We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my first trip to Cody. This hotel is very nice and clean. We spent two nights.
I must give a shout out to Terri (General Manager), She was so nice and helpful to us, The breakfast area is right in the lobby. Good food to get you started on your day, If you are in Cody check out Americinn. Our maid was also very helpful. She gave us directions as we were leaving.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americinn C, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We strive to give our guests the best of the best.
We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in the Cody area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

My family stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It is located in a quiet area on the far end of town going towards Yellowstone Park; the flip side is that it is not in walking distance to the museums and main downtown (at least with young children it isn't). It was comfortable and inviting. We enjoyed the Montana lodge look and cozy lobby, with the breakfast area. The pool and hot tub were clean and had comfortable temperatures. Rooms were also clean and comfortable, and we liked being able to open the window for fresh air. The staff were friendly and accommodating at all times.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank Dawn448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americinn C, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review. Here at the AmericInn of Cody, we take great pride in our staff, from our impeccable housekeepers to our knowledgeable and accommodating front desk staff. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit to Cody.

Sincerely,

Terri Welbes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

With two annual trips to Cody each of the past eleven years, we've stayed at the Americ fifteen or so times. It's our favorite for value and for its large indoor pool and hot tub. The basic, comfortable rooms are always spotless, and the simple, free breakfast -- cereal, toast, muffins, fruit, cold pastry, oatmeal, and batter for make-your-own waffles -- is available early to mid-morning. In late afternoon, the always-helpful front desk serves cookies.

Free, fast wifi in rooms and free computer terminal in lobby.

Cody does not have very large taxi fleet but if you call the hotel from the airport the staff usually has time to send someone to get you in their van.

Even if you don't stay here -- and you should -- stop by to see the staggering collection of animals in the two-storey lobby.

Otherwise, If you insist on paying more, the hip hotel in town is The Chamberlin, the fancy hotel is the Cody, and the old-timey saloon hotel is the Irma.

Wherever you stay, visit the Buffalo Bill Center of the West, a world-class museum of fine art, natural history, Plains Indians, firearms, and the life story of William F Cody.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hapness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americinn C, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us again and such a wonderful review. At the Americinn we pride ourselves on our clean, spacious rooms, wonderful breakfast and a great set of amenities, such as pool, sauna, hot tub and access to 24 hour fitness. We appreciate and value your business and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Apologies this is a bit long, but you will understand why.

As planned, we bought our $80 Eagle Annual Pass and drove 2,000 miles up from Washington DC to discover that we arrived the day after the Federal Government shutdown occurred. Everyone in Yellowstone National Park had already been given 48 hours notice to vacate the park. Our plans to spend 3 days in the park were decimated, even our planned exit through Cokeville to Thayne afterwards, was prevented.

We couldn't have asked for more helpful or apologetic staff. The AmericInn at Cody is a very comfortable place with good quality rooms in a very convenient location.

Best Buy left us without the tablets we had ordered so, WiFi access was useless for us. However, access to the guests PC in the reception area proved to be priceless!

The abandonment of Yellowstone was further fuelled with the forecast that a snow storm was developing so, we arrived at the peak of the mass exodus! To avoid being stranded, we spent until 4am of our 1st night, on the guests PC in the hotel foyer trying to change our route and book new accommodation. For hundreds of miles around, everything was either emptying or full / rapidly filling, with online accommodation prices doubling before your eyes.

Tired and exasperated we succumbed to our clean and warm, comfortable twin Queen bedroom.

Following breakfast we spent several hours feverishly reorganising our route, cancelling reservations and booking our hotel in Rawlins.

The AmericInn staff were very understanding throughout our stay: giving us assistance and advice on what to do and they were very flexible on revising the length of our stay without surcharge.

We awoke on the 3rd October - a few inches of snow had fallen overnight - the forecast - significantly more to come. I got chatting to one of the few guests still in the hotel at breakfast, he suggested we avoid Casper, as snow blocked Routes 20/26 & 487.

We left just after 8am on a relatively straight 262 mile / 4.5 hour trip. Driving cautiously on ice covered roads, we made steady progress via Meeteetse, arriving just over half distance in Riverton. We stopped briefly for a burger lunch, only to discover our proposed route 287/789 was closed. It was just before noon, a major 'dogleg' now took us via Rock Springs. Instead of the original 2 hours / 123 miles to go, we now faced a further 4 hours and 247 miles. Our luck and déjà vous made us laugh, on a couple of occasions when following a snow plough as it fought to keep treacherous roads open. Barely a minute behind an overturned lorry on the I80, we avoided the tail-back and finally arrived at our destination just before 7pm, a mere 10.5 hours after our departure. We were delighted though, that night a further 9 inches of snow fell in Yellowstone and 24 inches fell in Rapid City - we narrowly avoided getting stranded in between, at Cody!

The only negative thing about the AmericInn: we had no alternative, but to decrease our stay from 4 to 2 nights because Yellowstone Park was closed - a real shame as this is an ideal base... but we will return!

Cody is a very friendly place and being a reasonable sized town, good amenities are available.

Staff at the AmericInn even recommended us to the Rib and Chop House on Sheridan Avenue, we had a great evening and one of the best steaks ever, served by the lovely Lisa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We feel we got a good deal cost wise for this motel. I used Book.com and got a reduced rate at the last minute. It is located in a good location to visit Cody, Wy.; close to many restaurants, downtown and very close to the park entrance. They had a nice breakfast with a choice of waffles, cereal, eggs, yougert, fruit, muffins etc. The rooms were very nice and it was quiet for sleeping; we would stay there again. MAKE SURE YOU GO TO THE MUSEUM, TAKE THE TROLLEY TOUR GUIDE AND VISIT THE OLDEST BAR IN WY.FOR A GOOD LUNCH. THE SUN DOWN SHOOT OUT WAS FUN AS WAS GREAT STORES FOR SHOPPING.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night while touring in Cody. Our original plan was to be in Yellowstone and Grand Teton but the government shutdown cancelled that. We walked in without reservation and asked for the "best rate" and offered up our AAA, AARP, Senior and government IDs. They offered us roughly $100/night + tax which included a continental breakfast, "complimentary" cookies and hot drinks. The staff was terrific, courteous, and outgoing. We were given a first floor room that was absolutely spotless and well-equipped. In the morning we enjoyed the breakfast, it was not fancy, but it was hot and ample. They actually provide real plates, cups, glasses and utensils; not the usual Styrofoam and plastic. Again the front desk person was cheerful and friendly. We awoke to 5-7 inches of fresh snow and a bitter wind. The staff was out clearing walkways by 7ish. When they saw me struggling to clear my car by hand (boo to Hertz for not including a scraper/brush); they went and got a broom and scraper and cleared it for me. That is service above and beyond!!! I had never used this chain before but will seek them out in the future to see how other properties compare. PS ---The nearby newer Best Western wanted $200 +tax... in the off-season with an empty parking lot!

Room Tip: First floor or use the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is just outside to the west of the centre of town. Nearby is a Walmart Superstore

Staff was a bit “un-cheerful” when I arrived. Had to sign a lot of agreements when I registered: about pets, smoking, etc.

The room was a bit dull from what I had expected from other reviews, maybe because of the dark colours and wooden furniture.

There was a small desk,large flatscreen TV and a big bed. The bathroom was nice and clean.

Free Wifi internet worked well with sufficient speed for streaming media.

From time to time there was a unpleasant sound in the room which came from the refrigerator. To get a good nights sleep I just unplugged it .

Breakfast was terrible with very limited choices. Only warm sausages but no scrambled eggs, no waffle machine up and running (it was there but empty), a very limited choice of bread and spreads, etc. For a hotel in this price range you may expect better.

Overall I was disappointed, there are maybe other and cheaper options in town

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americinn C, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to inform you that we have renovated our breakfast area and enhanced our continental breakfast. Breakfast runs from 5 to 10 am daily with all items being replenished throughout the breakfast hours. New items include hard boiled eggs, yogurt, a waffle bar, sausage and eggs/ biscuits and gravy. We continue to strive to provide our guests with an exceptional experience.
I hope you will stay with us again on your next travels thru Cody so that we may exceed your expectations this time.

Sincerely,

Terri Welbes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
1.0 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#4 of 29 in Cody
1,070 reviews
1.7 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone

Address: 508 Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-9320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cody
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Price Range: £96 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Cody
Cody Americinn Hotel
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing