We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous campground!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Bill State Park

Buffalo Bill State Park
Ranked #11 of 55 things to do in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous campground!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I hate to write this because I'm afraid it will be crowded the next time we go there and we won't be able to get our favorite site! This campground is located on the north shore of the Buffalo Bill Reservoir and it is absolutely beautiful. The sites are large and convenient, there are several sites right up the hill from the shore, so you walk out of the door of your RV and onto a large patio site with a picnic table, a great fire ring, and a view that's worth ten times the rate! And the rate was on $17 a night for boondocking, $22 a night for power. You MUST reserve the power sites online or by phone though - and they were pretty booked. A quick drive through the tunnels takes you to Cody - so it was very convenient. The camp-hosts were very friendly and helpful. We stayed ten days and loved every minute of it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent camping on the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had a very nice pull-thru site on the water. Stargazing was amazing -- some sort of gnats terrorized us in our camper, but nothing that we couldn't handle.

A short trip to Cody for all the activities, and the visit to the dam right by the reservoir is worth yoru time. Overall, very cool campground!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Buffalo Bill State Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

This park was beautiful. We just went in and looked around but people were camping there. The ranger was very nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimdglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice state park with sites on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We liked the convenience of being right off of the highway, but I could see how some might not like the sound of traffic. Very helpful host.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Large range, scenic area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Good for picnic, camping and wildlife viewing. Very scenic views of snowcapped peaks and jagged rock formatios everywhere

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ocean0808cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Buffalo Bill State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing