We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel”
Review of Cody Legacy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cody Legacy Inn
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for one night before heading into Yellowstone. Everything is western themed and we really liked the wood touches in the lobby. The room itself was very cute and fairly large. The beds were comfortable and we really didn't notice any noises from the other rooms. There were some downsides: the hot tub and sauna were not working when we were there (although my son really enjoyed the pool); the breakfast is truly continental which was a little disappointing considering the other hotels we had stayed at and there's no elevator so be prepared to lug your suitcases. Also, the hotel is a little ways from downtown. Overall though, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBinSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    141
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
138
100
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed here for one night in July while on a road trip. It is a very clean, quiet, modern property. It is a bit far from downtown but we expected that. Would definately stay here again. One warning: don't park under the big evergreen trees! Our vehicle had a lot of tree sap on it in the morning. It's almost impossible to remove. We know better for next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tish592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I booked the Cody Legacy Inn for one night as the starting point for our trip to Yellowstone. We stayed in 6 properties in our family vacation, and I should say that the Legacy Inn is on the top of the list. What is special about it? For once, I am having a hard time to find something to quibble about. Also, the hotel is brand new (either that or it had some major renovation recently). The wood, which is the base for all the finishings and furnishings of the property, had no stains, was not darkened by age, and made no squeeky sound when stepped on.

The hotel is not very large. It has two floors and two wings, plus some annexes. I think it is family owned as the front desk is not 24 hours (you pick up your key from a box if you a late checkin - that was not our case). We were warmly greeted on the front desk, who did a quick checkin and immediately explained to us the hotel ammenities. There was no elevator, so this could be a quibble, but it would not make sense to put one in such a small property. The lobby has a sitting area, tv, and free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. There are some kid books that you can borrow.

The rooms are very large and comfortable. 2 Queen-size wood beds with comfortable mattresses. Microwave and mini-fridge. A vanity area with good counter space, separated from the bathroom. Shower had good water pressure. Coffee machine and hair dryer. Every functional and clean.

We enjoyed the pool and tub area (especially the kids). The pool is an outdoor heated pool with fresh water. The tub is indoor. There is also a fitness room but we did not use. There is also a guest laundry (one of the reasons we booked this property) so we could have clean clothes before heading to Yellowstone.

Breakfast is continental but I think it was ok. You typical bagel, toast, hard boiled eggs, and danish. I would not quibble for the rate, also because full breakfast often offered in more budget properties may not necessarily taste good.

We found the rates very reasonable, well within our budget. I think it was about $160 on summer high season. We booked directly from their website.

We liked the location very much. Some reviewers complained that the hotel is too far from the town. I think it is walking distance, but you have to walk like for half an hour. However, it is a minute car ride, and we had no difficulties finding parking. On the other hand, the hotel is right in front of an Albertson's grocery store (great to stock up food for Yellowstone), in front of a McDonald's, one block from Mountain High Health Foods (where we got some ginger candy for those who are motion-sickness prone), one block from a pastry shops with nice cup cakes, and two blocks from a sub store where we got some sandwiches for a picnic in Yellowstone.

I would place this hotel somewhere between a typical motel and a more full service hotel (like holiday inn). But this is basically what we need to stay comfortably when traveling. And add to the fact that the property is new, we have our 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the Cody Legacy. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds have a soft pillow top. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is typical for a continental breakfast. It is close to a grocery store.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We had a great stay at the hotel. The room was clean and spacious, the continenatl breakfast had good variety. The pool and hot tub were very enjoyable. The location was easy to get to, and we had a great sleep. The beds were very comfy. The staff was very friendly, and for me that really made it all the more pleasant. Out of all the places we could have stayed in Cody, I am so glad we chose Cody Legacy Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

Great rooms, very clean and well-decorated with a Western theme and vaulted ceilings. The pool was fun for the kIds, but it wasn't anything super-special. I would definitely stay there again. The staff was very helpful, but I do wish there were a little more choice at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnjgotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tioga, ND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The motel was really nice, very clean. After looking at reviews, I decided to book there because of the mention of a Keurig, since I have one at home. Note: THEY DON'T HAVE THEM! At least in a regular room. We had lived in Cody before, so I was expecting outrageous prices during the summer but it was fitting for such a nice room. I found it strange to have an outdated TV for a new addition, I would have thought they would have flat screens at least. Was happy they have the free wifi, so was my teenage son! Continental breakfast was nothing special at all, could have found better at the gas station. Didn't see any juices or even milk for the cereals, if there was any. Beds were super comfy, couldn't ask for better.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a second floor room, they're the new addition
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjs661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cody Legacy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cody Legacy Inn

Property: Cody Legacy Inn
Address: 1801 Mountain View Dr, Cody, WY 82414-4801
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cody
#9 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cody Legacy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2006. Modern Lodge Atmosphere ~ Plush, new accommodations. In the tradition of Buffalo Bill, our Cody family is dedicated to providing a unique western experience during your stay in historic Cody, Wyoming. Free wireless internet, guest computer, continental breakfast, seasonal outdoor heated pool, hot tub & sauna, guest laundry. AAA, AARP, Senior, Military discounts. Children Stay Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cody Legacy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cody Legacy Hotel Cody
Cody Legacy Inn Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing