We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in the apartment”
Review of Big Bear Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Big Bear Motel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Stayed in the apartment”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed in the apartment they own behind the Albertson's grocery store. It is pretty basic, but clean. Has 3 bedrooms and 1 1/2 baths. The kitchen has only limited equipment...no sharp knives at all. We stayed two nights there. It's in a good location for access to area sights. This place would be greatly be improved with a coat of fresh paint. The walls were pretty shabby, which made it feel dirty, though it wasn't. We had small children with us and there was a great playground just two blocks away which they thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
We do have places for the big families some up to 12 persons thanks Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    222
    118
    34
    29
See reviews for
190
200
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable, there were extra pillows on the bed and plenty of towels in the bathroom. The office staff was very kind and helpful. There was a corral out back, pool and play equipment. It isn't fancy at all, but I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iamgretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Great to have ya hope you enjoyed a free pony/horse ride and rodeo is always a must Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Big Bear is a convenient stop on the way to Yellowstone. The motel was clean and the beds were firm. Some of the rooms have covered parking for bikes right by your room. Make sure you bring shampoo, we only had soap in our room. The rooms are big with a rustic look.
You can also bring your swim suit to use the outdoor pool. However if you want a firm pillow you might want to bring one with you.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stbuford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We sure do get our fair share of the motorcyclist come to our area have you ever heard of the Beartooth pass WOW look it up we have hundreds come just to ride this road top ten of USA Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnett, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Big Bear added a new 2 story building 3 years ago. We were on the top floor, room had vaulted ceiling, was very spacious and clean. Pool says "heated" although I would not say the water was warm, but about typical temperature. Located close to rodeo arena. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmcadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for staying glad you had a great vacation pool is @ 81 degrees all summer until the weather gives us curve ball Thanks for the nice words Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Big Bear Motel while on a 3,000 mile road trip visiting National Parks the third week of June. We did not make reservations in advance as we did not know where we would be from day to day. That said, when checking the internet most all motels were booked in Cody on the day in question except the Big Bear Motel. Now we know why. Customer service was mediocre at best. Coffee was suppose to be available in the lobby after 8:00 AM but the door was still locked at 8:15 AM. There is a swimming pool in the middle of the complex which stays very noisy well after 10:00 PM. Most all rooms face the swimming pool because of the motel layout. The rooms are small, poorly designed/decorated and very depressing and uninviting. I will add however that our room was relativley clean and we had ample towels etc. There is no microwave in the rooms. The rooms are over priced at $140.00 plus tax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from the swimming pool and highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank explorer1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
To say all of our guests are the friendliest persons you may have ever met could be a fib, Although we go into every day with the same approach to be equal and fare to all of our guests and treat everyone the same way I would want to be treated. Makes me sleep pretty good wouldn't you Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stopped for the night in Cody before entering Yellowstone, we pulled into this motel as it has a large outdoor pool and was very near the rodeo. The rate was very good and we found that our room was clean and comfortable for the 1 night stop. There was also laundry facilities which we made use of. Check out the rodeo while visiting the town and the cafe over the road is great for breakfast.

Room Tip: The cafe across the road is great for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james123455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
This review states it all stop on by say hello Bill Big Heated pool Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at this property for two days while visiting Cody, Yellowstone, Red Lodge (Beartooth Highway), Chief Joseph Highway, etc. As you might have imagined by now, we were on motorcycles. What a great part of the USA.....to visit. The Big Bear was a neat "privately owned" property with a very clean swimming pool (pools are one of the indicators I use to measure the attention to detail of the owner/manager). Motorcycles and pony rides are available at the motel and within walking distance to a rodeo and great place(s) to eat (ask the manager about his preference....he's straight shooter and didn't steer us wrong). We'll stay again if in the Cody area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BGKY1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbearmotel2, Owner at Big Bear Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I am shore glad you enjoyed our area as much as you did the riding in this area is world class I have been doing my homework and I can say that is a fact. Do the Beartooth pass tour Yellowstone Nat Park or the Big Horn Mountain range you will be in aw Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
2.5 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
2.4 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Motel

Property: Big Bear Motel
Address: 139 W Yellowstone Ave, Cody, WY 82414-8723
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Motel is located just 52 miles from the East Gate of Yellowstone. We are a mom and pop American ran motel with 60 rooms on property along with 2 Vacation rentals located in Cody. We are walking distance to many great attractions here in Cody including the world famous Cody Night Rodeo (just a 5 minute walk away). The Old Trail Town is just a 2 minute walk away, and the BBHC or Buffalo Bill Center of The West is located just 2 miles away. We have 32 rooms that were completely renovated in recent years with multiple bed setups including 2 Handicap rooms and 2 Queen rooms with vaulted ceilings . Each of our rooms have cable television, full bath (tub and a shower), A/C and heat, WiFi, and some nice hot coffee in the morning in our main office complimentary to all guests staying with us. Come experience the west at the best place to stay in Cody, Big Bear Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Bear Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Cody
Big Bear Cody
Big Bear Motel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing