We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the west”
Review of Bill Cody Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bill Cody Ranch
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
FLORIDA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place in the west”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This was our second stay with the current owners. Last year we reserved for two days ans stayed 5. This year we returned for a week. The location is perfect for visits to Yellowstone and the area. the cabins give the feel of "old west" but with charm and cleanlyness. The owners are
very friendly and helpful---even to providing a special ride for my wife who loves horses, but has some restaints. The rides are very beautiful with mountain scenery just out the "back-door".
the food is good, pleniful and fits the ranch feeling. The staff on both our visits were friendly, helpful and seemed interested in the guests.
Overall it is just what you want in a ranch setting stay----for a night or for longer.
Dan & Nan

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NANSDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    53
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
117
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the ranch -- a perfect place to get the ranch experience without having to stay a full week. We went on a horseback ride that was really fun even though we were complete beginners. The wranglers were wonderful and the views were spectacular. They have tons of things for kids to do -- horseshoes, learning to lasso, ping pong, checkers, etc. It is a great place to get away with your whole family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmbsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We loved the location. There was a creek, trails, horse back riding, nightly activities, and great food. A great place to stay where you can put your feet up and relax. There are no TV's in the rooms but there is plenty to do to keep you busy. We were a little worried about not having air conditioning but with the windows open our room was perfect for sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agadir, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here 1night while doing a 5 week trip through the States and Canada. Staying outside of the park & Cody was our main choice and it was a good one.
The cabin was clean and bright and dinner we had was excellent - The best steak on our whole trip. All the staff we met were helpful and cheerful - They obviously enjoy what they do.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My husband & I needed a place to stay in Cody for 1 night and everything was booked. We stumbled on the Bill Cody Ranch outside of town that had availability and were disappointed we only had 1 night/day to enjoy it. We are coming back!
We've traveled globally and stayed at the best, but fortunately never the worst, so have discerning accommodation tastes.
We absolutely loved Bill Cody Ranch because it was very casual, immaculately clean, staff uber friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere Western charming. It's also off the beaten track, tucked away almost inside a bowl of foothills. Lodge has a piano (guest playing was incredible, more lucky timing for us), comfortable and inviting which makes you want to hang out. The outdoor dining deck was small (`5 tables) but made conversation with dining neighbors fun and intimate. We shared the deck w families from Australia, Canada and Denmark and everyone was engaged in a fun and lively conversation--much laughter w others who were really enjoying the place.
My husband loved his morning horse ride.
If you're headed for WY, stay there!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ssigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durand, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Bill Cody Ranch and my kids were begging for more!! The staff is outstanding, from the owners, wranglers, cabin staff to the chef, everyone was so friendly and helpful. The setting is gorgeous tucked in the beautiful Shoshone National Forest. Our cabin was near the creek, the kids enjoyed the trails near the ranch, we walked some of the trails and took a horseback ride as well. The views were amazing and the staff was so accommodating. Yellowstone was about 30 minutes away, but a beautiful drive. Cody, Wyoming has so much to offer to and it was about 25 minutes away, although you can spend a lot of time on the ranch too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband really enjoyed the cabin by the creek, so peaceful. We stayed in one of the older cabins, so a bit rustic. The owners were very helpful & we had Aaron as a waitress, so sweet. The food is great and horses are on site. Also Maverick, the dog was very entertaining, this was a fun and memorable stay.....

Room Tip: If you like rustic & the flow of water, then the creekside cabins are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N2nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
24.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
22.5 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,024 reviews
23.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
22.6 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
22.6 mi away
Big Bear Motel
Big Bear Motel
#13 of 29 in Cody
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bill Cody Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bill Cody Ranch

Property: Bill Cody Ranch
Address: 2604 Yellowstone Hwy, Cody, WY 82414
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cody
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Hotel Class:3 star — Bill Cody Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest ranch located in the Shoshone National Forest between Cody, WY and the East Entrance of Yellowstone. Lodging, trail Rides, and dining available to guests and to the public. Est. 1925. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bill Cody Ranch Hotel Cody
Bill Cody Hotel
Bill Hotel Cody
Bill Cody Ranch Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing