We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Western History, Albeit with a Tourist Slant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Piece of Western History, Albeit with a Tourist Slant”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you want a bit of the wild, wild west, it's pretty cool to see the hotel. The rooms were roomy and clean. We chose a standard room rather than the historic ones. The bar in the dining room was amazing, and we saw a picture of Buffalo Bill standing in front of the hotel. They have a western shoot out in the evenings that the children would probably enjoy. If you've already stayed in some authentic ranches or lodges on your trip, I'd recommend this right in the middle of Cody.

Room Tip: The standard rooms were quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    188
    99
    45
    25
See reviews for
145
216
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coarsegold, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Cody is like a lot of "tourist towns", overpriced hotels and restaurants abound. You know that before you even go there. We wanted to maximize our "Cody Experience" so we opted to stay at the hotel built by "Buffalo Bill Cody". We were very pleased with our stay.

Pros:
1) We found the Irma to be price competitive while still providing the unique experience of staying in a historically significant hotel.

2) The hotel is located such that all downtown has to offer is within easy walking distance.

3) Our room was spacious, clean, and the bed comfortable.

Cons: We ordered from the menu, versus going for the Irma's "World Famous Buffet" so service in the restaurant was a bit slower than what would normally be acceptable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusk, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

May be a historic landmark but the food and service are terrible. There are plenty of other places in Cody with friendlier faster service better quality food and lodging and better prices. Walk on by enjoy the evening gunslinger play but dont bother going inside.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meesh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I don't think anybody would pretend to go here for the food. It's ok, very average, and a bit expensive for what you get and the quality. There are much better places in Cody if all you want to do is eat. As a tourist just passing through its the historic aspect of the place that's important. The bar presented by Queen Victoria to Buffalo Bill is still as original. There's also a separate bar with local characters in attendance always willing to talk to somebody with a different accent.
Had a great Friday night here with locals trying their Harleys for size. Food was just an add on.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnygardencity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I went for Sunday breakfast. We were seated quickly and then waited….and waited….and waited. Instead of continuing to wait for someone to stop by our table to take our order, we decided it would be faster to go with the buffet. BIG mistake! The hot food was lukewarm. The cold food was lukewarm. The butter wouldn’t melt on the pancakes and a knife had to be used to cut them. The bacon was steamed and limp. Usually most places can do the basics…eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, etc. but even the basics seemed to be beyond the Irma.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Perfect location to enjoy and experience Cody. Great food, bar and centrally located.

Also, rooms very reasonably priced.

This is a 110 year old Historic Hotel,therefore, appreciate it is not like a new modern hotel. Enjoy the past and have fun.

Room Tip: Perfect location to loop to Cooke City, Montana, Yellowstone Park and many other sites. Enjoy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiftyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I've been to this hotel many times over the past decade for dinner, & it is always such a wonderful feeling of nostalgia to walk the same halls that Buffalo Bill Cody did! The bar is gorgeous, & the booths are roomy & the dinner buffet is fairly simple but sumptuous. The bison on the buffet is not to be missed; it is always excellent! The service may be spotty & a bit slow for drinks from time to time, but the atmosphere is pure Cody, the Wild West tamed just a bit to allow for "civilized" dining & reminiscing about the glory days of the West, what one saw in Yellowstone National Park that day, or what exhibits one enjoyed at the Buffalo Bill Historical Center museum complex.

One of my favorite rooms in the entire hotel is the area where Buffalo Bill once held court, smoking cigars & telling true tall tales of his adventures; we've eaten Thanksgiving dinner here at least twice, & we loved it---so unique & so memorable. The shopping inside the hotel is excellent, too, for both men & women; we have bought many unique treasures there.

Linger at this gem of a hotel; even if you're just having dinner or drinks, savor the opportunity to close your eyes & imagine Buffalo Bill walking these halls :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#4 of 29 in Cody
1,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
0.4 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
0.6 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Property: Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing