We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, clean and friendly.”
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cody Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Cody hotel sits just outside of town and so provides peace and quite from what can be quite a noisy and very touristy down town, but when ever you need to go there or indeed come back, you have the wonderful Kenny in the shuttle bus. The hotel provides warm and very comfortable rooms and beds, with clean and more than adequate bathrooms ( although I will never get the sink in the room bit ). Reception is quick and easy and if your lucky enough to come across Travis there you will find another member of staff who cant do enough to help and does it all with a smile. Breakfast room is a little on the small side but I believe plans are in place to amend that. My only wish is that there was a bar area for people to gather in the evenings and share their stories.

Room Tip: Although there is a perfectly good breakfast supplied it wont be large, if you feel you want somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cityaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just returned from 15 day/14 night tour to The Badlands, The Crazy Horse Memorial, The Corn Palace, The Cody Rodeo, The Cody Shootout and on to Yellowstone for 4 days and 3 nights. The Cody Hotel had excellent rooms (extremely quiet), high quality bedding, shampoo and soaps and good thick towels. It had an indoor pool but we did not use it. A couple of nice extras are freshly baked (still warm) chocolate chip cookies when you arrive and Smore ingredients for their fire pit at night. They have free shuttle to anywhere in town which we used for dinner one night. Great driver, Kenny, an encyclopedia of facts about Cody and surrounding area. Extremely friendly, helpful and generous staff. Anything we requested was provided in abundance. We were traveling with a group of 35, yet when we arrived check-in and keys provided (and did I mention the warm chocolate chip cookies) almost instantaneously. Best, most professional service we encountered on our trip. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. The Cody will certainly be on our agenda if we ever travel to the Cody area again whether with the Tennessee Travelers or alone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Volcano01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CelesW, General Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for the kind comments on your stay at The Cody. We pride ourselves on having a professional staff as well as having quality amenities for our guests. We really appreciate your review as it lets us know if there is anything that we can be doing better. Be sure to come back some time for some more warm cookies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We arrived really late in Cody and did not rent a car because we were picked up the next day.
Kenny who works at the Cody Hotel picked us up and took us round trip to dinner, a pharmacy and to a liquor store. All without asking for a dime.
We think this is worth mentioning
Also the front staff was very friendly and always helpful

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CelesW, General Manager at The Cody Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our efforts in customer service here at The Cody! Our shuttle is very popular with the guests and gets used quite a bit in the summer months. It is available from the wee hours of the morning usually all the way until midnight. We will take you anywhere and pick you up from any place in town. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We made Cody our pitstop before heading into yellowstone and wanted to attend the rodeo.
This was the perfect location, we were able to walk across the street and didn't have to worry about moving the car and parking.

The hotel was great. Rooms were very spacious and clean.
Free breakfast in the morning was plentiful and makes it worth paying a little more for the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Three of us shared a "cozy" (i.e., small) ground floor room for one night. No closet, no safe. Booked by phone since the web site was malfunctioning. HVAC cycled noisily, so we turned it off, and the room became stuffy. Noise from above started before 6am. Breakfast (included) was better than many found at chain hotels. Staff were pleasant but not particularly helpful. Surprised to find a small "resort fee" tacked on the bill at check-out. Overall, meh.

Room Tip: Possibly higher floor and away from the parking lot/road would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1-worldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I spent 2 nights at the Cody, June 21 & 22. I was impressed as soon as I stepped in the door. The furnishings are welcoming and the front desk staff (Travis and another young man) were very pleasant. The rooms were clean, cozy and again well appointed. Location is convenient to rodeo. Although located away from the downtown area, Kenny the shuttle driver is available to take you where ever you need to go if you don't want to drive. He took another member of my group to dinner and then stopped at Walmart on the way back to the hotel. All with a gracious smile and cheerful demeanor. After the rodeo, Kenny was right there at the gate to bring us home so we didn't have to walk back to the hotel in the dark and amidst all the rodeo traffic. There is not a restaurant in the hotel so you do have to go out at night to eat. The expanded continental breakfast in the morning is standard fare. The staff really is outstanding and is to be commended on their level of service and friendly attitudes.

Room Tip: For a quiet night, ask for a room on the other side away from rodeo grounds. View isn't so great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Sometimes I'm leary of booking hotels that aren't well known, chain types, but no need to be on this one, it was wonderful. The rooms were clean & cozy & the beds & pillows were comfortable. The lobby is very warm & welcoming when you arrive & offers really good cookies. It also has a nice pool & exercise room. We stayed 2 nights & my only complaint was that during breakfast both mornings the kitchen staff didn't keep up w/the demand very well. Day 1 they were out of biscuits & several people were waiting on them. 20 minutes later, when we were getting ready to leave they brought more out. Day 2 they ran out of sausage & possibly gravy. I just remember they're being some unhappy people. Also, I'm not sure why the hotels in this area are so expensive, but they are. This one was probably average for the area on cost.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rannydef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
1.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#11 of 29 in Cody
354 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
357 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Address: 232 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#4 Family Hotel in Cody
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range: £95 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel
The Cody Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing