We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was so hard to leave”
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Bear Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed 15 November 2013

What a fun experience for a change. I wish we could have stayed longer. I've never felt so at home. Our room was clean and comfortable. The horses were a fun treat. So if you want to sit back and enjoy a cozy place with mountains as a backdrop, friendly owners and staff... It's the best place to be. I will be back whenever I can.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Char D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We find this to be so true we have only left about 20 days in 11 years and missed the place greatly when gone. What's up with that I guess when your life is a vacation you don't need many Bill and Jody Holly stop be very good chance we will be here to say hi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is our second stay at Big Bear- the rooms are nice and modern, very comfortable beds, hot water, coffee in the morning at 7:30 in the office- The rates here are good, it's really clean the owner is great- they have been updating and all is good... the restaurant they recommended for supper, Cassie's, is really wonderful- a little pricey but worth every penny- the place across the street for breakfast is good also- reasonably priced and coffee there is 25 cents! Can't wait until our next trip to that area!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janorah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We love to have reruns come back over and over. Hope to see ya again soon Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at the Big Bear for 3 nights during trips into Yellowstone. It seemed newly renovated and was well worth the price. I liked it much better than Lake Yellowstone Hotel in the Park where I paid almost $300 a night (did have a private bathroom).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BoerneBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Come see Yellowstone and stay at the Big Bear I have been trying to tell everybody this for 11 years finally your listening [ha ha] Bill and Jody Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When you think of a rustic motel at the edge of the Rocky Mountains, this is it. Nothing really wrong with the rooms, but furnishings and carpet are definitely older. Didn't care for the fact that no coffee was available until 8am (when the office opens)... coffee makers in the rooms would be nice. Seemed clean, just rustic.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Janie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

I chuckle when I read this one Cody doesn't even have a Hilton I wonder what there daily rate would be if there was one here for a 100 day season. Maybe he didn't notice but we live next door to Jeramiah Johnson [Old Trail town] great place to visit by the way Bill Holly owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We came in after 6 o'clock and the man at the counter told me the motel was full, they expected us on the day before. I changed my reservation in februari and had a confirmation from the owner with me... Then they tried to find another ( expensive) hotel for us. I told the man that he had to pay for the diffenrance, he disagreed and aftersome discussions and a telephone to the owner there suddenly was a room for us!
I must say, the room was really nice, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianaBrasschaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We take our resos very serious and try to make the best trip for everyone do we ever make a mistake I think you know that answer. We do encourage our guests to arrive before 6:30 pm as the wild life in our area is out in force see ya soon Big Bear Motel Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

After exploring Yellowstone all day, I really just wanted to go to sleep! And that is exactly what I got to do. A very nice staff member checked me in, directed me to my room (with it's cute bear decor) and I slept like a baby. Comfortable bed, hot shower, microwave in the room, very reasonable price. Yes, there is even a huge bear out front (fake, of course) to guard visitors (and show them the way to the motel). I had breakfast across the street the next morning at the suggestion of the motel staff, and it was quite good. Right on the freeway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We have added more attraction to our place with many photo opts 5 carved baers 2 very large Buffaloes one white the other brown a very large rearing horse come snap a few Bill Big Bear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We chose this motel because there are very few hotels in Cody that take a dog. I was very disappointed. The reviews on TA were so positive that I expected more. I guess the people who did those reviews are used to staying in motels of this type. Everything was very clean, the staff was helpful and friendly but the room was very dated and old feeling. And the guy who took our phone reservation messed up so we didn't get the king bed that we asked for. I have been spoiled by hotels that have more to offer for the same price. And considering that there was just coffee in the morning we must have been mostly paying for the location near Yellowstone.

Room Tip: The motel is right on the hwy but all the rooms should be quiet at night as there won't be anyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust_3351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thanks for the review its great to here from our guests, I have a hard time understanding complaints about our rates when there come with a reservation that they booked online we are a seasonal town with a 100 day season, great area to stay when touring yellowstone Bill and Jody Holly owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.5 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8723
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: £56 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 66 rooms on property along with 2 Vacation rentals located in Cody. We are walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo (just a 5 minute walk away). The Old Trail Town is just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Center of The West is located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were completely renovated in recent years with multiple bed setups including 2 Handicap rooms and 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings . Each of our rooms have cable television, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. Come experience the west at the best place to stay in Cody, Big Bear Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody
Big Bear Motel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing