We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cody Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

we have just completed a two week vacation to the yellowstone area and the cody was the best place that we stayed. Hotel decor very nice in a luxury western style - we had a great suite which comprised two rooms - one for my wife and i and one for the kids - perfect.

Huge comfortable king sized bed for us which was great and the kids had two doubles. Lots of space in both rooms.

We usually eat out for breakfast but liked the food in the hotel.

The staff couldnt be faulted for their service and were really helpful at all times.

the hotel is well located just as you approach town from yellowstone and its virtually opposite the rodeo grounds where my daughter competed which was a thrill.

couldnt smell any sulphur at all but you can sometimes as you drive out of town.

we loved Cody the town and we loved 'The Cody'

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britabroad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    210
    64
    20
    7
See reviews for
313
422
27
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Just travelled from Indiana to California, and this was the nicest place at which we stayed. Wonderful breakfast every morning. Excellent staff. Nice pool and fitness area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dvo-IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
accountant_guy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

This place was really a great find. I try to stay in Marriott's whenever possible, however there is not one in Cody. I came on here and began looking for a nice hotel for a decent price, and I must say I was thrilled with what I got. I would call the decor "Wild West Luxury". They did a great job incorporating the spirit and feel of the area into the general hotel design. Our room was immaculate, and the service was very attentive. As a bonus, the breakfast was great as well. I generally like to "shop around" when I re-visit places so that I can have different experiences. In this case, I don't see how a hotel in Cody could get much better for the price. I would certainly stay again and not just recommend, but urge other travelers to try it out.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank accountant_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Our stay for two nights at the Cody were okay, nothing to write home about. We found the showers to be inadequate for a "luxury hotel". They should put at least one shelf in the shower room to hold those items one uses after showering. The lobby is beautiful and inviting, but the temperature was kept so cold, that one needed a jacket to enjoy sitting there. Nothing special about the breakfast (we had pretty much the same breakfast in all the places (six) we stayed at on this trip. One minus for the Cody was the smell surrounding the hotel. While we are aware that being so close to Yellowstone, there are the springs which emit the strong sulfur smell, we didn't notice it just a few blocks closer into town. We couldn't enjoy our coffee on the veranda attached to the room because of it. We were rarely (once) greeted when reentering the hotel and only once did anyone wish us a good evening on our way out. Would choose a different hotel were we to go to Cody again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crossword fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at The Cody. We did laundry...checked our internet in the business center, enjoyed the pool, ate fresh, hot cookies at 5:30...The shampoo, concitioner and body wash were great. Breakfast was better than most, though not made to order. The other visitors were relaxed and vacation oriented. Just don't make the mistake we did...we walked over to the Rodeo across the street...only to have to dart across the street in crazy traffic in the dark. Drive, even though it seems silly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishIwerent_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

This place was a gem. It was luxurious, clean, comfortable, and great value. The breakfast and free wireless were bonuses.

The only drawback was that they had no availability for an additional night!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjgasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

This is a beautiful 3 year old hotel built with lavish yet western style. The lobby is well appointed with comfortable sofas, lush rugs, a grand piano, lots of wood trim and fancy western style mirrors. The fireplace near the computers in the lobby made the area so cozy! They have a great indoor pool, whirlpool and work out room also. Our room was very comfortable with fancy linens, snuggly, thick robes and plush towels. I requested in advance by email non-feather pillows due to my allergies and they were on my bed when I got there! However, our curtains would not close and there was a parking lot light shining directly into our window that lit up our room! My husband had to pin a blanket up at the window so we could sleep! One disappointment was the complimentary breakfast. We stayed 6 days and the breakfast was the same for 6 days except they changed the dry cereal and fruit on a couple of days. But the rubbery egg "omelet" and sausage links were served every day we were there. By the third day, we had to go out to get something different. We ran out of tissues so I put the empty box on the sink counter but it sat there for 2 days and wasn't replaced. I finally had to ask housekeeping myself if I could get a new box of tissues! I don't think that should have happened either. Other than those things, we were happy with our stay and would stay again. We didn't see any other hotel in Cody that we would consider staying in. This is the newest and best from what we could see!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovebeingnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.6 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#11 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
2.1 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Property: The Cody Hotel
Address: 232 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#5 Family Hotel in Cody
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel
The Cody Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing