We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Ranch at Ucross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranch at Ucross
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I can't say enough for this ranch! Amazing in every way, from the rooms to the meals. We only had a one night stay on our Tauck tour, but would have liked to spend a few more days. Do not hesitate to book a stay here they have something for everybody, kid friendly as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babypeterblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear babypeterblue,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great review! It was great to read about your good experience and that you would have liked to stay longer :) We appreciate you recommending us and hope to see you at the ranch again soon!

Sincerely,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Vickie Abbott and Eric Wilhelm, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina, USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were here for only one short night, and were devastated we couldn't stay longer. The whole time were were there, we were thinking of how and we we could make it back!
The managers were very hospitable and accommodating.
Lots of open space for roaming and gorgeous views!
We stayed in A3 cabin and it was perfect for the 3 of us - no tv or internet, but we had no problem crashing to sleep in the summer night storm!
As I said before... we can't wait to go back and enjoy all of the offerings they have!

Room Tip: the cabins (A3) are perfect for small families (parents & kid)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Jill D,

We are so happy to hear that you loved the ranch. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for leaving us a wonderful review! We really hope that you do get to come back. It was a pleasure hosting you.

Sincerely,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric Wilhelm and Vickie Abbott, General Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stopped here as part of a road trip around Wyoming and because I had always wanted to stay on a ranch. It took us a while to find it as the GPS wasn't specific enough, dumping us outside a field on a different road but eventually we found it by spotting a coach pulling in! They seem to have regular coach parties and so as independent travellers you do feel a bit out of it but have to say that both nights we were there, we met some really nice people off coach trips, so was social enough. Both nights we were seated at dinner with other independent travellers, the first night a Dutch couple and second night an American couple, who were both pleasant company. I thought the food was only okay. The meat was fine but basic salad for starter and vegetables were obviously all frozen. It was a set menu but because we were there for two nights (and they were serving exactly same meal both nights) they did us something different for second night. When they kindly let us use their laundry in the basement we were amused to find lots of empty frozen apple pie boxes! Hey guys, it's not that hard to make home made apple pies and freeze them ...... There is no alternative for eating unless you drive a long way and at $30 per meal we thought it was overpriced for the quality of food. Breakfast, which was included, was okay but bit basic. I did a horse ride the morning after we arrived which I thoroughly enjoyed, thanks to Rocket for being a placid horse and to Eric and Kurt for making me feel safe! With nothing much else to do we went for a walk but were a bit spooked by Duane warning us to look out for rattlesnakes. As a pair of townies we were then hyper alert to every noise! Very pretty country but it was extremely hot when we were there, so after a shortish walk at 'full alert', we decided to utilise swimming pool, which we had to ourselves (everyone else having left) until the next coach trip arrived. It was a pleasant rest day on a holiday with long drives but was a bit disappointed by lack of activities during the day. I would say this was more of a one night stop place. All the staff were wonderful though - full marks to every single person for being friendly, welcoming and helpful. Loved Duane's dry sense of humour and he was great at helping us with our bags!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear XHarry,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It is always fun to read what people have to say. I am very glad that you were able to take advantage of the pool and horses and am sad to hear that you were not impressed with the food. Like most restaurants we do serve some frozen desert items but all of our vegetables are served fresh. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next trip through the area.

Sincerely,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric & Vickie, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Spent one night 9/11/13 at this property with my wife on our way from Yellowstone N.P. Was a welcome oasis in a somewhat boring drive from Wyoming. We were given a room with a king sized comfortable bed and even had some local turkeys roaming past our room. The personnel at he Ranch and especially the General Manager, Vickie was phenomenal. Every one working throughout the property was warm, welcoming and always helpful. They offered us fishing and horseback riding as soon as we arrived. The entire property is gorgeous and well kept. After dinner the offered a campfire along with a singer/musician. If I ever make my way thru this area again I will definitely make it a point to stay at UCross. Thanks again Vicki, for your fantastic hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredandlazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear retiredandlazy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I enjoyed hearing about your stay with us and I am glad that you had a good time :) We would love to host you again.

Sincerely,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric and Vickie, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Lovely place to stay for a couple of days! Cabins are clean and big enough. Swimmingpoole is good, dinner was nice. Dinner and breakfast is with other people, we had a good diner with a couple from England...it was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henriette_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Henriette_1957,

It was such a pleasure to read your kind review. I am so happy that you enjoyed our ranch and even made some new friends. We hope you will feel welcome to come back any time.

Have a great weekend,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric and Vickie, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The ranch is very much in the middle of nowhere, which means it's a good staging post whilst on the move, but possibly has little to commend it for a longer stay. The rooms are in motel style around a central area and are perfectly adequate, though note they have shared balconies or decking. They depend very much on coach parties for their trade, so if you're travelling independently, you might feel just a little out of it. This led to some confusion when cleaning girls expected us to have left our room whilst we were still enjoying the morning sunshine. The restaurant food was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrynEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear BrynEngland,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is true that we are a bit far removed from everything which makes it a nice place for people to escape to. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I apologize for the confusion of our cleaning crew. We hope to see you again on your next trip through the state :)

Sincerely,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric and Vickie, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Took my 12 yr. old Grandson here! What a beautiful, peaceful place. Gabe and I had a great time. Thanks to Vicky, Eric, Katie, Bree, Patsy, Colton and Duane!!
Gabe will never forget you or his rides on Rusty, Smokin and Roni!!
You were all so very kind!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joebeluga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R, Public Relations Manager at Ranch at Ucross, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Joebeluga,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! I am so glad that you had the opportunity to stay with us and that you Gabe had a great time :) Hope to see you again at the ranch soon.

Sincerely,
Jessica Rick on behalf of Eric and Vickie, General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clearmont
16.7 mi away
Z-Bar Motel
Z-Bar Motel
#5 of 17 in Buffalo
168 reviews
15.7 mi away
Buffalo Inn
Buffalo Inn
#2 of 17 in Buffalo
298 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 19 in Sheridan
406 reviews
23.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheridan - Convention Center
23.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sheridan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranch at Ucross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranch at Ucross

Property: Ranch at Ucross
Address: 2673 US Highway 14, Clearmont, WY 82835-9709
Region: United States > Wyoming > Clearmont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Clearmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ranch at Ucross 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ranch at Ucross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranch At Ucross Hotel Clearmont
Ranch At Ucross Clearmont, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing