We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Work In Progress” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Western Rose Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Western Rose Motel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Denver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Work In Progress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The rooms were very clean and the owner was very friendly. The value was good compared to other local rates, but the building itself is old and in need of repair. Our first night, one of the windows would not close all the way and we were only given one room key. The hot water faucet in the bathroom would hardly turn off all the way without forcing it. There are absolutely no frills with this motel and parking is super tight. If you are just looking for a bed and a bathroom, it will do nicely. Off the beaten path of the main street, but still noisy with local traffic. Even with the understanding that the owners are going to upgrade and do repairs, I still could not revisit this location, especially since they pre-charged me before I even arrived.

Room Tip: Take a room towards the back because it will be quieter, but parking is tighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Yes, the building dates back to the 70's. John Wayne stayed here when he was the Grand Marshall of the 1976 4th of July parade (the mayor owned it at that time). How they fit cars back then in this lot baffles me too, but it's better than trucking across some huge parking lot 1/2 mile from your room. Extra keys are available on request. They are very expensive to replace, which is why we only give one on checkin. I'll have Mark check on the faucet. We don't know about these things unless you tell us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    128
    60
    14
    11
See reviews for
80
165
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Collinsville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights there and found a very clean room, decent beds,a walk in shower. Only reason for not giving more stars is this is really a no frills type motel. Staff and check in was super quick and extremely friendly and really helpful about the things to do in Cody.Cable TV, icebox and Wi-Fi also included in price. We would definitely stay there again if we get back to Cody. If you are in good shape one could make the walk back downtown. It is a few blocks away but still on the main street.

Room Tip: ask about avoiding the rooms closest to the ice, soda and laundry machines if you go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully someone wasn't doing their laundry after 10PM as we request it be finished by then. Our quiet, downtown location is perfect for guests that want to enjoy the action on Sheridan yet still have a quiet room to return to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The room was clean. Friendly folk working here. Electrical outlets for coffee make no where near coffee pot. The receptacles did not match maker... had to relocate maker to small bathroom sink top to make coffee. Office did not offer coffee or any customer incentives for choosing their property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Someone must have "borrowed" the adapter for the coffee maker, I've got some extra in the office and will make sure housekeeping double checks that all of the coffee makers are ready to go! Please know, it's not intentional We're happy to supply extra coffee for your room as well, upon request. We tried coffee in the lobby and wasted more than was consumed. I'm interested in your ideas about customer incentive, please elaborate. BHC does offer free WiFi, the ability to do laundry and our location can't be beat-downtown location, yet quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at budget host in Cody at May 30, 2014. We arrived there around 9:30pm, the room keys were already prepared and put into envelope. And a kind notice was posted on room door. The owner of this hotel is super friendly, guide us very clearly to restaurants and the town details. Great value with a pleasant stay, highly recommend to stay

Room Tip: Contact with owner first to get help
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your compliments! We'll point you in the right direction!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The budget host Cody was perfect for after a long day in Yellowstone. Very clean and comfortable and at a great price. The proprietors are a very nice couple. Easy walk to all the downtown restaurants and bars in downtown Cody. I'll go back to the budget host inn!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Yee Haw! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed overnight here on the way to Yellowstone. Motel was very clean and friendly staff. Room was right sized for a one night stay. The only knock we had was that the box spring on the bed was like a trampoline. Mattress firm, but foundation lacking.Parking was tight for our full size pickup but manageable. Laundry on site was welcome and very clean, iron available. Sheridan street with all the main eateries and shops was 2 blocks down with ample choices of establishments to choose from. We particularly like Pat-o-Hara's brewery. Great brews and even better food. Friendly staff and patrons. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda O, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your compliment and if you have a chance, please let me know what room you were in. I'm thankful for all comments and do my best to resolve them ASAP. Please don't hesitate to leave a note in the room or talk to me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at the Budget Host in Cody this month as a launching pad to explore the Yellowstone area - I had a wonderful trip and this was the perfect place for me to stay. The town itself has a very friendly feel and the the surrounding area is incredibly scenic - I'd love to explore the area more in the future.

I must add that the owners were super friendly and very helpful with advice on things to do and places to go and should elevate this in your reckoning as a place to stay.

I plan to visit the area again and I'd definitely check here for vacancies and happily recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank His2oryExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolishous, Manager at A Western Rose Motel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Yee Haw or as you Brits say (my new favorite word), BRILLIANT!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
2.6 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
0.2 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#10 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Western Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Western Rose Motel

Property: A Western Rose Motel
Address: 1807 Sheridan Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3886
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — A Western Rose Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Western Rose Motel, an upscale economy 1 level property, LOCATED DOWNTOWN is a 100%, NO PET and NON smoking motel offering FREE WIFI, coffee makers, Flat Screen TV's, mini fridges and guest laundry. Although no food is served on the property our DOWNTOWN location on the quiet end Sheridan Avenue is within walking distance to the most popular shops, restaurants, live music, trolley tour and just 10 blocks from the Buffalo Bill Historical Center. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable, quiet rooms close to the best Cody has to offer. Cody, Wyoming, the eastern gateway to Yellowstone National Park (about an hour away. We are a small western town with a big city attitude! During the summer, a re-enactment of a wild-west shoot-out takes place in Cody. Rodeo is important in the culture in Cody, which calls itself the "Rodeo Capital of the World". The Cody Nite Rodeo is an amateur rodeo every night from June 1 through August 31. Cody is also is host to the Cody Stampede Rodeo. The Stampede is a Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association rodeo and is one of the largest rodeos in the nation that is held over the Independence Day Holiday. Many of the top cowboys in the country attend. The stampede has been held from July 1-4 every year since 1919. The Cody Firearms Museum has a large collection of American firearms. Cody, also offers outdoor activities as golf, bicycling, rock-climbing, horseback riding, hunting, spectacular trout stream fishing and river-rafting.Budget Host is located less than 3 miles from Yellowstone International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A Western Rose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Cody
A Western Rose Motel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing