We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, modest accommodations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackwater Creek Ranch
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed here with family for two nights. Our initial impression wasn't great because of the limited restaurant menu and a big pile of trash on the front porch of the lodge. We ate one meal in the restaurant and it was truly awful and over priced. When we sent a rotten potato back to the kitchen the owner of the ranch gave us serious attitude. The rooms were modest but served their purpose. The hilight of our stay was a trail ride and it was fantastic. The ranch hands were very friendly and went out of their way to show us a great time. Over all we had a good time, however we wouldn't go back or recommended it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samodian726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Spent Memorial Day weekend at the ranch. The late May snow made the weekend something very special. The cabins were extremely comfortable and very close to the river. The Staff at the ranch were very pleasant and helpful. I would love to come back and may make arraingements for sometime in September. Bye the way, the food at the ranch was A+.

Ernie and Linda Hiltz

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ernest H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Told about this place both in Cody and from the Yellowstone Inn. Truly awesome scenery matched by the quality of the horses and the staff. Made most welcome and would love to have stayed longer.
Log cabins looked great.
Thanks for some of the best hours of our holidays!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We did not stay here. We stopped by for the day. Absolutely wonderful!! Friendly staff! We have never been to a ranch ... They were so kind! My husband, neice, and son went a trail ride. The wranglers were so nice, knowledgeable, and really took their time. My daughter and I stayed back. Another wrangler and ranch hand talked with us, showed us around .... It was so neat! We had lunch as well. Chef was wonderful! Made us feel right at home! If we come bs knit Cody, we will definitely visit again, and Would consider spending the week there!
Absolutely wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carriek627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We were recommended this Ranch as some of the best horse riding in the area from the good folk at Yellowstone Valley Inn. They were not wrong.
We four inexperienced horse riders had a fantastic several hours. The two wranglers were very helpful and friendly. We had a burger lunch which was delicious.
The cabins looked cozy but we were not staying as we had alternative accommodation booked.
Would have liked to stayed for a couple of days to relax and learn to ride a little better.
Simon, Janet, Claire & Simon, Nottingham, UK

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We were so pleased with our stay at this ranch! The cabins were clean and comfy, but the staff's friendly and accomodating attitudes is what really made our stay so great. It isn't a fancy place, but we liked that we could really get a feel for the laid-back lifestyle and everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to make our stay memorable. We would definitely recommend it to anyone. Its a beautiful area, close to Yellowstone, with all the amenities of the surrounding guest ranches. We took our family of 5 children ranging in ages from 19 to 8 and we all had a great time, there was something for everyone. We found it hard to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennish49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Our family of four booked a weeklong stay at Blackwater Creek Ranch earlier this year. Driving from Iowa to Wyoming, we were concerned we built the trip up so much in our heads that there was no way the actual vacation could meet our expectations. Luckily, we were wrong.

We loved our time at the ranch. Our cabins, while rustic, were clean and comfortable. The food was incredible (the ranch has a chef this year, as opposed to a cook) and we had a great time completing all of the activities available to us -- horseback riding in the mountains, visiting Cody, whitewater rafting, attending the Cody Rodeo, touring Yellowstone, etc.

It was the staff that made our stay so enjoyable. Johnie and Diana have made it their goal to bring southern hospitality to Wyoming and we think they succeeded. We felt more like family than guests. We enjoyed our time with all of the staff members. The wranglers are a great group of experienced horsemen and horsewomen who had endless patience with us and our kids. Having meals in the lodge was more like an extended family dinner, with the servers getting our picky son to actually eat his salad every night. Of course, he had three S'mores at the campfire later ... :)

It was sad for us to say good-bye because we were not only leaving our vacation behind, but a group of people we now consider family. We hope our paths cross again someday. Trust us when we say this trip is worth it.

Room Tip: If you want to get to bed early, we suggest choosing a cabin away from the campfire as guests like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meredithkhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
33.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
3.7 mi away
Creekside Lodge at Yellowstone
1.5 mi away
The Historic UXU Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
16.4 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Inn
32.0 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwater Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Creek Ranch

Address: 1516 N Fork Hwy, Cody, WY 82414-7879
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Cody
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blackwater Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwater Creek Ranch Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing