We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I needed!”
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cody Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FloridaGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2008

Best Hotel in Cody...clean room...small but better than average...bathrooms very small...all amenities at the hotel are self service...not much help from hotel staff...free breakfast was a dissapointment...don't miss the Cody Rodeo

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sambotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We stayed at The Cody for one night during a Yellowstone/Wyoming trip.

I cannot stress enough how friendly the staff was. Especially the front desk staff.

We checked in at 7:30pm and the hotel was serving cheesecake dessert until 8pm. Needless to say, I forgot about it until 8:10pm. We were so happy to see the cheesecake still there and they we so accomodating when we asked to bring a slice to our room for later.

At breakfast, a staff member overheard my 2 year old asking for peanut butter for his toast - out came peanut butter. We didn't even ask!

These seem like trivial items but we travel frequently with my parents and 3 children - this service isn't a given anymore. The service at the Cody is most similar to the service we receive at Hyatt hotels.

Breakfast was great (loved the strawberries); the kids loved the indoor pool (it was a bit cold for me); the room was immaculate with loads of space. The beds were so comfortable. Towels, bedding, TV, everything was great!

This will be the ONLY place I stay if I head out to Cody again!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DPJPTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We just returned from a one week tour of western Wy. & Yellowstone. The Cody was BY FAR the nicest, cleanest, best value hotel. Our room was immaculate. Usually I get a little creeped out in hotels & don't want to touch the bedspreads, or even walk on the floor barefoot, but that was not the case here. It felt like a model home. We also felt the rate was very fair. It was nice not to feel like we were be overcharged. I do agree that they should leave a second bar of soap for the bath, however, that was remedied with a simple request. The staff was incredibly pleasant. Real spoons, thick towels (and lots of them) and amazing bathrobes were wonderful touches. Its a new hotel - if they can main their standards, we will definitely return. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylilliwaup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Paulw051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Finding The Cody is nothing short of a miracle as far as travel experiences go. The pictures on the web looked great and the TripAdvisor reviews were quite positive, but there had to be a catch, yes? Turned out there wasn't! The Cody is an upscale and elegant "boutique hotel" that opened its doors in May 2008. It is simply the best hotel in Cody - nothing else comes even close. There were a few minor issues during our stay, but nothing that cannot be explained as startup glitches. Overall, a great experience and we'll definitely be back.

Pros: Very attentive and pleasant staff, elegant western decor, brand new furnishings, comfortable beds, upscale sheets, fluffy towels and bathrobes, quiet rooms, free breakfast, not having to endure crappy accommodations in Cody ;-)

Cons: Small rooms, room air-conditioning that cycles on and off, location (on the main highway into town with an ugly highway maintenance depot on one side), odd breakfast selection (breads, pastries, toaster waffles, sliced strawberries, and sausage links!).

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mooneydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

We arrived late in Cody completely by accident, and decided we needed to find a hotel. We tried a few around town but it was a bit busy with exchange students & a local rodeo.

We lucked out on the Cody as there was a room available.

We were quite taken back on how great the hotel was. The place was just immaculate for the town of Cody, and would rate the same if you placed this hotel in the downtown of any city.

By the way, the town of Cody is the best kept secret in America. Someone rounded up the best & nicest American's & put them all in Cody.

I can't say enough about this hotel, it is one of the warmest & nicest hotels I have stayed at, and it is priced well for what you are getting. The friendliest staff you will ever find!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bazza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
1.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#3 of 29 in Cody
358 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#11 of 29 in Cody
353 reviews
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Address: 232 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#5 Family Hotel in Cody
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range: £98 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel
The Cody Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing