We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cody Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights in June. It is a very beautiful hotel. It is clean and the location is nice. You are within walking distance to Old Town Trail, the Cody Cattle Company, and the rodeo grounds. Very yummy cookies are put out around 4:00 each day. We didn't use the pool or workout room, but they looked nice. We did use the laundry room and there were no problems there. At night you can ask at the front desk for a s'more kit. We did that one night and had the fire pit to ourselves to make s'mores. The front desk was very nice and helpful. Our only complaint would probably be the breakfast. We specifically chose a hotel with a breakfast so that we could get out quickly in the morning without having to stop somewhere. It was just ok. The make your own waffles were good, and anything you could toast on your own was fine, but we didn't find the rest of the hot items or the baked goods very appetizing. We had recently stayed at another hotel with an excellent free breakfast, so we couldn't help but compare.
We did love the Cody and would recommend it and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view of the rodeo grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfamily4Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CelesW, Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to comment on your stay at our hotel. The feedback helps us to find areas that we can do better in. Our location is great considering we are next to the Old Trail Town, and the Cody Cattle Company is across the street which offers a great show and a reasonably priced. all you can eat meal to go along with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    210
    64
    20
    7
See reviews for
313
422
27
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel beds very comfortable pool indoor and very nice.
Good location on edge of town. Warm cookies in lob.by. Nice quite location great employees make you feel important and a fireplace

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobRisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Wow. After a long drive, we arrived at this beautiful hotel and noticed the roaring fire pit in the beautiful garden near the front of the hotel. When we walked in, there was a plate of cookies in the lobby. Of course we each had one, and they were delicious. The clerk explained s'more kits were available to purchase if we were interested. After checking in, we were lucky enough to meet up with one of the employees that explained that the wood from the hotel came from the original Old Faithful Inn. The decor in the common areas is just beautiful- elegant with some "old west" motif. Our room was very comfortable, and we appreciated the Neutrogena brand bath products since we had by that time run out of our own. The breakfast the next day was good- eggs, sausage, biscuits along with cereal, juice, etc. The employees were unbelievably friendly and were ready to offer suggestions on places to visit in the area. The Rodeo is across the street but we were unable to visit it. We did visit the 24 pool, hot tub, and sauna and they were all nicely maintained.

Unfortunately I do have a serious "con": our sofa bed sheets were dirty and full of popcorn when we opened it. Ew. I asked for new bedding and changed the sofa bed myself.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1travelerof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tn
Level Contributor
206 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Cody is a great choice for a place to stay in Cody. Our room was good sized and well furnished. The common areas are in good shape. They have free wifi and breakfast. The hotel is located on the west side of town almost to the rodeo grounds. For anything other than the rodeo you need a car. I wish every hotel at which we've stayed over the years was as nice as the Cody.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel, and the staff was very nice and easy to work with. Check in was quick and easy, but getting the luggage cart to the room is a bit of a trick with the ramps in the hallways. I wish we had been able to stay more than just overnight so we could enjoy some of the amenities on the property, but it was a bit pricy for a place to sleep.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed two nights at The Cody and if we are ever in Cody, Wyoming again, we would stay again. The room was clean, quiet and just very nice. The front desk was extremely helpful (offering suggestions for dinner, etc.) and the breakfast each morning was great. Great hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COTravelGal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was a very, very nice hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful! Throughout the lobby there were multiple sitting areas with music playing on a player piano (baby grand). There was a fire pit with a seating area outside the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_DuoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CelesW, General Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you! So glad you got to enjoy the Lobby & our wonderful piano. Thanks for taking time to review our hotel. We hope to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.6 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#11 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
2.1 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Property: The Cody Hotel
Address: 232 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#5 Family Hotel in Cody
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel
The Cody Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing