We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but.......”
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cody Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Okay, but.......”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Our stay for two nights at the Cody were okay, nothing to write home about. We found the showers to be inadequate for a "luxury hotel". They should put at least one shelf in the shower room to hold those items one uses after showering. The lobby is beautiful and inviting, but the temperature was kept so cold, that one needed a jacket to enjoy sitting there. Nothing special about the breakfast (we had pretty much the same breakfast in all the places (six) we stayed at on this trip. One minus for the Cody was the smell surrounding the hotel. While we are aware that being so close to Yellowstone, there are the springs which emit the strong sulfur smell, we didn't notice it just a few blocks closer into town. We couldn't enjoy our coffee on the veranda attached to the room because of it. We were rarely (once) greeted when reentering the hotel and only once did anyone wish us a good evening on our way out. Would choose a different hotel were we to go to Cody again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crossword fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    220
    64
    21
    7
See reviews for
332
440
29
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at The Cody. We did laundry...checked our internet in the business center, enjoyed the pool, ate fresh, hot cookies at 5:30...The shampoo, concitioner and body wash were great. Breakfast was better than most, though not made to order. The other visitors were relaxed and vacation oriented. Just don't make the mistake we did...we walked over to the Rodeo across the street...only to have to dart across the street in crazy traffic in the dark. Drive, even though it seems silly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishIwerent_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

This place was a gem. It was luxurious, clean, comfortable, and great value. The breakfast and free wireless were bonuses.

The only drawback was that they had no availability for an additional night!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjgasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, VA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

This is a beautiful 3 year old hotel built with lavish yet western style. The lobby is well appointed with comfortable sofas, lush rugs, a grand piano, lots of wood trim and fancy western style mirrors. The fireplace near the computers in the lobby made the area so cozy! They have a great indoor pool, whirlpool and work out room also. Our room was very comfortable with fancy linens, snuggly, thick robes and plush towels. I requested in advance by email non-feather pillows due to my allergies and they were on my bed when I got there! However, our curtains would not close and there was a parking lot light shining directly into our window that lit up our room! My husband had to pin a blanket up at the window so we could sleep! One disappointment was the complimentary breakfast. We stayed 6 days and the breakfast was the same for 6 days except they changed the dry cereal and fruit on a couple of days. But the rubbery egg "omelet" and sausage links were served every day we were there. By the third day, we had to go out to get something different. We ran out of tissues so I put the empty box on the sink counter but it sat there for 2 days and wasn't replaced. I finally had to ask housekeeping myself if I could get a new box of tissues! I don't think that should have happened either. Other than those things, we were happy with our stay and would stay again. We didn't see any other hotel in Cody that we would consider staying in. This is the newest and best from what we could see!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovebeingnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Close to the rodeo. Rooms are great but hotel is nothing special. Well located if you are coming or going to the East entrance of Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrganicModern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

This hotel was an incredible find, brand new with excellent staff. We were very kindly upgraded to a suite which took our breath away - it was very cowboy with a corner spa bath as well as a wonderful en suite. The large balcony overlooked the rodeo. The only downside of this hotel was its location, slightly out of town.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed at The Cody while visiting Yellowstone... After reading all the positive reviews, I knew this was the place for us...and we were not disappointed! The hotel is beautiful and the staff was very friendly. Our room was very nice and the beds were comfy! The free breakfast was also very nice...sausage, fresh fruit, pasties, french toast, etc...We would definitely stay at The Cody again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralILFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.7 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#11 of 29 in Cody
372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Property: The Cody Hotel
Address: 232 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#5 Family Hotel in Cody
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel
The Cody Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing