We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exotic in Wyoming. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 8th Street at the Ivy

8th Street at the Ivy
Ranked #20 of 87 Restaurants in Cody
Price range: US$7 - US$45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 8Th Street at the Ivy is Cody's best upscale restaurant. Opened in March of 2012 inside the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Inn & Suites, the restaurant features a beautiful granite bar with Alder wood details and charming patio seating. Serving unique American cuisine, the contemporary atmosphere combined with incredible service, 8th Street at the Ivy is ideal for business meetings, casual breakfast, Quick, Quality Cuisine for lunch or an exquisite fine dining experience in the evenings. Serving a variety of foods from local meats, hand cut steaks, fresh fish and seafood to homemade desserts, breads and soups made with as many local and organic ingredients as possible. Experience the difference in comfortable dining at 8th Street Restaurant at the Ivy.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exotic in Wyoming. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The menu is big-city. The wine list is just adequate. The service is western-friendly & aspirational. We were pleasantly surprised to find such a menu and presentation in Wyoming.

Helpful?
Thank Leo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    57
    29
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Find Breakfast Elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Best Western Ivy as part of our two week trip to tour the western part of the United States. The hotel was fabulous; however, we do not give the same high marks to the attached restaurant. We ended up stopping in for a quick breakfast before we left town to head to Yellowstone and we would have been better off stopping at a convenience store for a box of donuts. Considering the cost of the buffet is $12 per person, the selection was very limited.....the free buffet offered by holiday inn express puts the 8th Street's buffet to shame.

The whole fruit was badly bruised, my wife found a rotting plum at the bottom of the mixed fruit bowl, the breads were stale, the bacon was limp, and the waffle station had no batter. When my wife requested more batter from one of the young staff, it seemed to be too much trouble for them....most of the staff were busy socializing with one another or feeding themselves than to care about their guests.

Do yourself a favor and go elsewhere - such as Our Place which us right down the road and much, much better.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I spent about a month living in the Best Western that this restaurant is a part of. The staff was very friendly, very prompt service always with a smile. The food is amazing. Great Scotch selection for those who like to have an after dinner drink. The drink and meal specials were always up to par. The amount of food was perfect. You were never left hungry but never overfilled. Breakfast selection is on the shy side but lunch and dinner provide the best food selection. Many craft beers on tap or available in bottles along with different flight options. The patio provides a nice view towards Carter Mountain and Buffalo Bill Reservoir.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nubbin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Less than stellar....at best.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Okay, we are locals, and we used to eat here a lot. Used to.

To begin with, the sign taped to the hostess station says "no credit cards accepted tonight". No explanation, no other options given....so unless you're a local with a check, or cash..... This is not convenient if you're on vacation. Or if you're not. Does this apply to the (expensive) rooms? Surely, they can figure out how to do this from the front desk or somewhere else?

We were seated promptly in a booth with mind boggling fabric. That said, our server came promptly and offered us cocktails. No Captain Morgan. Really? The glass of wine had perhaps 2/3 common serving size. At best, there are a handful of wines "by the glass". For $9.00, in Cody, this is pretty steep.

Everything on the menu has some bizarre "add on" to the dish. When inquired of our server, poor girl, she said "if you don't know what it is, it's a fancy name for a sauce". Not encouraging. We tried for empanadas as appetizer. You guessed it, they were out. My husband's favorite meal there in the past, the filet, has now disappeared from the menu. Replaced by some nice sounding dishes, except everything on it had something not-quite in the palate of Wyoming cuisine including fennel, cherry sauce, etc, etc, etc ad nauseum.

Our dinner was over an hour from sit-to-receive. Not much attention from our server and the restaurant was not even half full.

As a last resort, we ended up with a burger (mediocre at best, and I quote) and the turkey/bacon/avocado sandwich (very good) mostly because we weren't convinced about anything else. Fries were very tasty, and had some elusive zingy spicy something, but kind of soggy.

We have truly enjoyed this place on many occasions in the past, heard terrible reviews from our local friends recently, and decided to try again. Please, please, please save us from yourselves. We love the ambience (except for the seizure- inducing booth fabric) and it's nice and quiet.

A $50.00+ meal for two sandwiches basically, but not a great value or even a great meal.

Keep trying 8th Street at the Ivy. We'll try again.....?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jillawilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
276 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful for a hotel eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a really nice place, great decor, quiet inside, and outside area is available.
Hannah Sue is a great, friendly, helpful wait staff!
Food was delicious and wine list very nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank twominks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 8th Street at the Ivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing