We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Absaroka Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Bear Motel(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Cody(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Sunset Inn(Cody)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
44
28
10
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
28
10
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast entrance of yellowstonenightly campfirehorseback ridinginside yellowstonecamp firefishing bridgegrizzly bearfamily trip to yellowstonelate junebeautiful sceneryup to dateshort drivegreat place to staycreekridetrailmountains
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If desperate for a place to stay, don't exceed one night. The so called "cabin" was tiny, cramped, and damp. The towels, once white, were grey and thin. The pillows were as flat as pancakes. We did not bother eating in the restaurant. Just a taste of the watery coffee was enough to keep us away. Furthermore, the menu items were priced in a manner to take advantage of the guests - too steep. We had already paid too much for the long three nights there, and were too disgusted to shell out another dollar. The only thing going for this lodge is its location.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Myflorida19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We just recently returned from our trip to Absaroka Mountain Lodge and Yellowstone and I'm ready to go back! The owners and staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you're happy. They are always available. From the early morning breakfast to the campfire later in the evening. The views from this lodge are breath taking. We had a cabin that slept a family of 4 and I was not disappointed. I packed everything from blankets to shampoo and toilet paper not knowing what to expect and let me just say, I overpacked. The cabins had all the amenities of a modern hotel room (minus a coffee maker) which was the ONLY thing that I would even give a negative comment on. The cabins are rustic and add to the experience of being outdoors.

The location of the Lodge is perfect for those wanting to experience Cody and Yellowstone.

We didn't take a trail ride, but from the talk around the campfire, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

It was so nice to be able to unplug and enjoy the sounds of the river and wildlife all around. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quinb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The lack of Internet, TV or cell phone service was a welcome change and really helped to relax and enjoy a vacation. There is plenty to do between hiking, horseback riding, touring yellowstone, relaxing by the creek or sitting around the evening campfire. The accomodations are very basic, but comfortable. The staff was friendly and promptly took care of any problems. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Booked a dinner trail ride and the afternoon started with a great reception by one of the owners. Due to excessive ice melt and high water levels we trailered to another lodge to start our ride with Tara as our guide. It was a beautiful ride up the mountain to our cook site. Once there we realized it was too windy to maintain a fire (although Tara gave it her best and even attempted a different location) so after eating the dessert that was packed for us we mounted up and finished the ride. When we returned to the lodge Tara fixed the meal we would have had on the mountain and it was absolutely delicious. Tender steak cooked perfectly with fried potatoes, baked beans and the best garlic bread ever. We did not spend the night here so cannot speak to the condition of the cabins, but the main lodge was just what we expected - rustic. Staff and owners were very friendly and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would definitely book the dinner or lunch ride again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank cjbeachgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

if you want deluxe accommodations, then look elsewhere but if you enjoy rustic and secluded then this is the perfect place to begin your western vacation. We booked the biggest cabin because we had six adults and were happy to find that while the cabin was not the roomiest, it was capable of sleeping all of us, two bathrooms [one with a shower and one tub] were enough to accommodate our needs and a well-stocked kitchenette provided all we needed for our morning coffee and any meals we wished to eat. While there was not a full kitchen is was all we needed to heat up soup and prepare sandwiches for one of our meals. The rest of the time we ate at the lovely lodge restaurant. The prices were fair and the food was plentiful and excellent! While you are there, take the guided horseback ride [we chose the evening/steak ride; highly recommended] and enjoy the playground [even as adults we enjoyed the calf-roping, bull riding [barrel] and the horseshoes. It was exactly what we needed to get away from city life, kick back and enjoy each others company and the perfect spot to kick off our Yellowstone vacation. The setting is beautiful and if you are brave enough to do some hiking [this is clearly grizzly bear country] the sights are breathtaking. We would go back again, the owners are extremely accommodating, down-to-earth and wonderful cooks!

Room Tip: all the cabins appear to be cozy, close quarters, but we weren't there to sit in our cabin. the setting is secluded but easy to find, situated in a valley with beautiful views all around and a pretty stream running through behind the cabins. We chose the largest cabin and were warm enough in September [they close up during the off-season].
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews