We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recomend calling with questions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Red Lodge, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would not recomend calling with questions”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We are unable to rate the property, just our experience when we called wanting more information and wanting to book a room.

The woman who picked up said she was the owner, was very short and ill tempered with me. I tried to be polite and ask my question about the rooms, but was interrupted by her outburst about a travel agent that had called earlier with the same question (yes, that was our agent, but she hadn't answered his question and hung up on him, so I was forced to call myself), in the end I just tried to be extra polite but the level of rudeness was unbelievable, and our called ended with her barking the answer then hanging up on me. Maybe she was having a bad day?

It's a shame, because the location seems like a super place, but I could never go there and meet the person who displays that nasty attitude at her work place.

Basically- 1 star for making the place un-bookable due to bad attitude.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GG_gemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schmalzie, Owner at Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I am not sure just WHO this person was calling, or WHO she ended up on the phone with, but it sure wasn't anyone around our ranch! We have yet to find ANYONE who had that kind of answer from an "owner" at our place!? If this person was INSISTENT that she be allowed to bring a Pet along-well, I could see Patty Jo telling her no in no uncertain terms-because of a few bad experiences with guests and their pets in the past (that's why we don't allow them anymore), but she sure wouldn't Yell at her or hang up angrily! Patty is a very caring and sensitive person (she has a disability, but doesn't let it slow her down at all), and takes the best care of all of our guests! I can't believe that we received a Single Star from someone who never even Stayed Here!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    28
    6
    4
    13
See reviews for
69
65
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have been on the road for about 12 days. This was one of our favorite overnight stops. We had been touring The Grand Tetons and Yellowstone and then drove down to Cody. The cabins were nicely done and the beds are wonderful!!! We opened our windows during the night and the room felt wonderful! The shower is great and the hot water is good. There is internet access, a fridge, microwave, and toaster. Very well supplied! You park right at your room and checking in is very easy and quick. We were only about 10 miles outside of Cody so it was very convenient but away from all the "noise" of Cody.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeAnne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
old river ,texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

my family and I have been staying at the red pole ranch every summer for years, Don and Patty jo the owners are two of the finest people you will ever meet. they go above and beyond to make your stay the most comfortable and memorable and are at your beck and call 24/7. we had some friends with us one year and their water pump on their truck busted and Patty Jo made 1 phone call to Cody and told us where the mechanic shop was and when we got there it was jammed packed full of vehicles to be worked on and they took us right in and made my friends vehicle priority and it was fixed and back on the road within a hour and a half. you just cant beat that kind of service. Patty Jo and Don know everyone up there and they have great friends that can help you in just about any emergency that might pop up. their place has million dollar views and very quiet ,great staff and they can set you up with any activity that you and your family wants to do.we have always been treated like family there and I read some of the negative stories that some people write in on them and im here to tell you that its not true. I have seen these folks bend over backwards for their customers and do thing for people that I have never seen owners even think about doing for anyone. I recommend the red pole ranch to anyone who wants to get their peace of mind back and relax in a great atmosphere surrounded by great views and great people

Room Tip: all of their rooms are fit for a king in comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wapitiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Red Pole Ranch is in a nice location on the road to Yellowstone, but it is not a ranch. It is a motel consisting of a few cottages behind a public park. The entrance is a typical Western ranch gate, but the only “cattle” we saw were a few deer that came to graze on their lawn. There were no horses, and no mules.

Service was ok, and Mrs. Schmalz was accommodating. We bought two chairs so we could sit by the window and admire the scenery.

There was no heat in the bathroom. We were supposed to have a full kitchen, but found built-in hot plates, and a second small refrigerator that leaked. The heat consisted of covered heat coils that got so dangerously hot that we had to turn them off at night. It didn’t matter.

A promised follow-up package was never sent, and a very racist, and nasty letter from Mr. Schmalz will keep us to ever go near the place again.

New guests need to know that Mr. Schmalz, whom we have never met, does not tolerate negative reviews. He turns nasty, see responses to other one-star reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dagpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schmalzie, Owner at Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
This person is bound and determined to destroy us! She stayed here nearly a year ago, after which she bragged about what a wonderful time she had here, how she was coming back, and just couldn't say enough about the accomodations and her "wonderful stay"!! During the winter, she asked us to send her "Wild Game Meat"! We instantly told her that that was against the law, and refused to ship it to her! She is since trying to destroy us! THIS review is not the first! The good folks at Trip Advisor took her review off here about two months ago, and she posted it again! We did nothing to this person and whatever she is writing about has nothing to do with the quality of her stay! We have a BEAUTIFUL place, 18 head of horses and mules (two new stud colts that we let onto the big lawn with their momma's each night for the enjoyment of the guests as they frolic and play)! There is 3500 acres on this ranch, but most years we can't run as many stock as we used to. After working as a "High Country Guide and Outfitter" for most of my life (we used to run 60-70 head on this ranch, plus yearlings on top of the mountain), I am slowing down and content to just "watch our colts grow" and build a few Ranchgates! I do hope our guests will read the content of our guests' Reviews and see how many PERFECTS we received! My wife has a Prosthetic Leg, and makes hundreds of miles each year-between the house and these cabins-making sure that our guests get the BEST we have to offer! I am very proud of her for it! Please post our response Trip Advisor Personell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the Red Pole Ranch for five days in September, 2013. It was completely quiet - the only sound was the elk bugling and clumping around at night! My wife heard them right outside the cabin! Early one morning we saw a herd of antelope running a few hundred yards away in the park. The cabin was perfectly maintained and squeaky clean, and the grounds were a great place to relax and enjoy the sunset. The location is a few minutes outside of town but it's worth the drive to get to all that peace, quiet, and beautiful scenery, and the hosts are really good people. You can pay more for a place to stay in Cody, but you won't find a better one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Headed west, booked the unknown and stepped into paradise. Somewhat out of the way but well worth the extra drive. Scenery was stunningly beautiful to enjoy for the time I was there. A heaven full of stars greeted me every night. WOWSER'S. I arrived very late but the ol' note on the door of the main house said it all. Even a "welcome" note greeted me on the door to my cabin. Kind of made you feel like you made the right choice in staying. Room was BIG with all the right amenities inside. Next morning saw Elk, Antelope all around the area. Sometimes if you do go out of the way the joyous surprises that come along a blissfully welcome. Do go and stay at the Red Pole Ranch.
You will be glad you did!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travln4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

the scenic drive from Yellowstone through Wapiti to Cody is one of the most scenic in the United Sates.

However, Wyoming is expensive for families especially. Accommodations and food are high priced and you never really know whether or not everything man made will meet your expectations. For example in Jackson Hole at an upscale restaurant the menu said "foie gras". Whoopie. How I love foie gras. I'm thinking of the last sublime time at Gresham Palace, four Seasons, Budapest. It was an appetizer, a tease, and not expensive.

In Jackson Hole foie gras means mousse pate :D. I'm not saying I didn't enjoy it. I did but that small slice with a couple slices of baguette and an entree were $55+. The Chinese Restaurant across from the visitor's center in Cody has a fantastic buffet starting around $9 at lunch time. You can enjoy listening to Vadim Sakharov while eating. The place draws a professorial crowd because price and music. (The funny part is the waiter thought that was Chinese music; must have grown up with it) the owner is Chinese and has been in Wyoming for 18 years.

Naturally, I now wondered what my accommodations in Wapiti would be.

I needn't have worried.it was everything as pictured and more...
My cabin was #6 complete with a teddy bear smiling from the bed. But more than that it had everything...magnificent scenery, a frig, toaster, cutting board, a zillion channel TV, and all the little amenities one gets at an upscale city hotel, lotion, shampoo, conditioner, coffee etc. and Wifi. The owners (Schmalz) and cleaning staff were more than helpful.

You can go to the grocery in Cody and buy everything for a picnic, breakfast, or supper. Don't bother shopping the liquor stores. the pricing's all the same.

Just head out for the day to the most glorious national parks. If you're a US senior citizen buy the pass for $10 at your local national park and you're into any national park for free for the rest of your life! I was so surprised.

You will see bear, elk, moose, wild turkey and buffalo, right up close and personal.
Any questions...ask The Red Pole Ranch and enjoy.

Room Tip: #6 sleeps 3...god for couple with child
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whatabout45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
12.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
14.3 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
14.3 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#11 of 29 in Cody
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Kings Inn Cody Hotel
Kings Inn Cody Hotel
#16 of 29 in Cody
187 reviews
3.7 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Inn
5.0 mi away
Wapiti Lodge
Wapiti Lodge
#1 of 3 in Wapiti
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel

Property: Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch and Motel
Address: 574 Stagecoach Trl, Yellowstone Park Highway, Cody, WY 82414-7897
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cody
#10 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the East Yellowstone Valley between Cody Wyoming and Yellowstone National Park. We specialize in overnight stays with special longer stay rates, Weddings, Family Reunions, and Memorial Services. Lofty snow-capped peaks are visible across the valley from the Ranch! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Schmalz`s Red Pole Ranch Hotel Cody
Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch And Motel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing