We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cody Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent two nights at The Cody Hotel. The staff was excellent and the room was very comfortable. We are planning a return trip later this year and will be staying here again. The location of this hotel is excellent as it is less than 50 miles to East entrance of Yellowstone National Park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    211
    64
    20
    7
See reviews for
314
424
28
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

WOW! What a wonderful surprise. One hardly expects to find a facility such as this in a small northwestern locale: the rooms are spacious and interestingly furnished; and there are options for a jacuzzi and/or fireplace too.

This is, no doubt, a very well-managed hotel. The staff members go out of their way to make you feel valued as a guest. They smile and go out of their way to help you —Gary welcoming you at the front desk, Kenny and Arnie shuttling you into town or picking you up in a very timely fashion, Janet, taking the ice bucket out of your hands to fill it up, Fellows ensuring that the coffee is fresh at 4:30 am, Anthony assisting with early airline check-in or Jeremy searching their database for a ready suitable room when you arrive earlier than expected. It starts at the top too! It is the manager Celes herself, who gets up to (twice), shuttle you to a 4:45 a.m. engagement.

This hotel meets or exceeds the highest standards of accommodation and customer service, even when compared to most big-city venues. However, all is not perfect; the hotel is located on the outskirts of downtown Cody and does not have a proper restaurant or bar. They do serve a satisfactory early morning continental breakfast, and there is an excellent breakfast/lunch facility within walking distance. If you have a vehicle it only takes five minutes to downtown —and that is in rush hour traffic! If you are without a car as we were, the shuttle service is excellent; if you arrange a pick-up they are there waiting for you in the appointed place at the appointed time!

If you are looking for a great hotel experience —even for those with big-city expectations— you will find that here, and get the friendly small-town atmosphere to boot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f1rstlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great scenic location just at the edge of town yet convenient to shopping, restaurants, and the East entrance to Yellowstone. Good size, clean rooms. Friendly, well informed, customer-service oriented staff. If you bring a pet, please be prepared to arrange boarding or a pet sitting service in advance since the policy does not permit the animal unattended in the room for any period of time and will charge $250 per night if the policy is broken.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E749rawlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The staff at the cody was more then willing to go the extra mile for all of my family!! Celest (the manager) was incredibly nice, caring and outstanding! The front desk clerk Gary was funny and caring. We used the conference room for a graduation party and the maintenance man checked on us at least every hour, taking trash out for us, hooking up our music. It was a wonderful experience and will tell everyone to stay with them

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear Region, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent two wonderful nights at the Cody Hotel. The staff is outstanding and the room was very comfortable. When we checked in we met Gin at the front desk and were made to feel so very welcome. She asked about our plans in Cody and made some great suggestions on what to see and do. She was like an old friend that we just met. We liked the room so much that we went back down to the front desk and asked if we could extend our stay. Gin took care of that and every other request that we had.

The beds were comfortable, the balcony had a great view looking West toward Yellowstone. We ate the free breakfasts on two mornings on real plates with actual metal utensils. There was great hot chocolate and hot cider for the non-coffee drinkers. My wife loved the coffee with real milk. The food was not fancy but was hot, filling and tasty.

We used the onsite guest laundry which was spotlessly clean. Every staff member we spoke to was friendly and pleasant including the housecleaning staff we spoke to in the hallways. We did not have a single compliant or issue in the two nights we stayed.

When we checked out, we had to take Gin's picture and give her a big hug. She really is gem and I hope we will see her again on our next stay at the Cody Hotel. We we made to feel like long lost family who were being welcomed home. That is a pretty rare thing these days.

We typically stay at Hampton Inns because of consistent quality but when in Cody, you should stay at the Cody. It has a warm western feel with great pictures of the area and the wildlife. You can sit in the library area off of the lobby with a warm fire and read a good book or use the computer. It is a really nice space to just slow down after a busy day. There is a nice indoor pool and a well equipped exercise facility for those so inclined.

We would recommend the Cody to anyone looking to stay in Cody Wyoming. We will be back the next time we are in the Yellowstone area.

Room Tip: We liked the third floor room on the West side with a small balcony. We had two pretty sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kappelmanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Lodge, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We just stayed the weekend at The Cody for Wild West Days.....an exceptional hotel if you are looking to be pampered with old west luxury. The room decor in the King jacuzzi suites is very high end, from the artwork to the plush bathrobes. The hotel is clean, the reception staff is very accommodating and friendly, and the breakfast bar offers something for everyone. This hotel is great for relaxing, with comfortable, beautiful lobby and pool areas. We look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethtravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Can't say enough about this hotel. The staff was so welcoming and accommodating. From the beautiful decor to the piano music playing in the lobby to the fire pit burning outside - it was a very pleasant place to spend the night. The owner of the hotel even drove me to the airport at 5:15 AM for an early flight out. The only not so pleasant part was that the water in the pool was a little cool for my grandsons to spend much time swimming. After ten minutes they were shivering. The rooms were as good as any spas that I visited. I know I'll be staying there in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#11 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
2.2 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Property: The Cody Hotel
Address: 232 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#5 Family Hotel in Cody
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel
The Cody Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing