We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
West Haven, CT
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Stayed one night as we were passing thru on our way to Yellowstone. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The location was fantastic! You can park your car and walk if you care to shop or visit one of the many restaurants. The kids enjoyed the "gunfight" that takes place outside the hotel. Found the staff at the front desk to be rude but staff at the saloon was very friendly and helpful. Had breakfast in the dining room. Some of us had the buffet and others ordered off the menu. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel 05 mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    194
    99
    45
    25
See reviews for
146
220
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Irma and were very disappointed. We stayed in the annex and didn't even have a window! When we entered the room the strong smell of cleaning solution was overwhelming and there was no way to air it out...remember no window. We asked for another room and were told none were available. The room was clean but the rest of the hotel was dirty and worn. The noise from room above was very annoying...we could hear their every step. It sounded like they might come through the ceiling.
My advice...take a quick peek at the historic part of the Irma Hotel, maybe eat at the restaurant, and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDtravelpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We spent a night at the Irma and enjoyed our stay. Our room was large, clean and nice. The western atmosphere was a real plus.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rancocasrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Given the age of this building, and the fact that its restaurant and bar are very popular with locals, it is clean and well maintained. Food is excellent, but I would order breakfast from the menu rather than take the buffet option. Our room, in the main body of the hotel, was spacious, clean and well equipped. Staff were friendly, approachable and helpful. A hotel with real atmosphere like this is a rarity in the United States.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

this is historic 'rustic' accommodation - the cleaning staff were the best staff there - really helpful, considerate and efficient - but even their most momentous efforts cannot erase the grubby appearance of this hotel, the dining room in particular was littered with food remains on the carpet, and the smell of some rather nasty concoction emanated to the bedrooms both in the morning and in the evening. When we checked out the staff barely acknowledged us - when we stepped outside there was a dead mouse there, which kind of said it all really, I think this place could be a real gem but it needs considerable tlc.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

This hotel was recommended by a couple of park rangers in Grand Teton National Park and since we were on a historical tour of our amazing country we decided it would be neat to stay at a hotel built and owned by Buffalo Bill and named for his daughter Irma.

Also, having stayed the previous night at the Old Faithful Lodge in Yellowstone, we thought the rooms couldn't be any more basic but they pretty much were bare bone.

One of the upsides is the location. The Irma is right in downtown Cody walking distance to shops and restaurants. We ended up eating at the hotel buffet which featured Prime Rib which was excellent and relatively inexpensive.

This hotel is listed in the B and B section of the Trip Advisor forum. While they do offer a buffet breakfast, you have to pay for it. There is no free breakfast.

After having been on the road for several days I was in desperate need of a workout. The Cody Recreation Center is top notch with free weights cardio equipment and two huge pools for $10 a day.

The Buffalo Bill Museum is also excellent. The admission charge gives you two days admission.

On a last point, in walking around Cody we came across the Chamberlin Inn about one block from the Irma. We met the owner and took a tour. Very, very, nice and a much better choice than the Irma.

Cheers.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We stayed in the Irma hotel for 4 nights in the Colonel Cody room. When we opened the door and saw the inside of the room it was like stepping back in time.
The decor and furniture was amazing, we will definately be returning and would recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymaker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
0.6 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel

Property: Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Address: 1192 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time...into the old west of today, at the Irma Hotel - a place that Buffalo Bill Cody called "a gem". The historic Irma Hotel hosted Buffalo Bill's Wild West show tryouts and European nobility who headquartered there for hunting trips.The historic section of the hotel offers 15 renovated rooms that housed some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite, or in a host of other historic or non-historic rooms, all with up-to-date amenities.Enjoy the finest dining in the West, including our famous prime rib or enjoy a drink and friendly camaraderie at the Buffalo Bill Bar or in the Silver Saddle Saloon.The hotel also offers a private meeting room which can accommodate groups up to 70 people.The famed Cody Gunfighters perform nightly in front of the Irma Hotel. Join the crowd on the Irma porch at 6:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday from June through September. Family fun, and it's FREE!The Cody Trolley, headquartered at the Irma, offers live narrated tours of Buffalo Bill's town...you won't want to miss it.The Irma Hotel is centrally located in downtown Cody within walking distance to many area attractions including the Buffalo Bill Historical Center, shopping and the City recreation center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing