We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cody Legacy Inn(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Inn Cody Hotel(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cody Cowboy Village(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Bear Motel(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Valley Inn(Wapiti)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
106
28
6
4
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
28
6
4
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspatty joplace to staybuffalo billnext morningmilescabinranchyellowstoneparkmotelfridgedamrodeofishing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Clean
Quiet
Accomodating
Affordable
Comfortable
Well kept

Ran out of superlatives.

Just returned to earth after visiting the area, and staying at the Red Pole Ranch(Sept 3 thru 8). Ideally located for access to Yellowstone, Cody, and area: served our needs perfectly. IF you get "Parked Out", try the Chief Joseph/Bear Tooth circuit, as suggested by Don.

Several restaurants nearby, on Hwy 14. Keep your eyes open; no neon lights to advertise their presence(try a buffalo burger, it's good for what ails you!).

WIFI available, but didn't use. In such a historic, scenic, awe inspiring area why waste time honing computer skills? Take a hot shower, sleep well in a very comfortable bed, get going in the morning, and see as much as you can.

Thanks to everybody associated with our stay.

WILL return soon!!

Nancy & John L

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here and wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. The setting is absolutely gorgeous and we used the place as a base to stay while we explored Yellowstone. The rooms were excellent value and spotless. The place was just charming and all the people very friendly. If you want to go somewhere to relax and enjoy nature then look no further. The wifi worked great. Staying here was a wonderful experience for me and my family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My partner and I were utterly delighted and totally surprised to happen upon this spot. Don't be put off by the words "motel" or "cabin", even if you have plenty of money to spend. It is more like a boutique hotel or b&b with a cabin format. Our cabin for two people was as spotless as a room in a 5 star hotel, decorated uniquely and with local character, totally clean and new bathroom, fabulous staff, and an superb view and environment. It would be crazy to stay inside of the town of Cody when you could wake up here and enjoy the mountains. Top value experience I have ever seen, and a terrific way to start or end a trip to yellowstone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 936LLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is our third stay at the Red Pole Ranch. My wife and I come here to enjoy the community of wonderfully friendly, salt of the earth people; the abundance of God's creation and the mysteries of Yellowstone and surrounding mountains. Mind you, we live on a ranch in Texas and have a ranch in Colorado and still find this place special. We have traveled the world and stayed in many 5 star hotels. None beat the service, attentiveness or comfort provided by the Schmalz's. If you have a few hours, but you'd need weeks, ask Don (the proprietor PattyJo's husband) to tell you some history of Cody and surrounds. He has seen and done it all, from guiding celebrities on horseback to building fence for near half a century. This is a trip for families, groups of friends or like us - couples who want some time to recharge, let loose, have fun, Praise God and appreciate the wonders of Wyoming and the gift of each other.

Room Tip: They are all good. Furtherest from the office give you the best views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The ranch is next to Buffalo Bill State Park, a quite place and the view is beautiful. We booked two rooms under one cabin. Room is OK, but bed is not confortable. Bathroom is small, but clean. Just like any average motel room, not fancy. No wi-fi in the room.
The ranch itself is not so good setting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews