We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil solitude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tranquil solitude”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We wanted to see Yellowstone Park and Cody but were disappointed to see the highly inflated prices that even chain motels were charging. We came across Red Pole Ranch on a booking site and the reviews were stunning. We can only echo what others have to say about it. The welcome is as if you were long lost friends popping in for a coffee. The cabins themselves are fitted out up to the highest standard and so comfortable getting out of bed in the morning is hard. At night the sky can be so clear you can see literally millions of stars. The owners of the ranch have taken that into account and fitted red low power light bulbs outside so as to reduce light pollution, simple and very thoughtful.
Cody is just 10 miles in one direction were they have loads of eateries, and about 3 miles in the other direction is an equally as good restaurant attached to an RV park.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisx2Leeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    28
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
61
65
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Absolutely the best place to stay -- reasonably priced - fantastic location -- my pre-teen daughter loved the horses and my husband loved the convenient fishing locations. We took Patty's recommendation for horse-back riding and had a wonderful time. Would not hesitate to recommend Red Pole to anyone and would love to stay there again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vedano al Lambro, Italy
Level Contributor
409 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the ranch with my family last summer on our way from Wyoming to Yellowstone and we were definitely satisfied with our choice.
The place is aorund 5 miles west of Cody, on the road to Yellowstone, immersed in a wonderful nature where you can experience awesome night skyes full of stars.
The cabins are nice, well equipped with fridge and a water heater.
There is also a nice garden outside with some games for the children.
A great location for a very affordable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrado R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Patty Jo made my stay feel I was coming home. The cabins are the cleanest and most charming places I have ever stayed. A true five star experience with an at home feel. The grounds are beautiful, and the scenery is amazing. It is just outside of Yellowstone and would be an amazing place to make home base while exploring the park.

Miss Patty was an amazing host, not just a check in attendant. I only hope that when I have kids, and we take a trip out West the Red Pole Ranch will still be around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have to say, that I have not been to the Red Pole Ranch yet. But, I just got off of the phone with Patty Jo, owner, and she was so sweet. I made the reservation from Charlotte for my husband and son as they are making their way to Yellowstone. She suggested a room with kitchenette since my guys have been on the road for 4 days. I will come back and give a thorough review after the guys arrive. So nice to talk to a real person that owns the place you are giving your business to. :) Ok, so my guys arrived at Red Pole. They said everything is awesome! Clean, nice and the view is amazing. The owner has been there since the 70s and knows all about what to do and where to go. So, we give The Red Pole Ranch a super excellent review!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonjovified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

And the beautiful scenery! This is a great place. Spent 2 nights there and would return if ever in the area again. Didn't expect, but got maid (for wont of a better term) service dring the day. Cabin had a little fridge, roaster and microwave and coffee maker with 2 packets of coffee. Very comfy beds and pillows... good linens. A short and beautiful drive to town for the hustle and bustle. Priced right for what we got.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed 6 days and drove to Yellowstone and back each time. It is also convenient to Cody and shops and events there. It is very clean and well kept. If you want quiet, calm, rest, and reflexion between your visits to the park--This is it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
13.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
13.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
11.8 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#10 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
12.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
11.9 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel

Property: Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel
Address: 574 Stagecoach Trl, Yellowstone Park Highway, Cody, WY 82414-7897
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cody
#10 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the East Yellowstone Valley between Cody Wyoming and Yellowstone National Park. We specialize in overnight stays with special longer stay rates, Weddings, Family Reunions, and Memorial Services. Lofty snow-capped peaks are visible across the valley from the Ranch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schmalz`s Red Pole Ranch Hotel Cody
Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch And Motel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing