We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, some annoying things...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great location, some annoying things...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I'm not a history buff, but the Irma is very cute. Our room was clean. Fantastic location for us tourists. They have awesome water pressure in the shower, and the wall AC & ceiling fan were more than adequate to keep our west-facing room cool in the summer. Problems: never could connect to wifi, and we had multiple devices, different brands, none could connect ever. The walls are paper-thin & you can hear your neighbors' conversations like they are in your room with you (running the AC & the TV drowned out some of that). There's not enough surface area in the bathroom or the room for placing your things. And the pipes I guess are old so when a neighbor took a shower the howling pipes woke us up early in the morning! We wondered what that horrible sound was for a bit and couldn't go back to sleep until that shower was turned off.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank StarbuckDifranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    175
    97
    43
    25
See reviews for
137
197
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had the lunch buffet. Lots of choice, hot and tasty. Also salad bar at extra cost. Best Macaroni Cheese I've ever had! The beef was great - pink and juicy, delicious gravy, too. Good, efficient service. Really enjoyed lunch. Have also eaten dinner there on a previous visit - very nice.
Lots of authentic artefacts, pictures and information. Gifts and souvenirs available too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauk City, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
150 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Welcome to the Irma Hotel, a charming, historic gem located within steps of downtown Cody, Wyoming. The rooms are beautiful, and I was truly hoping for a haunted room, without much success. We used one of their rooms for a group meeting, and the staff was more than attentive to our needs. You can request historic rooms if you wish. I believe this hotel is full often, so if you are thinking of staying here, make a reservation.
Check in to the hotel was a breeze (with real keys), and check out was just as easy.
The hotel has a restaurant and lounge onsite which we did not have time to patronize, but it smelled wonderful.
The Cody gunfighters perform outside on the street by the porch each evening at 6:00. Pull up a chair, and catch the entertainment.
One downfall is limited wifi to certain areas of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a historic room. Check out which rooms have best wifi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is time capsule that's interactive! The bar is one of the coolest I've ever seen! The food is great and the rooms are too! Cody is a true cowboy town and I will be back here often. Don't miss the gunfight on the side street! This is a great starting point for a Yellowstone excursion. I stayed here in July of 2009 but couldn't go back that far on this review.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room as far from the stairs as possible. It's an old building and the wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerNewYorker1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I am an extreme history buff and during my most recent western states vacation drove two hours out of my way to stay at The Irma Hotel. Entering Yellowstone's east entrance after a night at Buffalo Bill Cody's Irma Hotel was pretty cool. So many legends of the Old West have called this place home for a night or two and just being in it gave me goosebumps. Historically, one could not ask for more.

Unfortunately, it is a gigantic tourist trap. The service is the worst in Cody. The guy at the front desk was more arrogant than Buffalo Bill himself. The only difference is Buffalo Bill had talents, this cowboy not so much. Our waitress in the restaurant was just as unfriendly. I always tip more than I should and this was the one time during my entire vacation that I wish I didn't give anything. She honestly didn't deserve a penny.

I'm trying to think of something nice to say other than reflecting on the hotels history but I really cant think of anything. I guess I can see how it might be annoying to deal with tourists all day long but at the end of the day without those tourists, none of these people have jobs!! This simple fact seemed to get lost on the entire staff of The Irma. As a small business owner, I can say for sure that none of these people would ever work for me and that organizational "attitude" starts and ends at the top. Take that for what its worth I guess.

The crazy part is I would probably go back for a night simply due to the attractions history. If I were spending multiple nights in Cody, I would only spend one here and find a more customer focused hotel for the remainder of my stay.

Room Tip: Pay a few extra bucks for a historic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cody hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Cute looking building that you check into and is a gift store. Can't check in until 3. I had a sick child I needed to get to bed and no luck with an early check in. Two brand name hotels in same parking lot. The front help are not pleasant, which made the experience not so pleasant at first. Anyhow, cabins are touristy old fashion. Clean. But touristy feel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DdddddDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you want a bit of the wild, wild west, it's pretty cool to see the hotel. The rooms were roomy and clean. We chose a standard room rather than the historic ones. The bar in the dining room was amazing, and we saw a picture of Buffalo Bill standing in front of the hotel. They have a western shoot out in the evenings that the children would probably enjoy. If you've already stayed in some authentic ranches or lodges on your trip, I'd recommend this right in the middle of Cody.

Room Tip: The standard rooms were quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
2.0 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.9 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#10 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Property: Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave., Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing