We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids had A fantastic time”
Review of Bill Cody Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bill Cody Ranch
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Tiptree, England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Kids had A fantastic time”
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We booked here as soon as we had flights confirmed. My Husband and I stayed here nearly 15yrs ago and wanted to go back with the children. It hadn't really changed much in that time (I mean this in a good way ). The management was different but the overall set up was the same. The staff were quite young on the whole but very friendly and helpful if needed.

We stayed for 3 days, 2 of which we on the all inclusive (which includes all meals and a 4 hr ride). Meals would have been on the more expensive side if not included and there is not a lot of nearby places you could go to instead. The quality of the food was good though, I would recommend the BBQ on Saturday!

The accomodation was in cabins, mostly all were joined to a neighbouring cabin so you can hear the noise of others sometimes. Mostly this wasn't a problem as there are no TV's in the room and no phones there is not much else to do but sleep!
My youngest Daughter enjoyed it so much she kept trying to get us to go back!! Our children (ages 13 and 10) would definitely recommend it but it is not cheap even with an excellent exhange rate!

I would say if horseriding in a beautiful location is your main aim then this could be the place for you, the scenery is stunning.

Just one tip bring insect repellent though we all got some quality bites!!

  • Liked — Fantastic horse rides in great scenery
  • Disliked — The walk back uphill to the cabin after a large meal!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    49
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
114
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
poolesvillle,md.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

what a great time we had (my wife and i)the staff was the best-the food was great-and the wranglers were the best.i didn't want to leave and my wife cried when she told the staff goodby.rooms were very nice as well. we met alot of new friends both on the ranch and those that were staying as we were. 5 stars
oh- the horses were also very very good.

  • Liked — very cozy
  • Disliked — ice box was small
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank usahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester,England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2008

what a shame we didnt know about this place earlier.we were advised if we wanted the best horse riding then this was the place..and it was spot on advice.sadly we didnt stop over nite due to moving on the next day but before riding we had a dinner that was second to none,i had to check to make sure it was for one,very generous helping and a superb cook...Dion took us on our way horse riding...never been horse riding before? well ive been brought up with horses and never ridden until this time and i can assure you you could not be in safer hands,the horses are gems and so sure footed in uneven terrain,thanks Dion,your a good un...went water rafting in the morning and never realised until we got to the ranch that one of our companions was the ranch manager Bryan..dont like telling on people but if you are refused discount then threaten to put him in the fridge..bryan doesnt like the cold do you Bry...serves you right but thanks for going in the front of the boat mate ha..wonderful place and hope to get back as a guest next year..very impressive place...malc vann England.

  • Liked — GREAT STAFF
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING FINE
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVANN5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights recently. We were needing a place to lay our heads while we checked out Yellowstone, and we had a great time. It's not as convenient for Yellowstone as the towns of Gardner and West Yellowstone, but the experience was worth the longer drive in and out of Yellowstone. The ranch is small, nestled in a ravine right on the main road to Cody, but it's off the road quite a bit so you don't hear or see traffic. Our cabin was large, with 2 queen beds and a twin/sofa. I can honestly say the beds were incredibly comfortable! We hated that we had to get up early both mornings, we just wanted to stay in bed! We ended up going on a 2 hour evening horseback ride and we are glad we did, it was so beautiful! The canyon is very dramatic. The only weak spot in our opinion was the food, it was just "ok" even though it was a bit pricey for dinner. But overall, we loved our stay and would absolutely return.

  • Liked — cute cabins, comfy beds
  • Disliked — food was just "ok" but a bit pricey
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank momof2Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

We stayed here two nights and had a great time. The cabins are log cabin type and decorated from the fifties, but adequate. Nice game room for the kids, little bar, dining room open for breakfast and dinner, great location exactly half way between Cody and Yellowstone. We took the two hour trail ride in the morning and it was very nice, great scenery. We were all beginners, and at some spots I felt it wasn't a "beginner" trail. At one point my saddle slipped and I nearly fell off, on the side of a cliff!! very scary, but if it had been a truly beginner trail we wouldn't have been on the side of a cliff, right? Scenery here and throughout the Wapiti Valley to Yellowstone is breathtaking. FYI, the scenery flattens out to the "wide open spaces" just beyond Bill Cody Ranch to Cody, so the best scenery in the valley is definitely between BCR and the YS entrance. Dinner one night was a BBQ picnic by the little river that runs through the property. We felt it was very average and it was like $80 for our family, not worth it. The other problem was that our bathroom was not clean when we arrived, I eneded up cleaning it up myself upon checking in at 9pm, not good. However, I have to credit Sarah at the front desk for making things right. When I told her about it the next morning, she apologized profusely, gave us free dinner and a couple tee shirts, offered us a bottle of wine. Very apologetic and sweet.
In general, despite these couple things, I would recommend. The staff was very friendly, cabins adequate if rustic, wranglers and horses were friendly, scenery breathtaking, and service was great. Nice place for kids with the game room, horse stables, a friendly "wild" turkey on the grounds to chase, and cliffs to climb. Had a very nice time, 20 quick minutes into Cody.

  • Liked — scenery, staff friendlyness
  • Disliked — dirty bathroom mistake
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2008

We didn't stay at the resort, but we did go for a 4 hour trail ride with our Wrangler Dion.
What a great day we had. Dion was great. He took great care of us. we had a 10 yrs girl who was scared of riding, Dion was very patient and made her comfortable. I would recommend the Cody Ranch to anyone who wants a great time.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steph4898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

We (2 adults , 2 teenage children) stayed at this place after reading good reviews at Tripadvisor. It was really worth it - what a great place to stay ! We stayed for two nights - wish it had been longer. It was set in a lovely area - cabins in a remote and quiet location with mountains and fabulous scenery in the background. Cody was about twenty miles one way and Yellowstone about 20 the other - so very good location. We stayed in cabin 7 and it was lovely. Real western feel to it. Ok it could have been a little cleaner - ie cobwebs and a bit of dust - but this didnt spoil it for us - bedding etc was clean and comfortable. This is a ranch and so of course there were horses and horse riding is available. None of us had ridden before but we went for a two hour horse riding trek on morning. What a great experience and what views we had. We had an excellent ride. We took a drive to nearby Cody to eat and also enjoy a rodeo! which was fantastic. Its a lovely place with many amenities. Bill Cody ranch was also our base to see Yellowstone which was ideal. We would thoroughly recommend this place to stay. However I wouldnt recommend you try and find this place in the dark the first time as you could easily miss it - and that would be a tragedy!

  • Liked — The western feel to the cabinss had ridden before but we went for a two hour horse riding trek on morning. What a great experience and what views we had. We had an excellent ride. We took a drive to nearby Cody to eat and also enjoy a rodeo! which was fantastic. Its a lovely place with many amenities. Bill Cody ranch was also our base to see Yellowstone which was ideal. We would thoroughly recommend this place to stay. However I wouldnt recommend you try and find this place in the dark the first time as you could easily miss it - and that would be a tragedy!
  • Disliked — The odd cobwebs and dust
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohalDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
24.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
22.5 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,001 reviews
23.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
22.6 mi away
Cody Cowboy Village
7.0 mi away
Yellowstone Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bill Cody Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bill Cody Ranch

Property: Bill Cody Ranch
Address: 2604 Yellowstone Hwy, Cody, WY 82414
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cody
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cody
Hotel Class:3 star — Bill Cody Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest ranch located in the Shoshone National Forest between Cody, WY and the East Entrance of Yellowstone. Lodging, trail Rides, and dining available to guests and to the public. Est. 1925. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bill Cody Ranch Hotel Cody
Bill Cody Hotel
Bill Hotel Cody
Bill Cody Ranch Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing