We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trail ride and dinner.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Absaroka Mountain Lodge
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great trail ride and dinner.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Booked a dinner trail ride and the afternoon started with a great reception by one of the owners. Due to excessive ice melt and high water levels we trailered to another lodge to start our ride with Tara as our guide. It was a beautiful ride up the mountain to our cook site. Once there we realized it was too windy to maintain a fire (although Tara gave it her best and even attempted a different location) so after eating the dessert that was packed for us we mounted up and finished the ride. When we returned to the lodge Tara fixed the meal we would have had on the mountain and it was absolutely delicious. Tender steak cooked perfectly with fried potatoes, baked beans and the best garlic bread ever. We did not spend the night here so cannot speak to the condition of the cabins, but the main lodge was just what we expected - rustic. Staff and owners were very friendly and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would definitely book the dinner or lunch ride again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjbeachgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    27
    9
    5
    12
See reviews for
47
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

if you want deluxe accommodations, then look elsewhere but if you enjoy rustic and secluded then this is the perfect place to begin your western vacation. We booked the biggest cabin because we had six adults and were happy to find that while the cabin was not the roomiest, it was capable of sleeping all of us, two bathrooms [one with a shower and one tub] were enough to accommodate our needs and a well-stocked kitchenette provided all we needed for our morning coffee and any meals we wished to eat. While there was not a full kitchen is was all we needed to heat up soup and prepare sandwiches for one of our meals. The rest of the time we ate at the lovely lodge restaurant. The prices were fair and the food was plentiful and excellent! While you are there, take the guided horseback ride [we chose the evening/steak ride; highly recommended] and enjoy the playground [even as adults we enjoyed the calf-roping, bull riding [barrel] and the horseshoes. It was exactly what we needed to get away from city life, kick back and enjoy each others company and the perfect spot to kick off our Yellowstone vacation. The setting is beautiful and if you are brave enough to do some hiking [this is clearly grizzly bear country] the sights are breathtaking. We would go back again, the owners are extremely accommodating, down-to-earth and wonderful cooks!

Room Tip: all the cabins appear to be cozy, close quarters, but we weren't there to sit in our cabin. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alger, Wa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very Rustic look. The hospitality was great. Over priced for what you are getting though. They need to do a little maitance. The cabins are very old, but they are also clean. If you are wanting to go trail riding and trueley get away this is a nice place. There is no televison or cell service. However there are group bon fires and a quaint lodge to enjoy. The river runs right along side the cabins. And the view of the mountains are great. Close to Cody and Yellowstone. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbaraoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Springs, WV
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great place to truly get away. No TVs in rooms, no cell phone access, bison, deer, and an occasional bear wandering through. A+ support from the family staff. Great food. Short and long distance trail rides. Right next to one of the main rivers coming out of Yellowstone National Park. Just a half hour or so away from the park entrance without paying an arm and a let for accommodations. If you REALLY want to get away from it all without going into a poorhouse in the process, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I should have paid attention to the negative reviews. I won't go into detail about our checkin experience except to say it took over 40 min and 3 rooms before we had a place that was even marginally acceptable-one room we were shown hadn't been cleaned!! The price we paid was crazy for the amenities(there wasn't so much as a clock or Kleenex in the room!) I would recommend driving to Cody rather than stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here 3 nights August 2013. We had stayed here 30 years ago when we
went to Yellowstone and not much at this resort has changed. The cabins are clean, cozy but rustic. It truly has an old western feeling. The Breakfast trail ride was excellent. Shannon and Ashley were really friendly and the breakfast was to die for. The trail ride is a must for anyone
who wants to see the country. The cabins are right along the pretty Gunbarrel stream. This is a nice place to come and relax. We were glad to come back and stay awhile.

Room Tip: Late August is a good time to come. Yellowstone is less crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

What a crazy idea - heading into Yellowstone National Park on a Saturday night in mid July without reservations and hoping to find an open room or campsite.  Yeah - it didn't work out, but it led to the  most interesting accommodations of our cross country trip.  

We turned back from the east park entrance towards Cody and looked at a few other lodges before we found this one.  Cabin 3, one of their few vacancies, was perfect for our family of 5, including 3 preteens.  It had a room with a double bed, a second room with a twin bed over a double (bunk), and two small bathrooms.  There was a small microwave and refrigerator.  It was clean, although we had a few flies, moths and spiders.  That wasn't unexpected given the environment and the door leading directly to the exterior.

Luxurious it was not, but it was a great place nonetheless.  The kids loved playing in the stream and visiting the horses in their corral.  We all enjoyed the group campfire.  The staff was very friendly.  I can't comment on the price or quality of the food because we had our own.  The price of the cabin was not cheap, but not outrageously expensive for the space.  

We usually consult trip advisor or other ratings services before we'd stay anywhere, but with no cell service, we went into this blind.  Not a problem.  We'd not hesitate to stop again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MommonicaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chamberlin Inn
Chamberlin Inn
#4 of 29 in Cody
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buffalo Bill's Irma Hotel
0.6 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#10 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absaroka Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absaroka Mountain Lodge

Property: Absaroka Mountain Lodge
Address: 1231 East Yellowstone Highway, Cody, WY 82414
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Cody
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Absaroka Mountain Hotel Cody
Absaroka Mountain Lodge Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing