We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Cody Cowboy Village(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cody Legacy Inn(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Bear Motel(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Inn Cody Hotel(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Sunset Inn(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Valley Inn(Wapiti)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
163
212
103
46
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
212
103
46
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelold westqueen victoriaprime ribbuffalo billoriginal barsilver saddlegun fighthaunted roomcherrywood barcherry wood barpiece of historyback in the daybreakfast buffetno elevatormiddle of townflat screen tv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2010

They owe us $107.00. The fact that all of Cody sells out most every night does not make it right to conduct business the way Irma does. A girl that runs the counter is the only exception--very sweet and helpful---management---needs some lessons. The hotel down the street where we moved to-- Wonderful!!! Lessons learned and many people told about this experience!!!! Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hubhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We stayed for one night in one of the historic rooms and were pleasantly surprised. The room was large with tasteful period furniture and decor. The room and bathroom were very comfortable and very clean. The whole hotel was themed 'wild west' style, which gave it character.

There were some delays with check in and check out, but to be fair the hotel was very busy during both occasions. We arrived at dinner time and potential customers were queueing out of the door, and we left during a busy breakfast period. Seemingly, the hotel is a favourite place to eat for both locals and tourists!

Nevertheless, we didn't eat or drink in the hotel; instead choosing to eat out in the local town. Be warned, Cody can be a little expensive in some areas.

It did make a refreshing change to stay in a themed hotel as opposed to the more 'normal' hotels. At just under $170 USD per night for a historic room, you can find cheaper accommodation in Cody.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bugerov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

The moment you enter the Irma hotel, you are taken back in time. Small check-in desk, which has hallway leading to rooms. In back of desk, is the old time restaurent,,complete with wooden bar.

Rooms are big enough for more than 2 people and bathroom facility also takes you back to when tiolets were first thought of. Namely, handle to flush is above tiolet and water tank is higher.

Hotel is centrallly located to everything. Tickets for Cody trolley service, seats for nightly gunflight, Buffalo Bill historical center can all be purchased here. Anything to do in Cody can be found right here..

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jokell3609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I am sitting in a historic room which has a strange odor ... just like the rest of the hotel. They charged us more per night when we checked in - after a 7 hour drive, we weren't going to argue with them - will try that upon checkout tomorrow. Staff is rude and unhelpful. Sat at the lounge bar for 10 minutes attempting to get a refreshment, and employees just kept walking by. Eventually gave up and went up to the room. Take my advice, stop in to see the historic bar if you are in town but whatever you do, don't stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

The Irma Hotel is a living museum of the Old West. Buffalo Bill Cody the city’s founder and namesake built and named the hotel for his daughter Irma. You step back into the old West at the Irma Hotel where you'll capture the romance of an era when Cowboys came in from the surrounding ranches and tied their horses to the rail of the hotel. The original part of the hotel was built for Buffalo Bill in 1902. The northwest addition was constructed in 1929, and the southwest addition was added in 1976-1977.

"Buffalo Bill," William F. Cody was probably the best-known American in the world during his lifetime. Having been involved in many events that shaped the American West, he formed an arena show of the western experience called Buffalo Bill’s Wild West in 1883. It toured the United States and Europe for 30 years. Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show try-outs were held on the lots west of the hotel, when buffalo ran amok in downtown Cody, and when European nobility headquartered at the Irma Hotel on hunting treks in the area.

The Irma Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places by the National Park Service, in recognition of its contribution to the cultural foundations of America. Certain exterior walls are made of river rock and locally quarried sandstone from Beck Lake just south of town. The fireplace is an assemblage of rock, ores, minerals, and fossils from the Big Horn Basin.

When my wife told me that she had booked the reservation at the Irma instead of a hotel with a swimming pool for my 9 and 12-year-old boys I expected a revolt from the boys, I was pleasantly surprised.

The rooms are the original suites that now house period furnishings. The first room we stayed in featured a fabulous retro bathroom with a pedestal sink, claw foot bathtub and one of the original flush toilets with the water tank high over toliet with the draw chain flusher. The boys were enthralled. All furnishings were fine antiques. The second room we stayed in wasn’t quite as quaint, bathroom wise, but very large and comfortable and had a very nice Victorian couch in the foyer. All rooms feature the 10 foot ceiling that can only be found in luxury hotels of today and yesterday, some having skylights. The Irma’s renovated rooms hosted some of the most famous personalities the world has ever known. You can even stay in Buffalo Bill's private suite or in a host of other historic and non-historic rooms. All have modern bathrooms and air conditioning

The Irma’s restaurant puts on an awesome feed featuring Prime Rib billed as the best in the west, the retro ambiance featuring 1902 décor, period paintings on the wall and trophy animal mounts are certain reminders that you have left the twenty first century and returned to a earlier time. We were there for Valentines Day and there was a steady stream of local cowboys, from young wranglers romancing their girl to old ranchers bringing their wives to the Irma Hotel for a night on the town. It was evident that the Irma Hotel was Cody Wyoming’s place to go on special occasions for the locals.

The beautiful cherry wood back bar one, of the most photographed spots in town, was given to Buffalo Bill by the Queen of England in 1900 at which time manufacturing cost of this magnificent example of wordworking craftsmanship was $100,000, is now worth in excess of one million dollars. I sat there for over 20 minutes and could not help but wonder who carved al the intricate and detailed carvings in the bar itself. It was a beautiful sight to sit and look at. I couldn’t help but wonder since Buffalo Bill received this very large and beautiful work of art, if he built the hotel so he could have someplace to put it.

Enjoy a drink in the Buffalo Bill Bar or the Silver Saddle Lounge certainly are a step back in time where you can belly up to the bar that is still the hangout of local characters and genuine cowboys and ranchers of the area, and where you can also see a show saddle that belonged to Buffalo Bill Cody.

I was amazed at how well my young boys enjoyed staying at this hotel. Although a state of the art hotel it is showing signs of wear which for me adds to the charm. On presidents weekend we only paid $60 dollars per night and we enjoyed it more than if we would have stayed at a modern hotel with a swimming pool for the bays for twice as much

If you are snobbish in nature and like everything to be prefect find a different hotel but for my family and I it was the perfect base for our adventure into the beautiful Absaroka Mountains outside of town and my fear is some billionaire will buy this charming piece of history, put several million dollars into it and wreck it. I have seen money wreck charm, kill ambiance and run off the local color and I would hate to see that happen to the Irma Hotel. Today it is affordable by blue-collar folks like myself and I hope it stays that way.

You will be comfortable at the Irma Hotel, a place fancy enough for royalty and plain enough for cowboys and cowgirls and is a true western retro experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews