the food but it was amazing. After dinner we went to the campfire and told stories and had smores. If you want to relax this is it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here on a tour of the Wild West. There were 11 in our family. A multi-generational family trip. Grandparents and children all enjoyed the pool. Winds and thunderstorms could not dampen our spirits and our campfire of s'mores and silly ghost stories. Rooms were generous and clean. Food was tasty and staff was friendly. Gift shop well stocked as well.

Recommend for all ages.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingenmasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Great location away from the hustle and bustle of tourist attractions. Great accommodations. The room was clean and I loved sitting on the porch reading. However, no television. I need to keep up with the news. In addition, the food was great. Good activities - I would have liked the horseback ride to be longer and more challenging.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 231Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This Dude Ranch was included with our Trafalgar Wild West Cowboys and Buffalos tour , and it was outstanding. From the moment we pulled in and the manager got on the bus and welcome us to the time we pulled out we couldn't of fealt more welcome. The food was outstanding and the rooms were good. If you are ever in the area book a room and have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chimo687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I spent a night here last week. It is such a great place to stay. It felt like I was at grandma's house.

The Good: Spacious rooms. Family style meals you don't have to cook. Meals were delicious. Cozy Beds. Warm pool. Poolhouse is a Great place to relax. Large Bathroom. Horseback riding is included (Horses are well behaved). The managers were very friendly. Service and Hospitality was excellent. There are a lot of relaxing activits to do.

The Bad: WiFi only works in poorhouse, and it is slow, and the signal is weak. There is no hot tub.

The Bottom Line: This is a great place to spend the night. Great atmosphere.

Room Tip: The rooms are scattered throughout several buildings. Get a room as close to the pool house as possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBFred101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My grandchildren and I stopped overnight on bus tour of the West. The accomodations were nice including antique-style furniture and a large bath. The ranch is beautifully laid out. We had 2 meals, dinner and breakfast. Both meals were served home style and were delicious and hearty.
We also took a 30 minute horse back ride. All of the horses appeared healthy and didn't seem to have any bad habits (such as biting) that could ruin this experience. After dinner they built a campfire and had a young man singing with a guitar. The kids played soccer, horseshoes and volleyball. Pool was small but adequate.

Room Tip: Rooms are on either 1st or 2nd level with no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearmont
23.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sheridan
16.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
24.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 19 in Sheridan
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranch at Ucross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranch at Ucross

Address: 2673 US Highway 14, Clearmont, WY 82835-9709
Region: United States > Wyoming > Clearmont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Clearmont
Price Range: £361 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ranch at Ucross 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ranch at Ucross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranch At Ucross Hotel Clearmont
Ranch At Ucross Clearmont, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing