We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Absaroka Mountain Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Cody
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
44
28
10
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
28
10
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast entrance of yellowstonenightly campfirehorseback ridinginside yellowstonecamp firefishing bridgegrizzly bearfamily trip to yellowstonelate junebeautiful sceneryup to dateshort drivegreat place to staycreekridetrailmountains
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We spent 1 night here and it was wonderful. We actually stayed in June 2011 but that date was not available to pick in order to write the review. It's a great place to stay just outside of the East Yellowstone entrance. The Cabin was very clean. We did a horseback ride in the evening with a cookout. The horseback ride was very nice we got to cross a river and see a lot of beautiful mountains. After the ride our guide cooked steaks for us on an open fire. It was a great experience. Later on that night the lodge built a fire and everyone staying in the cabins came out and roasted marshmallows and talked. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast. Probably one of the best we had all week long. The staff was so friendly. We loved our stay and can not wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We booked and paid in full almost 2 months in advance for a 5 night stay. Due to unforeseen circumstances we had to cut 1 night. Even with a better than 2 week advance notice they would not and did not credit or refund our last night. Not good PR for return business. There are more reasonable lodges with better accommodations. We were very disappointed after all the hype and sweet talk to get our money.
Capt. G. Rogers
Ft. Lauderdale Florida

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Family of 5, ready to spend vacation $$$ and ended up just using it as a place to sleep for 2 nights. Their greed lost them my $$$ and their reputation. Cabins are small. Rustic doesn't quite say how bad it really is. With updated accommodations and a new staff and new attitude, it could maybe be a place to spend $50.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timm433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I spent 3 days at Absaroka Lodge in June along with my husband and a friend of ours. We were there during a perfect time of the year as Yellowstone and the surrounding areas were just starting to get busy but we had the lodge pretty much to ourselves on the first night. We got exactly what we wanted and more from the Lodge! The cabins were in a perfect location and had a nice clean bathroom and shower for those of us who don't want to be completely out of our element. In this area there is no reason to spend time in your cabin except to sleep, so the size was perfect! They had a fridge in the room which also helped us store our food and drinks that we brought with us to bbq every night. We never took advantage of eating at the restaurant but heard good things from the other visitors. We also participated in the nightly campfire and enjoyed the company of the workers and other guests as we sat around the fire and roasted marshmallows. Everyone was super friendly and we could see how this would be a great place for families! We also went on the dinner horseback ride and had so much fun! The horses were trained well, but not your old slow trail horses that you typically see as they all had their own personalities and required you to be active with the horse as you went through the canyon and enjoyed the sights along the way. The cookout of potatoes and beans and steak over the open fire was delicious... not a 4 star steak dinner, but great for a ride in the wilderness! After riding through the park and seeing the cabins available there and the price you would pay at the Old Faithful Lodge, it reaffirmed that Absaroka was the way to go. After the third day, the trek from the East entrance to the main loop in the park was getting a little old, but not overly inconvenient and we would definitely come back to Absaroka! Thanks Shannon, Robert, Alex, Amanda, Mary, Tom, Allie, Josie, and everyone for a great time!

Room Tip: There are not very many cabins (around 10 or so) and I think it just depends on what type of cabin you would like (1 or 2 beds, etc).
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kdetmer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This is not the Hilton it is on the registry of historic places so it's old. Teddy Roosevelt stayed there for heavens sake. That being said it is fabulous and we have been recommending it, and wishing we were back there, ever since we got home. One of the best parts is there is no cell phone or internet service and no TVs. You wake up in the morning to nothing but the sound of the river and the birds. The cabins are small, about the size of a large bedroom, but very adequate. You have a bed, a private bathroom and a couple of places to sit. What else do you need when you're tucked inbetween two mountains? We were there for eight days and the staff pretty much became family. They were warm and wonderful and did everything humanly possible to make our stay the best. The nightly bonfires are so much fun. We met people not only from all over the country but a couple of different countries. I found out people from England don't know about toasting marshmallows. One couple we met have been coming back for two every year for the last 10 years. Don't be afraid to stay here and for as long as you can. My husband and I want to go back as soon as we can just to stay here. Don't really care about Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews