We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great. Could do better with turnaround.”
Review of Wild Horse Cafe

Wild Horse Cafe
Ranked #59 of 88 Restaurants in Cody
Restaurant details
Cody, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not so great. Could do better with turnaround.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a really dusty place, with a lot of junk to look at. There are the usual locals that hang out there, but the service is mediocre at best, the food has never really been cooked to our taste, and it's not such a great location.

I think the owners give it a good try, but staff could definitely be better trained. Our meals are brought sometimes in good time, but more often not.

We will probably try it again, but there's nothing special about this particular café.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jillawilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    3
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand-Leez
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best western place in Cody”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice place to stop for Breakfast or dinner good food and friendly atmosphere, store is amazing while waiting the dishes. Too sad the place will close at the end of the year. Have been there many times and always enjoyed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will not give them my business”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Asked for a BLT on toast. There were only 3 customers in the joint. I was the first to order. Took forever, and when sandwich arrived it was not toasted. Asked the waitress to have the cook correct the order. Got attitude. Took way too long to get sandwich back, but when it finally came, the bread was burnt and the cook had put the burnt side inside the sandwich so it would not be seen.....but it was certainly tasted. That is an old trick that cooks who are pissed off pull on a customer who "complain:. It was not appreciated. Pointed out the burnt bread to the waitress, and again got attitude. Bacon was also hard as a rock. It was not cooked fresh, but reheated in microwave. I was pleasant and reasonable with my request,. Was previewing place for a service group of 35.....Guess what? They lost our business. Despite the poor food quality, and attitude, I did leave the waitress a tip, but I will never give them my business or recommend them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank morgan1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winters, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Expect to wait for breakfast seating. It's worth the wait, though. The waitresses are very friendly and love kids; the food is great American breakfast fare: bacon, sausage, pancakes, eggs., etc. No feta cheese omelettes or croissants here. Get those on the east or west coast and enjoy the food of the region you're in.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Just great food.....”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Wow; what a find....We were looking for a place to have breakfast.....The ad said "Down Home Cooking"; and cinnamon rolls the size of hubcaps; I had to see this to believe; well there not quite as big as hubcaps; but they are wonderful....I ordered bananas foster frenh toast; it was to die for.....I saw the biscuits and gravy; the biscuits were huge too....If you are staying in Cody for the greatest rodeo in the west; get up early and stop by the Wild Horse Cafe.....They have a gift shop that is really cool; really interesting western items....There is also a man there that will make you a hat.... if you think the gift shop and the food is good; they have tv playing old westerns....I loved everything about this place and you will too.....Stop by and just say Hi to the great folks at the Wild Horse Cafe......

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DLewis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wild Horse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing