We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cody Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We stayed at the Cody on our way to Yellowstone. Arrived late at night and still used the hot tub and swimming pool. Everything is very clean and of good quality. Way better than the usual motel/hotels in tourist towns!
The room was spacious and clean as well. The refrigerator didn't work properly, it never cooled down our drinks and yogurts. The breakfast was an added benefit. A nice breakfast room, real cereal, fruit, waffles and different breads. I would love to see a selection and better quality of tea in the morning, not just your standard black tea.
Overall a good find!

  • Liked — Clean, higher quality than the usual hotels
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ocean35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    213
    64
    20
    7
See reviews for
320
433
28
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
204 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Came into town and checked a few motel/hotel rates.
Decided we would splurge and spend $140 for a nite at The Cody.
I have to say it was quiet, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are nice..
The Front Desk person was pleasant and helpful,
The breakfast was nice and well presented..

I think on this visit, my wife and I were the youngest guest.. (50yrs old)
So that made it a plus, not having to put up with small kids running and screaming down the halls,

This is a place I would come back to after the Tourist season.

  • Liked — Roomy, Clean & quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank troubled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

I've stayed in a lot of different roadside hotels around the world, not to mention another 9 on this trip alone, and this hotel is by far and away the best hotel I have stayed in. Big, clean rooms, completely new facilities, free wifi (a big win in my book), excellent free breakfast, friendly staff. This hotel is not a let down in any way. You should go out of your way to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank goap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We were traveling through Yellowstone Park and around Wyoming, namely through Casper and Cody. We were taking a chance and stopping in to hotels rather than making reservations in advance since we were unsure where we would be each night. We were not happy with the looks of most of the hotels on the "strip" in Cody and had spent the night in many rooms that were not big enough so we were anxious for a nice place to spend a couple of nights. When we were almost ready to turn around we spotted the Cody. We pulled in but all of us were sure that the place was too extravagant and expensive. Turned out they were not too expensive, rather they were cheaper than some of the other places we had stayed in. The rooms were clean, large and very nice. The decorations were tasteful and didn't look mass produced and nailed down. The staff were attentive and courteous, from the front desk to the maintenance staff that passed in the hall. The property had a fountain and outdoor fireplace to sit around in the evening and was very relaxing. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful with variety and was well maintained and clean. We couldn't figure out how to use the steam room but the swim pool and hot tub were clean and perfect (perfect chlorine and temperature). And best of all, they welcomed my golden retreiver, the front desk staff even came out and petted him.
I was surprised and incredibly impressed with this gem placed in Cody Wyoming. I will definitely return and I am currently planning to meet friends there next year.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and attention to details.
  • Disliked — We had to leave.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wearytraveler1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2008

The Cody is a beautiful new property. The staff was relatively knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms are a lovely blend of modern and Western design without the typical kitsch that one sees in a tourist town. While not complaints, per se, there are a couple of areas for improvement. As others have said, the breakfast was marginal, but it was free and we didn't have lofty expectations. The other strange thing was the fact that the bed was way too high. I am a small person and had to take a running leap to get into the bed. I don't think that its height added to the design element. Overall a fantastic, but brief, stay.

  • Liked — cleanliness, style, location
  • Disliked — so-so breakfast, unreasonably high bed
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank K_Mease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We had planned to spend one night in Cody, but when we got to our hotel, we walked into our room and we decided to stay for two. The room was fabulous. It was large and so well appointed. Great care was taken in accessorizing for the room. The Cody is a new property. It has a few kinks, but were easily remedied. The fireplace would not turn on, but they had a service person fix it right away. Dead battery in the remote. The bed was so comforable. Great linens. Jacuzzi. And even breakfast in the AM and snacks at night. Also a great value compared to Jackson Hole.

We did our river float trip in Cody and paid half the price.

  • Liked — Bed was so comfortable and room was well appointed!
  • Disliked — From the outside it looks like a motel, but once inside you would never know.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sharidDavie_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, Ca
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

I picked The Cody from the descriptions on Trip Advisor. I was right to do so. We were on an extended family vacation in Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons. Wanted to spend a couple of days touring Buffalo Bill's museum so needed a place to stay in Cody. This hotel is perfect. Well located and easy to find. Cody, Wy is small so everywhere is just a couple of minutes from everywhere else. The museum (easily a full day experience) was only 5 minutes away.
The hotel is new and very much up to date. The breakfasts in the morning were far above my expectations. I've been to lots of "free breakfasts" even in better hotels and this was the best of the lot.
The room was roomy, comfortable and very clean and modern. Well worth the price. In just casually looking at other hotels as we drove around town, I KNOW we made the right choice.

  • Liked — Breakfasts
  • Disliked — nothing all was good
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank regalaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.7 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#11 of 29 in Cody
366 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Property: The Cody Hotel
Address: 232 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#5 Family Hotel in Cody
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel
The Cody Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing