We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Motel, Dodgy Parking Lot”
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Bear Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed one night at the Big Bear Motel in Cody. The man working the registration desk was pleasant and welcoming. When we arrived, there was a man playing a guitar, singing, and telling stories. It was fun to hear the music and have live entertainment like that at night. The motel room was clean and had the necessities that we needed. The one drawback of the place was the parking lot which was one big mud puddle. Overall, it was a decent place to stay with reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilacacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thanks for the review, and we will work harder to fix up the parking lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The motel is what you'd expect from a hotel in Cody. Everything is clean, you're close to the Cody Nite Rodeo, and not far from downtown. There is a pool for the kids to swim in before the rodeo, too. We couldn't hear our neighbors and slept well. No complaints.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank allibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks for staying clean, basic, family place full private baths wifi working great biggest pool in cody out door heated thats what where all about Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE !!! If you want a hotel room that was nice in the 50's and has not been updated since then stay here. The beds are terrible, my wife was up most of the night thinking there were bugs crawling on her. We slept in out clothes on top of the so called comforter. The sheets looked to be pulled out of a garbage can from an hourly motel The carpet was nasty, do not go barefoot. The room smelled like a mixture of cat urine and mold. The toilet barely flushed. The shower head barely worked. The 50 year old wall furnace would not stop running and smelled like gas. The fridge did not work. Even after asking to have it looked at. There is no phone or alarm clock. The TV was a small tube type TV and did not work very well. Garage trucks rumbled through the area at 6:15am. The curtains were not room darkening on the main window and the window on the side of the room had broken blinds so light came into the hotel at first light waking our kids up. The hotel was way over priced. We cancelled out next night and found a room that was $20 more a night and was 100% better than this place. Spend the extra $20 and find a real motel/hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Why wouldn't they not stay the first night we would have love to let them go just ask, if the time is reasonable. The premier is just down the road we look to make everybody vacation as pleasant as possiable but some just like to be heard to bad its at our expense we are a mom and pop this is our livelihood and reviews like this are very painful hope you enjoyed our area The Hollys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Basic motel room. Very clean. No blow dryer. No coffee in room & coffee not available in office until 7;30am. Towels were thin & scratchy. I've stayed at much worse, but I've spent a lot less on a lot better. Very close to Cody Rodeo.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much but is very close to Cody Rodeo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

You know some of our guest are just OK to Thanks for staying Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stopped in Cody for one night during a road trip and stayed at the Big Bear Motel. The price was fairly reasonable, but I still expected a little more. There was only soap in the bathroom, no shampoo or anything else. Room seemed fairly clean but this is definitely a motel, not a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thanks for the review We are a 1 star mom and pop Motel as we state in every regard there are many high end Hotels in our area that do what high end Hotels do When cost conscience travelers stay with us they should expect a 1 star very clean friendly stay that has many great services that we offer Parking right in front of room [most of the time] Full private Bath Tub with showers, Cable TV free HBO. Wi FI fully up graded 6/18/2014, Biggest outdoor heated pool in Cody, 32 new rooms 2012 Just because there new doesn't mean there's a hot tub / mini bar in them we do have frids/ micros all rooms and air conditioning our best guest best is a repeat guest or one who has shopped Cody lodging.

We have a great understanding of all of our guests and look to make there stay the most comfortable, or I will find them one that fits there needs personally Bill Holly Owner Big Bear Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was literally the closest hotel we could find to Yellowstone over Memorial Day weekend that was under $200 a night. The room was fine. The toilet and shower didn't work that well, but they functioned. The check-in room was a little creepy. There were the typical bison skulls you would expect, but then there were spent shell casings from old firearms for sale, all sorts of knives and things for sale, some homemade brownies or cupcakes that didn't look all that fresh, and black plastic covering the windows... It wasn't very inviting, and it was about 8x8 with all of the display cases crammed in. We were told there was coffee in the morning, which turned out to be a 4 cup Mr. Coffee maker in that same room for all of the guests. (None in the hotel room) It wasn't a bad experience, but it wasn't good either. The blinds were torn and held together with safety pins, and the carpet seemed like you should probably wear your shoes at all times. I've stayed at much worse, but I've spent a lot less on a lot better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Just a clean basic stay with cable ac WI Fi big pool come on in a see us Jody Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This motel was the kind that you take disinfectant to every surface, touch as few things as possible, and always wear your socks, so your bare feet never touch the floor.
The Wi-Fi was supposed to work, but we were close to the road, far away from office and it didn't reach. We had lots of bars for the Motel next door - but no password.There was an old TVv but it only worked on a few channels and only at top volume.
There was also a billing dispute that left us playing a whole lot for that awful place. If I'd planned on spending that much, we could have gone a real motel.

Room Tip: Any place but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwells7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

All reviews are welcome and make everybody better, We do remember that you booked two rooms and only stayed in one I would have liked to been asked about the tv as we do have over 60 cable channels with free HBO hope you enjoyed yellowstone and we always praise ourselves on housekeeping as we are a basic clean motel. Come look us over take a tour.
COMP horse ride when available.
As everyone knows internet is growing we are going to a large managed system 6/18/2014 lets see what the pros can do for us Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
2.5 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8723
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: £56 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 66 rooms on property along with 2 Vacation rentals located in Cody. We are walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo (just a 5 minute walk away). The Old Trail Town is just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Center of The West is located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were completely renovated in recent years with multiple bed setups including 2 Handicap rooms and 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings . Each of our rooms have cable television, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. Come experience the west at the best place to stay in Cody, Big Bear Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody
Big Bear Motel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing