We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cody Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cody Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

Probably the best hotel on our road trip. We took the advice from the hotel and booked two rooms - at the end of a corridor with a door which closed to give private access between the rooms. We enjoyed two nights of space and not queueing for the bathroom.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms and public areas were attractive and well looked after. The breakfast was good but the room was a bit dark - why did we not think to take breakfast up to our balcony.

The hotel is some distance from the town but you can walk to the rodeo (and listen to it from your balcony) and the Old Trail Town - worth a visit. The pool was nice and open 24 hours - we always seem to want to swim when the pool is shut!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SleepingElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    210
    64
    20
    7
See reviews for
313
422
27
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

We stayed at the Cody Hotel last night. We had the king deluxe with a balcony overlooking the mountains. We saw a beautiful sunset and then in the morning had coffee on our balcony. The rooms are very, very nice and spotlessly clean. The lobby is pure luxury with very friendly people working there.. Our breakfast was delicous and everything was very fresh and delicious... No complaints at this place . This was our 3rd night of a 16 night vacation. It was perfect...

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ALAINA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

While on a 10 day road trip The Cody was a very pleasant surprise among some other more average lodgings. Michelle at the front desk was awesome in helping us when asked about dinner, she recommended a fantastic restaurant and even called to make reservations for us! Our room was the perfect size for two adults and the bed was amazing, the very best sleep we had in days!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenJoyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

Our room was beautiful. Breakfast very good...Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cody WY was a pleasant suprise. We could have stayed longer. Buffalo Bill museum very interesting....5 in 1...lost my husband in the Winchester museum, kids loved the natural history and indian.....We all loved the art. To top it off we returned to our beautiful hotel room....The Cody.....Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notofthisworld61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed at The Cody for three nights on our trip to Yellowstone. The hotel seems new and is very well maintained. The beds had nice linens and were very comfortable. The breakfast was okay, fairly standard. There is a workout room, pool and spa. Our room was not that large for two adults and two teenagers, but the truth is we weren't in it that much. There is alot to do around Cody and it makes a nice home base to visit Yellowstone. Do not miss the Buffalo Bill Cody museum. It is an amazing museum for a town the size of Cody. We only spent 4 or 5 hours there and did not see the whole thing. The Nite Rodeo is across from the hotel and is a must see also.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

The kids loved the pool and spa area (they have a hot tub and a sauna).
The rooms are nice but a little on the smallish side (we had a queen suite).
There are chocolate chip cookies in the lobby.
Breakfast is pretty standard with the nice addition of fruit salad.
This hotel is very close to the rodeo grounds and fairly close to the Buffalo Bill Musuem.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tellusol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novato, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

i'm guessing that this is the best hotel in cody. i thought it was quite good and the breakfast was reasonably good as well with a nice fresh fruit salad. it is fairly new and has good sized rooms. it reminded me of some of the business type hotels that i have stayed at in the SF bay area like larkspur landing or pruneyard plaza which are part of the larkspur hotels group in CA. the front desk was helpful and professional but it's a pity they don't have a good restaurant on premises. the restaurant pickings are so slim in cody that a high end restaurant in the hotel would be a great addition.

one negative: the family in the room next to us had kids who decided they needed to go in and out of the room 15 times at 7 am in the morning and the doors are heavy and noisy (they slam shut at the last instant). not sure what can be done about this but next time i would ask for an end of hallway room rather than one near the elevators. the rooms were generally quiet but the a/c is a bit noisy and difficult to sleep with while on.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wellingtontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.6 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#11 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
2.1 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cody Hotel

Property: The Cody Hotel
Address: 232 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cody
#5 Family Hotel in Cody
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cody Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cody is the only hotel providing guests in Yellowstone Country with luxury western hospitality. We are conveniently located just 50 miles from the East Entrance to Yellowstone National Park and close to the famous Cody Night Rodeo and Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Plan to spend several days in Cody because there is so much to do including river rafting, horseback riding, wildlife viewing, scenic drives, fly fishing and more. Call us for additional information and expert assistance with completing your vacation plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cody Hotel Cody
The Hotel Cody
Cody The Hotel
The Cody Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing