We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean motel”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Wigwam Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice and clean motel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed 1 night at this motel during my recent trip to Yellowstone an I really liked it. The motel has only few rooms so it's never crowded, each room has adjacent parking at a good location, near many restaurants. The room and bathroom was very clean. The properly owner was very friendly and knowledgeable, she gave lots of good advices about the nearby restaurants and attractions. The price we paid (around 100$) was much less than any other hotels in Cody, keeping in mind it was 4th of July. I would definitely recommend this motel to anyone visiting YSNP, it's about an hour of scenic drive to the east entrance of the park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    8
    5
    10
See reviews for
8
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a great place and even though we did not get to meet the owner or manager or any person in charge, Wigwam Motel made us feel very welcome with a note telling us how to check out and wishing us a pleasant stay. Clean rooms comfortable bed spotless toilet fully equipped with microwave and a refrigerator. You cannot go wrong with this motel if you are planning to visit Yellowstone National Park. Also has free wi-fi

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkai92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loose Creek
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you need a bed, toilet and shower but no other amenities this is the place to stay. It was clean but the bathroom floor needed a little work and the walls are kind of thin. I was satisfied because it was the cheapest Motel in Cody. I got what I paid for!

Room Tip: Our room was on the outside of the hotel and we had an extremely hard time getting in and out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy Jack
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My family and I traveled to Cody for a little getaway and stayed at the Wigwam motel. At first we were alittle apprehensive about staying here but, our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the lady at the front desk was super nice. The rooms are nothing fancy but you have a microwave, refrigerator, and big flat screen TV. This turned out to be a great stay for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fancyfree83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Pictures and reviews can be deceiving. Not sure how this place got any positive reviews. When walked in seemed OK, but looking further there were cob webs, stains on bed sheets, sticky substances on several surfaces, hairs everywhere, a funny smell, and everything barely functioned. Microwave and refrigerator seriously malfunctioning. The worst part was discovering beg bugs on 1st morning in the bed. This has never happened to me before. Secured everything possible and got out. Tried to call management, no answer. Left a note and wanted to check out early. Upon return from Yellowstone in evening no response from management, just a charge back for one night out of four charged, but owed for two nights. Tried several more calls no answer. Left in disgust, throwing my suitcase in dumpster (as recommended by experts) and trash bagging all my items. Upon getting home hotel management left a message they were not responsible or aware of bed bugs. I confirmed the bed bugs from pictures taken of them. My travel stuff is quarantined indefinitely. Tried to call hotel, someone drunk or heavily impaired answered and stated the owner was away and no one could help me. What? So far no credit has appeared from hotel. This place gives me the creeps, just thinking about it. Never again!!!

Room Tip: Avoid or regret later
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NomadLifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cody hotels

Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent one night at the Wigwam Motel in Cody, and we were quite pleased with the overall quality of the motel. The rooms are good sized and very clean. For the price, it was an excellent value, with several unexpected amenities: small refrigerator, microwave, and free wifi. The manager was very pleasant and friendly, and we were more than satisfied with the experience.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room as far from the main road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalloweenHJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Came in late and tired and Lucky to find a place under $120
Staff was nice and their dogs behind the desk were friendly and added a bit of ambiance to the office
The rooms were clean and comfortable but the price did
not fit the room or property value wise. I own a big pickup
And had to back out into the main street each time I needed to anywhere

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter_VDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.2 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#11 of 29 in Cody
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
0.5 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Bill's Antlers Inn
0.7 mi away
Moose Creek Lodge and Suites
0.3 mi away
Roaming Cowboy Inn
Roaming Cowboy Inn
#13 of 16 in Cody
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Property: Wigwam Motel
Address: 1701 Alger Ave, Cody, WY 82414-3915
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Wigwam Motel Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing