We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Down Home Friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Bear Motel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Baraboo, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Down Home Friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you are looking for swanky top notch place, keep looking, if you are looking for down to earth comfort in a Clean friendly place to stay with family...this is the place for you!

My granddaughter wanted to stay forever!

Thanks and if we are back that way again, we will be looking you up!

Room Tip: Large room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthSteinhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank You! We are so happy you had a great time! Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    195
    111
    32
    28
See reviews for
160
180
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

very nice people, extremely clean and nice rooms recently remodeled in the building we were in. hunter friendly. and a very nice breakfast spot(extremely pleasant people as well) right across the street. will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FullDraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Nice hunters getting ready for this years Hunt Yet? Hope to see ya again Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay in Cody while spending 2 days in Yellowstone. For the price you can't beat it. The rooms were small but had 2 queen beds in them and we were also given a cot at no charge due to our teenagers not wanting to sleep in the same bed. It is not fancy but if your looking for a clean, quiet place to sleep while visiting the park, this is your place. We were also able to fill our cooler with ice for $1.75. The kids swam in the pool one evening and were happy. Complimentary coffee is served at 7:30 am, or you can go across the street to the restaurant. Our in wall air conditioner worked great although it was only 80 during the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Good clean review thanks for that Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
153 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

What a great independent motel! We had comfy beds as well as a fridge and microwave. There is a little playground and a pool so my kids were thrilled. The decor is adorable and you can tell the owners take pride in their business. It was clean and everything worked. I would not hesitate to stay there again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jjlutefisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thanks for the kind words come on back get some free pony/horse rides Bill and Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonganoxie, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My family and I rented a couple of rooms. They were adequate for a less than twelve hour stay. Old? Sure. Threadbare linens? You bet.

The rooms have window units. One of them was newer and worked fine, one was at least twenty years old and froze up dripping water all over my wallet, phone, etc. I grabbed some towels and my wife went to the office. The gentleman was as helpful as he could be, telling me what I already knew, that it froze up and we needed to let it thaw. We did, the problem then became the bugs that showed up since we had to leave the door open. Finally got it to kick on, adjusted the temp up, and then about an hour after we fell asleep, I woke up to water splashing my face. Rinse and repeat. About three in the morning it happened again.

I used to own a small business, I know the juggling act of a shoestring budget. So, I wasn't all bent out of shape about it. It just moved the needle a little closer to Griswald level vacation, and that is what I wanted. No doubt, when I am dead and gone, my kids will remember the night we were on the Yellowstone trip and dad had to keep messing with the air conditioner in the middle of the night.

Look, if you are driving through and just need to sleep, give this place your business. Don't expect a mint on the pillow or terry cloth robes. It's better than it looks from the road, but it isn't going to win any awards. Some reviewers need to remember that this is an independently owned business, and that in and of itself is pretty rare in our current economy. Help out a local family, or pay the corporate beast... I'd rather my money went to small businesses.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TongieAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for your response. You are right the kids won't forget a Griswald vacation! lol Thanks for looking at the bright side :) We did replace the air conditioner.... And hope to see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morenci, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is fair price for the area.the rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool was nice. There is laundry on site. Several good places to eat very close by.50 miles from Yellowstone, and buffalo bill museum is just up the road.

Room Tip: We had the end first floor room and you could hear people going up the outside steps,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thats right walk to rodeo from our place just a stroll down the side walk glad you had a blast Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

So the good: they had availability and the reception people are really nice. Hot water is always available, which is nice when everyone has to shower.

And the bad: the beds are really, really uncomfortable, and the pillows are about an inch thick, if that. Towels are very thin, and the soap is God-awful. Add to that a very noisy a/c (it needs some sort of repair).

Considering the rate you pay, I would expect better linens and pillows and definitely your typical shampoo/conditioner and soap bottles--the ones with at least average product inside. I'm not kidding, that soap could decrease an entire engine.

These things are not major costs. And, like I said, considering the rate, they should already be in place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank texasgirl1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Wheres the good I was waiting and after reading was disappointed in not seeing any good but thanks for the review I guess Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.3 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#10 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#11 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Property: Big Bear Motel
Address: 139 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8723
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 60 rooms on property along with 2 Vacation rentals located in Cody. We are walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo (just a 5 minute walk away). The Old Trail Town is just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Center of The West is located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were completely renovated in recent years with multiple bed setups including 2 Handicap rooms and 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings . Each of our rooms have cable television, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. Come experience the west at the best place to stay in Cody, Big Bear Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody
Big Bear Motel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing