We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep looking”
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Bear Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Big Bear Motel while on a 3,000 mile road trip visiting National Parks the third week of June. We did not make reservations in advance as we did not know where we would be from day to day. That said, when checking the internet most all motels were booked in Cody on the day in question except the Big Bear Motel. Now we know why. Customer service was mediocre at best. Coffee was suppose to be available in the lobby after 8:00 AM but the door was still locked at 8:15 AM. There is a swimming pool in the middle of the complex which stays very noisy well after 10:00 PM. Most all rooms face the swimming pool because of the motel layout. The rooms are small, poorly designed/decorated and very depressing and uninviting. I will add however that our room was relativley clean and we had ample towels etc. There is no microwave in the rooms. The rooms are over priced at $140.00 plus tax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from the swimming pool and highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank explorer1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

To say all of our guests are the friendliest persons you may have ever met could be a fib, Although we go into every day with the same approach to be equal and fare to all of our guests and treat everyone the same way I would want to be treated. Makes me sleep pretty good wouldn't you Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stopped for the night in Cody before entering Yellowstone, we pulled into this motel as it has a large outdoor pool and was very near the rodeo. The rate was very good and we found that our room was clean and comfortable for the 1 night stop. There was also laundry facilities which we made use of. Check out the rodeo while visiting the town and the cafe over the road is great for breakfast.

Room Tip: The cafe across the road is great for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank james123455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

This review states it all stop on by say hello Bill Big Heated pool Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at this property for two days while visiting Cody, Yellowstone, Red Lodge (Beartooth Highway), Chief Joseph Highway, etc. As you might have imagined by now, we were on motorcycles. What a great part of the USA.....to visit. The Big Bear was a neat "privately owned" property with a very clean swimming pool (pools are one of the indicators I use to measure the attention to detail of the owner/manager). Motorcycles and pony rides are available at the motel and within walking distance to a rodeo and great place(s) to eat (ask the manager about his preference....he's straight shooter and didn't steer us wrong). We'll stay again if in the Cody area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BGKY1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

I am shore glad you enjoyed our area as much as you did the riding in this area is world class I have been doing my homework and I can say that is a fact. Do the Beartooth pass tour Yellowstone Nat Park or the Big Horn Mountain range you will be in aw Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We made a reservation for one night at this little motel, based on Trip Advisor recommendations. Maybe it would have been a nice place but we'll never know. Despite the fact that I told them we would be arriving late, and confirmed the reservation with my credit card, at 8:00pm while we were still driving, I received a call from the motel asking if I still wanted my room. I confirmed that I definitely DID want it and I told them how far we had yet to travel. However, when we arrived we were told they were completely filled. The manager/clerk acknowledged their mistake, but didn't apologize. He told me he'd arranged for a room at an older motel down the street, the Grizzly Bear Motel, and seemed to think that made up for the inconvenience. That motel has not measured up to our satisfaction, but at 10:30pm we are exhausted and will stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Manager at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Please accept a late apology. We would like to say that these things never happen, but that would not be true. This was our mistake, and we would love to some day get the chance to make it up to you. Please, if you are ever coming back to Cody, let us know, we will make it up to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

No motel rooms for lodging, however was offered a motor home on the back side of the property and elected to stay in it overnight as it was within walking distance to the rodeo up the street.
BAD decision. Was not clean, NO HOT WATER, and a leak on the floor. Will certainly by pass this motel during future trips to Cody.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WYRon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Manager at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hey, We are very sorry the motor home had a pipe leak while you were there. We would like to make it up to you in the future if possible. And with some notice, we would make sure you have a room. Thanks Again for staying with us.,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Note to self: Never stay in a motel that has a gravel parking lot. If you are only looking for a place to stay out of the elements this may work for you. One tiny bar of soap,..sink propped up by the refrigerator, sheets made out of "paper",.....you can hear other guests walking above you,...the only good thing is that there was hot water in the shower which I had to take after sleeping in the bed!

Room Tip: Keep looking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Well, Joe Camper should have went camping he stayed in a 2 year old room that wasn't designed with our refrig holding up the sink I guess he is just used to seeing that in his house. All rooms have 4 bars of soap except the family suites they have more.
We are very appreciative of all of our travelers grumps or not hope you enjoyed Yellowstone and our area Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My parents stayed at this motel years ago, but it's under new management, and it's still a very nice place to stay. We checked in early so we could go to the Buffalo Bill Museum, and the management was very accommodating. When we got back and opened the door, it was a wow! The room was clean, newly updated, clean and wonderful. The bed was comfortable, there was a microwave and refrigerator, and a table and 2 chairs inside as well as a western-style log settee outside the door on the porch. We were only there one night, but I could have spent several days, it was so comfortable. We were on the lower level, so we parked out front and walked right in. We sat on the settee and watched the sun got down behind the mountains. WiFi was available inside and out, the pool is right across the way, and everything was good.

Room Tip: The 2nd story is via steps and a walkway, so those with mobility problems should ask for a lower lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-9inIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thanks for staying we have been here along time owner operator up dating every day so stop on by and take a look Bill and Jody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#12 of 29 in Cody
354 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
1.9 mi away
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Address: 139 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8723
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Price Range: £55 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 66 rooms on property along with 2 Vacation rentals located in Cody. We are walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo (just a 5 minute walk away). The Old Trail Town is just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Center of The West is located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were completely renovated in recent years with multiple bed setups including 2 Handicap rooms and 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings . Each of our rooms have cable television, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. Come experience the west at the best place to stay in Cody, Big Bear Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody
Big Bear Motel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing