We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Irma Hotel is a great, historic place to stay. Makes one wonder how the west was back in the day. Staff in the hotel and restaurant are fantastic. Would be a great place for winter travel as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessScribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    175
    97
    43
    25
See reviews for
137
197
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, LA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took our 3 kids here for a night. We stayed in a historical room. This was an exciting experience for us and provided a fun opportunity to have a little history lesson for our kids and us grown ups too! We even enjoyed the squeaky floors. If you love all things old American west then stay at the Irma!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pineappleexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Cody is a great town and the Irma is a fun place to stay. We chose a non historic room but it was decorated historically. It was extremely clean and spacious. Our room was right on main street and we could park right outside our window. There was no noise at night. Bed was comfortable. Be sure to eat at the Irma as it was delicious.

Room Tip: They have historic and non-historic rooms. Historic are a little more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent two nights at Irma's ... It's been a great experience!
The room was spacious, comfy and really old style. Everything happens around Irma ... The gun fighters, the city Trolly, the shops! It's really the place where you want to be.
The staff was great and really helpful.
I had asked for a birthday cake for my step son and the made it perfectly!
The restaurant is not the best ever, but it's still very good!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricca72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie R, Director of Sales at Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thanks so much for your review. Glad you enjoyed the cake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

It's one of those places in which you just have to stay. This place has history. The room was excellent. The restaurant was good. You were made to feel welcome. We liked Cody. Yes it's for the tourists, but it's one of those places, it just has to be done. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Irma is not a cheap hotel and for the $175 we paid we didn't get anything but the room. However it was a beautiful room, with lots of period features and a really comfortable bed. Bathroom was black and white tiles with old claw foot bath and pull chain toilet. Was a real treat to have he experience of staying here in this historic building. Service was a little average, probably deliberately a bit wild west, but all seemed to fit. In house buffet dinner was fantastic, heaps of food and a good variety. Gun show before dinner was fun and the staff made a fuss of my friend as it was her birthday, good on you.

Room Tip: don't pick a room on the road frontage, there's a lot of night time activity and it may be h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

It is certainly worth going to check out this beautiful old hotel and have a drink on the verandah. We stopped for lunch and sat in the dining room at Irma's table right next to the window. The staff were very attentive but the food was nothing special - just your usual quick serve pub grub.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GulliverBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeline M, Sales/Events at Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thanks for your comments. We pride ourselves on the historic experience available here, and we strive for variety, quality and value in our menu. We hope you will give our food another try as you enjoy everything The Irma has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
2.0 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.9 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#10 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Property: Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave., Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing