We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zapata's Mexican Restaurant

Zapata's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 87 Restaurants in Cody
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

we had a very good meal here. it was raining that night so it was warm and cozy at our window table. The food was very good though not great, the service was very good though not great but I still think it is the best Mexican restaurant in Cody.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank auh2o5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    108
    63
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We rolled into Cody early afternoon after a few hours on the road. We were tired and hungry when we spotted Zapata's. Since everyone in our group likes Mexican food, we decided to try it. The menu indicates that the food is actually New Mexico style as opposed to traditional Mexican. I don't know what the differences are, but we were all very happy with our meals. The chips and salsa were great. I loved the salsa, but my wife found it to be just a bit hot for her tastes, It was fairly thick, and I really enjoyed it. My wife had hard-shell tacos with ground beef, I had soft tacos with shredded beef, and our friends had chicken fajitas. Everyone raved about their meals. Our server was friendly, attentive and efficient - we rarely receive such good service, even in more upscale places. Atmosphere and decor were typical Mexican restaurant theme - fun and attractive but not exceptional. All in all, we had a very enjoyable meal at a decent price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FishBob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
165 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I ate here my first night in Cody getting the Carne Asada with mexican corn and the wife just had nachos with beef. The food was alright, not the worst I have had but not the best. Serving sizes seemed about average, enough to keep you content with the chips and salsa. I didn't expect to have the best mexican food ever in Wyoming so in the end I was satisfied as I anticipated a little less than what was received. Waitress and staff stayed on top of things very well and quick which was helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Traveling thru from Yellowstone had a lunch here. Great ..loved the spinach enchilada. We had enough to save and enjoy for dinner. Very pleasant staff

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rdgtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnyskyCodyWy, Owner at Zapata's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank You so much for taking the time to let me know about how much you enjoyed your visit to Zapatas. My staff and I do try very hard to make sure our customers enjoy not only the food but the company. I ou am so glad you enjoyed your food. I cook everything fresh everyday. Nothing premade or out of a can. So I am glad that you noticed. Againg thank you and look forward to seeing you again.

Just so you know I do alot of shipping of salsa and green chilie if your interested. I ship all over the U S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Must in Cody”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I had the best chile verde here since Santa Fe, NM! It had nice big chunks of lean pork and the hatch chilies were not too hot. Just right. Connie's salsa is delicious and freshly made everyday. My husband had the chicken fajitas that were stuffed with meat and an excellent side of beans and rice. You can buy a jar of salsa to take. Our server was a pleasant guy, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank enaj5dranoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Zapata's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing